RRP

€670.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
58

4.4 based on 58 customer reviews

37
15
2
1
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Despite the great magazine reviews this is poor

STR-DN1080 15/10/2017 by Anomander

Bought a new STR -DN1080 from Sevenoaks to partner a LG OLED55B7V. Set up (despite the painfully slow loading Home menu) everything ok but HDMI-ARC does not work. Sevenoaks Sony rep is unhelpful. Prove that it is the Sony amp by testing with a Yamaha soundbar. Then video output from the amp fails too. Now on my second amp but HDMI-ARC still does not work, and neither does this amp accept volume control commands via the LG (the last one did with exactly the same software and settings). Sevenoaks sending an installation engineer, but there are no settings left to try. Sony support has been non existent. Will be swapping for a Denon if not solved by end of next week.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

9

3

59 Customer Reviews

0

Easey to set Up

STR-DN1080 19/10/2018 by Johngorlston

I have had the machine for a couple of weeks now, what can I say, hard to find fault very happy with it. Easy to set up, remote easy to read (no clutter just essential buttons) I think, however, a better warning there are 215 pages in the Help Manual. I would have selected back and front page printing had I know.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound and great features!

STR-DN1080 14/09/2018 by Prodigy Square

Upgraded from pioneer and this avr has better sound and features. Zone feature work well to. I’m having issues with some devises failing to use the ARC feature. When connected the AVR keeps going to the home screen and is totally unusable until the device is disconnected. I have now opted to connect the devise straight to the TV instead and all is well. However, Sony must deal with the issue as other users have reported having the same challenge.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and easy setup option

STR-DN1080 12/09/2018 by Network analyst

Bought this and a 4k blu ray player for my media room, it was chosen as it was an award winner and has the features and inputs I needed. Setup was easy and following the on screen instructions. So overall very pleased with the product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great AVR, but lacks compatibility.

STR-DN1080 04/09/2018 by Fluorescent_Adolescent

I wish I had read more reviews about this AVR before... I have nothing to complain about the video or sound quality, it's just superb, Sony is always doing a great job. But Sony does have a dark past with compatibility, unless you have a Sony TV (which is not my case) you will have problems with ARC and HDMI Anynet+. Just so you know be prepared to deactivate the ARC and HDMI Control for your TV and Receiver if you don't want to have any glitches or lags with the video, apart from that , the AVR is everything you need. I have a PS4 Pro, a Sony UBP-x800 and a Samsung TV connected to the AVR, If It wasn't for the compatibility problems with the TV and the AVR, everything would be 100%, but I just deactivated the HDMI ARC and I am using a Digital Optical Cable to have the sound from the TV going to the Receiver. Apart from that I'm really happy with the product!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sluggish, remote not working properly

STR-DN1080 04/09/2018 by Maxi23

Basically a good product, easy to use user surface. Unfortunately very sluggish, takes a while to switch from the different 'home' options to another. Remote not very responsive either. Can't always use the shortcuts/ selecting input on the remote, need to go to the 'home ' to select the related input.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Another great product.

STR-DN1080 21/08/2018 by GregC

I have been a Sony man all my life and bought this as an upgrade from my previous STR-DB780 and I am not disappointed. The setting up of the speakers with the microphone supplied was an absolute doddle, and the final result is superb, far better than my previous unit where distances etc. had to be put in manually. The clarity and range of the sound just has to be heard. Bluetooth receive and transmit was another feature that influenced my decision, and the ability to control the unit from my smartphone including playing music stored on my phone is a bonus. However.........I am also old enough to have a large vinyl collection and I was disappointed to find that there is no phono input as on my old unit. This means that I have had to invest in a preamp to enable my turntable to be used. I think this is a retrograde omission particularly as there is now a resurgence of vinyl.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Value for money, sound and pictures!

STR-DN1080 12/08/2018 by Jimny

Having had this receiver for a couple of months now (Aug '18) I can say it has achieved all my requirements. It plays !usic from my NAS, connects my TV box, disc player and TV together seemlessly and plugs into the network without fuss. The sound quality is excellent, as good if not better than higher priced boxes from a few years back. The picture pass through works fine and there are enough connections on the back to satisfy most peoples' needs. Looks good, sounds even better and you should shortlist this receiver at least. Only gripe is that the options on search for the NAS server are slow but by using the pad/phone app instead the problem goes away. No doubt better ones will appear in time but for now, this is the one you are looking for Obi-One.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony amp

STR-DN1080 05/08/2018 by Daveto

Had the Sony str dn 1080 about 2 weeks and am still learning what it can do. So far it produces excellent sound which is the main reason for buying it, the other features I’m adding a bit at a time. The Bluetooth is the latest I’ve setup, it seems to me the sound is a bit flat but I’ve yet to try different settings on iPod. I am using it in a 5.1 setup. It is years ahead of what my previous amp could do and look forward to exploring other aspects of it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Two stars only!

