Skip to Content

RRP

€659.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
20

4.5 based on 20 customer reviews

15
3
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent Action Camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 28/02/2017 by davelee

Had the GoPro 5 Black, had so many issues with it so purchased the Sony FDR-X3000 Camera, so far it has been MAGIC

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera - terrible accessories

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 30/05/2017 by Rick P

There's no doubt in my mind that the camera itself is fabulous. The image stabilisation is the main reason I bought it and I haven't been disappointed. However, everything else about Sony and their action camera ecosystem is less than helpful with the successful deployment of the camera. For a start you can only buy this camera with the live view remote in the UK. This adds a lot of money to the purchase price and, for me, isn't really that necessary and it's not particularly good to be perfectly honest. Why it couldn't have been available as an accessory I don't know - other than Sony UK might make less money of course, heaven forbid. Also, the accessories for the X3000, despite the camera having been around for a good few months, are both expensive and pretty naff. The suction mount, for example, broke on the first outing and wasn't particularly stable when it was briefly working. There are no stick-on mounts provided with the camera either even though they give you a buckle attachment to go into them (!) - I'm assuming Sony think to buy this camera you must be upgrading from an older one but then they haven't thought that through as some of the older mounts - the skeleton for example, don't work with the new camera. You can get adaptors and add-ons for GoPro cameras to work but it's all a bit Heath Robinson in the end and leaves you fairly frustrated. So it's nearly great, but so far away it means I'm unlikely to buy another. It's a sad situation sadly, a great action camera well and truly stymied by a poor ecosystem. They really ought to ask their people to try to use the cameras in real-life situations and put their undoubtedly talented minds to a proper set of accessories.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

20 Customer Reviews

0

Outstanding video quality

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 31/12/2017 by T2 biker

Outstanding video quality, Excellent depth of field, a little disappointed in the still picture quality ,but early days yet !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High Quality Video

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 25/12/2017 by Agris

i used before only go pro products and than i try something new. Optical image stabilisation is awesome and video is HQ and crisp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional action camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 17/12/2017 by Danny B

Beautiful vibrant mode colors, excellent image stabilization and a very easy to use interface. It is a bit hard to find accessories for it being given the shape, but otherwise it's maybe the best action cam on the market. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best action cam on the market.

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 15/12/2017 by Alexotronic

I had Gopro 5 and 6 after selling my fdr x3000 to my friend - they didn't even get close to quality of Sony so I have bought another fdr x3000 but this time I am keeping it. Optical stabilization does its job magnificently for extreme sports. No need for gimbal means less weight and less risk of breaking something. Battery life could be lil bit better tho. I always have two spare batteries with me and that is more than enough for one day. Quality stuff..get it ...NOW!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Build quality above competitors. Lens very clear

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 31/10/2017 by Sam17

Build quality is fantastic, feels solid, case is brilliantly designed. Audio quality (without case) is very very good. Video quality is crisp as long as you are in well lit conditions. You will need a fast memory card for this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

brilliant cam

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 21/10/2017 by ricky brown pants

ive had all the gopro cams and this beats all of them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera but poor reliability

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 13/10/2017

I have purchased two of these expensive cameras, the quality if the picture @4k is fantastic and the stabilisation is better than Go pro, BUT... my first camera stopped shooting in 4k two weeks after purchase, I was already using one of tge top 5 quickest cards, but I tried buying new cards that were even faster, I did a many resets and formats, the camera wiuld try and work but just stick on 0000, then turn off, I spend over a week every day with Sony support, to be told in the end, take it to be fixed and deal with it yourself... I brought tbis camera to take on a trip I have been planning fir the last few years, a solo trip accross spain on my motorbike, I leave next week so no time to try and navigate a third party repair agent, so sadly I had to get a loan to buy another... Great Camera but poor reliability..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Best Action Camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 21/09/2017 by Andrew90

I use this camera every day and it is great. Best video and audio quality on action camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wow!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 31/08/2017

This is an unbelieveble camera. I am very satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great alternative to a Go Pro

FDR-X3000 05/07/2017 by kjos

A nice alternative from the usual square design of action cams. I use it when cycling, It fits neatly in a pocket and can be filming in a few seconds. The design fits easily and comfortable in hand.Feels very secure and bomb proof in the supplied casing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Neat little action cam

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 12/06/2017 by Blobby55

It's worth every penny and weight in gold it's lovely to handle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sony akcion cam

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 08/06/2017 by gajos

Hi. I recommend this camera Sony Action Cam FDR-X3000R everyone who likes to record in different conditions. Even underwater. Great recording in 4K and Full HD. Good stabilization. I use it mainly in the field I am very satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic camera - terrible accessories

