RRP

€670.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
52

4.4 based on 52 customer reviews

34
12
2
1
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Two stars only!

STR-DN1080 30/07/2018

Very disappointed with this. Firstly the positive is the sound is great but unfortunately the anynet feature does not work. I have a brand new arc compatible tv and a blue ray player and when anynet is set to on I could not see the amp menu on the tv so having researched a couple of blogs I switched anynet off and presto all devices worked fine but this meant I had to use an optical lead for sound. This is not bad as the optical is faster than arc and therefore lip sync is much better. Another disappointment is the amp menus take an age to appear on screen, it is really slow switching devices and I am not able to use the tv feature on the amp remote to switch the device to tv. To be fair to Sony they don’t guarantee this but having paired the remotes I was hoping with the new technology that would work but it doesn’t so you still have to juggle remotes and with the slow amp menu it is a pain. So sound is great but features are poor. I guess if you were using with a Sony tv it may be ok but with other brands you may get the same issues as me so do your homework before you buy and ask the retailer if these features will work with your equipment in advance. Trek.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

53 Customer Reviews

0

Value for money, sound and pictures!

STR-DN1080 12/08/2018 by Jimny

Having had this receiver for a couple of months now (Aug '18) I can say it has achieved all my requirements. It plays !usic from my NAS, connects my TV box, disc player and TV together seemlessly and plugs into the network without fuss. The sound quality is excellent, as good if not better than higher priced boxes from a few years back. The picture pass through works fine and there are enough connections on the back to satisfy most peoples' needs. Looks good, sounds even better and you should shortlist this receiver at least. Only gripe is that the options on search for the NAS server are slow but by using the pad/phone app instead the problem goes away. No doubt better ones will appear in time but for now, this is the one you are looking for Obi-One.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony amp

STR-DN1080 05/08/2018 by Daveto

Had the Sony str dn 1080 about 2 weeks and am still learning what it can do. So far it produces excellent sound which is the main reason for buying it, the other features I’m adding a bit at a time. The Bluetooth is the latest I’ve setup, it seems to me the sound is a bit flat but I’ve yet to try different settings on iPod. I am using it in a 5.1 setup. It is years ahead of what my previous amp could do and look forward to exploring other aspects of it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Two stars only!

STR-DN1080 30/07/2018

Very disappointed with this. Firstly the positive is the sound is great but unfortunately the anynet feature does not work. I have a brand new arc compatible tv and a blue ray player and when anynet is set to on I could not see the amp menu on the tv so having researched a couple of blogs I switched anynet off and presto all devices worked fine but this meant I had to use an optical lead for sound. This is not bad as the optical is faster than arc and therefore lip sync is much better. Another disappointment is the amp menus take an age to appear on screen, it is really slow switching devices and I am not able to use the tv feature on the amp remote to switch the device to tv. To be fair to Sony they don’t guarantee this but having paired the remotes I was hoping with the new technology that would work but it doesn’t so you still have to juggle remotes and with the slow amp menu it is a pain. So sound is great but features are poor. I guess if you were using with a Sony tv it may be ok but with other brands you may get the same issues as me so do your homework before you buy and ask the retailer if these features will work with your equipment in advance. Trek.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Best yet

STR-DN1080 28/07/2018 by Mick72

I bought this AV a month ago and now having been used for most types of broadcasts, I can say I am very pleased with the Audio quality across the range. In conjunction with my new Sony Oled TV and Sony 4K 800 Blu-ray player, the Dolby Atmos function is superb coming out of my Crystal Acoustic speakers. This AV truly enhances, movie sound tracks and music too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all rounder

STR-DN1080 12/07/2018 by Odcrypt

The reason I bought this amp is that I seen great reviews and on the plus side it has Dolby vision through an update

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fine build quality and state of the art technology

STR-DN1080 20/06/2018 by JJak

This AV receiver gives me the versatility of combining UHD Blu-ray and Sky with my UHD TV. Works flawlessly. Picture and Sound are superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So pleased I chose this unit...

STR-DN1080 18/06/2018 by Streetly

Perfect unit for D-Atmos with Sky-Q and works and absolute treat. Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Unreliable receiver

STR-DN1080 12/06/2018 by Bharat56

Bought in Feb 2018. Broken down 4 times since purchase and hav ego do repeated factory resets. Greta sound when it works

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Super purchase!

STR-DN1080 06/06/2018 by Delta4SJ

Found system a dream to set up. Auto-calibration identified a loose wire and saved me a lot of time. Sounds fantastic, a world of difference from my old Sony system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Virtual 7.2 surround a treat.

STR-DN1080 01/06/2018 by Maxigooner

All you would expect from a class AV Reciever with a nice trick up it’s sleeve. Also add a second sub for more texture to your thump.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound and easy to set up

STR-DN1080 04/05/2018 by Zuli

This is my first ever AV receiver so can't compare to others, Thr build quality is second to none and setting it up was very easy all the speakers were calibrated automatically to give the best sound possible for your sitting position Everything was connected to the AV and worked great sync it with my Sony 4k tv and everything was done automatically

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic upgrade

STR-DN1080 24/04/2018 by RB1978

I needed an upgrade once I had bought my first UHD tv, I had chosen one from the new Sony FX range and so I didn't want to pair it with a poor AV Receiver. The 1080 hasn't disappointed, great sound easy setup. Very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Power house amplifier

STR-DN1080 17/04/2018 by Adam72

Amazing features, great build quality, easy to set up, lives up to the Sony brand.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Test the rest of your system

STR-DN1080 11/04/2018 by One1

Purchased a few weeks ago and now got attached components workig more satisfactory than previous receivers. Now able to stream wireless from laptop

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

STR-DN1080 09/04/2018 by Andylkwb

Great sound, really happy with it, especially being able to listen to a large quantity of FLAC music files. Wish the built in Chromecast played videos and the USB music player showed album art. DAB would also have been nice. Not biggies or being negative.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Committed Sony man.