STR-DN1080 30/07/2018

Very disappointed with this. Firstly the positive is the sound is great but unfortunately the anynet feature does not work. I have a brand new arc compatible tv and a blue ray player and when anynet is set to on I could not see the amp menu on the tv so having researched a couple of blogs I switched anynet off and presto all devices worked fine but this meant I had to use an optical lead for sound. This is not bad as the optical is faster than arc and therefore lip sync is much better. Another disappointment is the amp menus take an age to appear on screen, it is really slow switching devices and I am not able to use the tv feature on the amp remote to switch the device to tv. To be fair to Sony they don’t guarantee this but having paired the remotes I was hoping with the new technology that would work but it doesn’t so you still have to juggle remotes and with the slow amp menu it is a pain. So sound is great but features are poor. I guess if you were using with a Sony tv it may be ok but with other brands you may get the same issues as me so do your homework before you buy and ask the retailer if these features will work with your equipment in advance. Trek.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

3

0

Best yet

STR-DN1080 28/07/2018 by Mick72

I bought this AV a month ago and now having been used for most types of broadcasts, I can say I am very pleased with the Audio quality across the range. In conjunction with my new Sony Oled TV and Sony 4K 800 Blu-ray player, the Dolby Atmos function is superb coming out of my Crystal Acoustic speakers. This AV truly enhances, movie sound tracks and music too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good all rounder

STR-DN1080 12/07/2018 by Odcrypt

The reason I bought this amp is that I seen great reviews and on the plus side it has Dolby vision through an update

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fine build quality and state of the art technology

STR-DN1080 20/06/2018 by JJak

This AV receiver gives me the versatility of combining UHD Blu-ray and Sky with my UHD TV. Works flawlessly. Picture and Sound are superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So pleased I chose this unit...

STR-DN1080 18/06/2018 by Streetly

Perfect unit for D-Atmos with Sky-Q and works and absolute treat. Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Unreliable receiver

STR-DN1080 12/06/2018 by Bharat56

Bought in Feb 2018. Broken down 4 times since purchase and hav ego do repeated factory resets. Greta sound when it works

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Super purchase!

STR-DN1080 06/06/2018 by Delta4SJ

Found system a dream to set up. Auto-calibration identified a loose wire and saved me a lot of time. Sounds fantastic, a world of difference from my old Sony system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Virtual 7.2 surround a treat.

STR-DN1080 01/06/2018 by Maxigooner

All you would expect from a class AV Reciever with a nice trick up it’s sleeve. Also add a second sub for more texture to your thump.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound and easy to set up

STR-DN1080 04/05/2018 by Zuli

This is my first ever AV receiver so can't compare to others, Thr build quality is second to none and setting it up was very easy all the speakers were calibrated automatically to give the best sound possible for your sitting position Everything was connected to the AV and worked great sync it with my Sony 4k tv and everything was done automatically

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic upgrade

STR-DN1080 24/04/2018 by RB1978

I needed an upgrade once I had bought my first UHD tv, I had chosen one from the new Sony FX range and so I didn't want to pair it with a poor AV Receiver. The 1080 hasn't disappointed, great sound easy setup. Very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Power house amplifier

STR-DN1080 17/04/2018 by Adam72

Amazing features, great build quality, easy to set up, lives up to the Sony brand.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Test the rest of your system

STR-DN1080 11/04/2018 by One1

Purchased a few weeks ago and now got attached components workig more satisfactory than previous receivers. Now able to stream wireless from laptop

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

STR-DN1080 09/04/2018 by Andylkwb

Great sound, really happy with it, especially being able to listen to a large quantity of FLAC music files. Wish the built in Chromecast played videos and the USB music player showed album art. DAB would also have been nice. Not biggies or being negative.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Committed Sony man.

STR-DN1080 05/04/2018 by BigonksDad

Bought because I have numerous Sony products that I wanted to tie together, so far worked OK, although haven't put it fully to test (no 4k TV connected as yet) the near future will probably see that sorted.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good value for money

STR-DN1080 28/03/2018 by Brian A

Very good product especialy at the price paid, bought to replace another Sony AV reciever I have had for several years. I was a little apprehensive about buying at first as my old reciever cost treble the price and was very good, I need not have worried the 1080 did not let me down it's an excellent product and is a definite improvement can't fault it at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Receiver let down by poor software

STR-DN1080 17/03/2018 by Paul60

Excellent receiver let down by poor front end software which is slow. Why you have to select Listen or Watch instead of the input. The home page takes ages to boot up and having directly selected the source the amp suddenly reverts to the Home page.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

5

3