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 30/05/2017 by Rick P

There's no doubt in my mind that the camera itself is fabulous. The image stabilisation is the main reason I bought it and I haven't been disappointed. However, everything else about Sony and their action camera ecosystem is less than helpful with the successful deployment of the camera. For a start you can only buy this camera with the live view remote in the UK. This adds a lot of money to the purchase price and, for me, isn't really that necessary and it's not particularly good to be perfectly honest. Why it couldn't have been available as an accessory I don't know - other than Sony UK might make less money of course, heaven forbid. Also, the accessories for the X3000, despite the camera having been around for a good few months, are both expensive and pretty naff. The suction mount, for example, broke on the first outing and wasn't particularly stable when it was briefly working. There are no stick-on mounts provided with the camera either even though they give you a buckle attachment to go into them (!) - I'm assuming Sony think to buy this camera you must be upgrading from an older one but then they haven't thought that through as some of the older mounts - the skeleton for example, don't work with the new camera. You can get adaptors and add-ons for GoPro cameras to work but it's all a bit Heath Robinson in the end and leaves you fairly frustrated. So it's nearly great, but so far away it means I'm unlikely to buy another. It's a sad situation sadly, a great action camera well and truly stymied by a poor ecosystem. They really ought to ask their people to try to use the cameras in real-life situations and put their undoubtedly talented minds to a proper set of accessories.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Great camera

FDR-X3000 08/05/2017 by Nidge

I got it 3weeks ago and I carnt put it down been filming everywhere

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

good choice

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 02/04/2017 by supser

bought it 2 weeks ago..battery life should be better and the siftware doesn't have fish eye correction

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

My Sony Little Friend

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 30/03/2017 by Shiraz55

I start my review by saying how amazing is the quality of the videos from this little tiny camera and how pleased Iam with my purchase .My first video camcorder was a full VHS Panasonic M7 which I bought around 1990, A very heavy and huge camcorder .I bought more and more camcorders over the many years followed as technology became better and better .,,,,,Till 2 weeks ago I got my FDR-X3000 The weight of it so light,The size of it bit bigger than a match box ,the battery lasts twice as long ,and the size of its micro sd beyond comparison with that huge VHS tape and above all the quality of the video so magical. I can go on and on ..... My only wish was that if it could have been able to take still pictures in Raw maybe . Saying all that I am not happy with the remote display size and loosing connection every few min with the camera . Stabilization is awesome and does a good job ,I definitely recommend this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Super Video Quality

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11/03/2017 by BossyRossy

I needed an action cam that could produce the similar quality as my sony HDR PJ810E and I believe the FDR-X3000 more than met my quality expectations. The image stabilization technology is the feature of this Sony product that makes it truely unique. I bought it packaged with the Live View Remote which I used exstensively on my wrist while the FDR-X3000 mounted on my ski goggles. The only thing I find annoying is the time that the remote takes to switch on the cam as it is not instant enough, however afer a few days of use I got used to making sure the remore was synced and ready to record immediately on pressing the record button on the remote. My only other issues was the battery life was rather short and I would highly recommend anyone to buy a spare or carry a powerbank so if you are out for a whole day you can capture all the days action. Overall, I am delighted with this small but capable action cam. If you must have smooth video then this is the camera for you. My other well known branded action camera is now fully retired!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Excellent Action Camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 28/02/2017 by davelee

Had the GoPro 5 Black, had so many issues with it so purchased the Sony FDR-X3000 Camera, so far it has been MAGIC

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Exceptional performance!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 25/01/2017

I initially thought it was a lot to pay for an action cam. However upon receiving and using the camera I found the performance to be head and shoulders above the competition. Even comparing the X1000V of which I own two the X3000R is so much better in features quality and results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

An impressive improvement over the last model

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 15/01/2017 by cipnt

Through the years I've owned and used extensively GoPro 3 and 3+, Sony AS15 and AS100. The main reason I bought my first Sony action cam, the AS15, was for its image stabilisation. Sony has always had great stabilisation in all its cameras, both consumer and professional, and this was a huge advantage over the GoPro. This evolved significantly with the AS100 but was still digital stabilisation. The X3000 brings an impressive optical imagine stabilisation system, something I never thought possible in such a small form factor. The great thing about optical imagine stabilisation is that it doesn't "eat" into your sensor resolution and you get the full 4K resolution the sensor can deliver with 170° viewing angle. Another great addition is the loop recording option which is really useful when I have the X3000 mounted on my motorcycle helmet. There are some things to complain about it though... I haven't directly compared it with my AS100, but the light sensitivity of this new 4K sensor seems worse and creates darker pictures when filming indoor or during the night. The battery no longer last as much as it did with AS100, something understandable since now it's handling 4x more pixels and data. I definitely don't like the new power button - it was so easy before to just press the Rec button once and the AS100 would power up and start recording, all with just a single press of a button. Now you have to press the power button, wait a few seconds for it to power up, then press Rec. If you press record too early you get an error. This is definitely a step backwards in my opinion. One thing I have for the AS100 and wish it was available for the X3000 is the skeleton case, which allows a very compact helmet mount

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

5