STR-DN1080 05/04/2018 by BigonksDad

Bought because I have numerous Sony products that I wanted to tie together, so far worked OK, although haven't put it fully to test (no 4k TV connected as yet) the near future will probably see that sorted.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good value for money

STR-DN1080 28/03/2018 by Brian A

Very good product especialy at the price paid, bought to replace another Sony AV reciever I have had for several years. I was a little apprehensive about buying at first as my old reciever cost treble the price and was very good, I need not have worried the 1080 did not let me down it's an excellent product and is a definite improvement can't fault it at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Receiver let down by poor software

STR-DN1080 17/03/2018 by Paul60

Excellent receiver let down by poor front end software which is slow. Why you have to select Listen or Watch instead of the input. The home page takes ages to boot up and having directly selected the source the amp suddenly reverts to the Home page.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Sony 7.2 4k

STR-DN1080 17/03/2018 by Shiftykev78

Had for over 1 month and dammm it sounds awsome . Everything i was looking to run my home cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Some good some bad

STR-DN1080 09/03/2018 by Brianb426

Bought amp in January and found it easy to set up and worked well with Virgin TiVo v3 box for cable tv. However Virgin are currently upgrading their TiVo boxes here in the uk to v6 version for free at the moment and I have just spent 5 days establishing that this upgrade is incompatible with the amp and have had to go back to the previous version. Surprised that sony equipment is not working with uk's biggest cable tv suppliers gear! Regards Brian

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great Quality and Sound

STR-DN1080 04/03/2018 by Martinkelly93

Great connectivity, superb sound, many excellent features. Easy to use and configure. Ideal!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound for music

STR-DN1080 27/02/2018 by Sandyman

Forced into upgrade from yamaha 677 having acquired 4k tv. Pass thru problems proved too frustrating. Sony 1080 is a big step up-quality and depth of sound is excellent and i could not believe the difference listening to Spotify via connect. Only minor gripe is time lag for switching between inputs but overall i am delighted with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Sound Definition, Lacking Essential Basics

STR-DN1080 23/02/2018 by ZM76

I needed an AV receiver capable of 5.1 surround sound with the option to enable an Atmos setup in future and also to handle 4K sources with HDR and Dolby Vision support. I initially purchased a Yamaha RXV 683 AV Receiver, the menu and GUI system were nothing amazing but did the job, the HDMI CEC control worked perfectly with my LG OLED TV however the amp was lacking in definition especially at low volumes. I had read the What HiFi review for the Sony STR DN1080 and decided to return the Yamaha in favour of the Sony despite some of the negative user based reviews online. I can say the sound definition on the DN1080 is the best I have heard in ages, so the quality of the product is right up there. However what could be an amazing purchase is let down by some basic essential tech requirements. Firstly, the latest January 2018 update takes care of Dolby Vision passthrough which it didn't have initially. The AV receiver has a habit of randomly going over to the Home Menu screen which has plagues a lot of users. The other issue is that sometimes mid movie, you may want to check the input and output sound format just to ensure it is set correctly to say Dolby True HD or Dolby Atmos or DTS. Pressing the Display button on the remote control does not do this. This is an absolute basic requirement that I have seen on numerous AV receivers and I really don't understand why it doesn't work on the Sony STR DN1080. The only way I can manage to get somewhat a display is by switching channels or source then the sound format is briefly displayed on the AV Receiver visual display. This detracts from the general experience and am sure it would be a trivial firmware change to resolve this, not sure why it hasn't surfaced yet with a lot of others having raised the issue. I contacted LG recently to ask why the magic remote function which seems to take care of a lot of manufactures devices and allows them to be controlled by the LG OLED TV remote does not work at all for the Sony AV receiver. They got back to me to advise that Sony had not sent them the software information for the STR DN1080 and therefore they couldn't support it. There are reviews online that state the AV receiver takes a long time to output sound from the moment it is turned on, or when you switch source, this is generally exaggerated, I feel the it boots up quite quickly and also the delay isn't that bad at all when switching sources. The other issue is the menu system, it is more of a graphical interface than most other menu systems on other AV receivers and looks very impressive however there is a sluggish delay while the home menu screen is displayed and this varies and is not consistent. Its almost as if the processor on the AV receiver for handling the menu system is struggling. Summary: Great AV Receiver for sound quality and definition, really nice looking on screen menu system with intuitive setup, let down by niggly technical faults/issues that need acknowledgement or ETA to fix by Sony, if so I am sure there would be a much higher take up of this product as right now I understand how many people are put off by the lack of successful integration of this amp to a lot of setups.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

A tremendous upgrade

STR-DN1080 21/02/2018 by Marky Mark

Bought this to replace the STR-DN1060 I have had for a couple of years because this offer 4K HDR capability rather than the 4K only of the DN1060. I have been impressed by the fact that the sound quality and usability of the unit have now also significantly improved, especially the 'phantom back' speakers! Just now need to invest in a Dolby Atmos speaker system to get the full benefits!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

1