RRP

€670.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
43

4.5 based on 43 customer reviews

28
11
2
0
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Receiver let down by poor software

STR-DN1080 17/03/2018 by Paul60

Excellent receiver let down by poor front end software which is slow. Why you have to select Listen or Watch instead of the input. The home page takes ages to boot up and having directly selected the source the amp suddenly reverts to the Home page.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

43 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound and easy to set up

STR-DN1080 04/05/2018 by Zuli

This is my first ever AV receiver so can't compare to others, Thr build quality is second to none and setting it up was very easy all the speakers were calibrated automatically to give the best sound possible for your sitting position Everything was connected to the AV and worked great sync it with my Sony 4k tv and everything was done automatically

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic upgrade

STR-DN1080 24/04/2018 by RB1978

I needed an upgrade once I had bought my first UHD tv, I had chosen one from the new Sony FX range and so I didn't want to pair it with a poor AV Receiver. The 1080 hasn't disappointed, great sound easy setup. Very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Power house amplifier

STR-DN1080 17/04/2018 by Adam72

Amazing features, great build quality, easy to set up, lives up to the Sony brand.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Test the rest of your system

STR-DN1080 11/04/2018 by One1

Purchased a few weeks ago and now got attached components workig more satisfactory than previous receivers. Now able to stream wireless from laptop

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

STR-DN1080 09/04/2018 by Andylkwb

Great sound, really happy with it, especially being able to listen to a large quantity of FLAC music files. Wish the built in Chromecast played videos and the USB music player showed album art. DAB would also have been nice. Not biggies or being negative.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Committed Sony man.

STR-DN1080 05/04/2018 by BigonksDad

Bought because I have numerous Sony products that I wanted to tie together, so far worked OK, although haven't put it fully to test (no 4k TV connected as yet) the near future will probably see that sorted.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good value for money

STR-DN1080 28/03/2018 by Brian A

Very good product especialy at the price paid, bought to replace another Sony AV reciever I have had for several years. I was a little apprehensive about buying at first as my old reciever cost treble the price and was very good, I need not have worried the 1080 did not let me down it's an excellent product and is a definite improvement can't fault it at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Receiver let down by poor software

STR-DN1080 17/03/2018 by Paul60

Excellent receiver let down by poor front end software which is slow. Why you have to select Listen or Watch instead of the input. The home page takes ages to boot up and having directly selected the source the amp suddenly reverts to the Home page.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Sony 7.2 4k

STR-DN1080 17/03/2018 by Shiftykev78

Had for over 1 month and dammm it sounds awsome . Everything i was looking to run my home cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Some good some bad

STR-DN1080 09/03/2018 by Brianb426

Bought amp in January and found it easy to set up and worked well with Virgin TiVo v3 box for cable tv. However Virgin are currently upgrading their TiVo boxes here in the uk to v6 version for free at the moment and I have just spent 5 days establishing that this upgrade is incompatible with the amp and have had to go back to the previous version. Surprised that sony equipment is not working with uk's biggest cable tv suppliers gear! Regards Brian

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Quality and Sound

STR-DN1080 04/03/2018 by Martinkelly93

Great connectivity, superb sound, many excellent features. Easy to use and configure. Ideal!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound for music

STR-DN1080 27/02/2018 by Sandyman

Forced into upgrade from yamaha 677 having acquired 4k tv. Pass thru problems proved too frustrating. Sony 1080 is a big step up-quality and depth of sound is excellent and i could not believe the difference listening to Spotify via connect. Only minor gripe is time lag for switching between inputs but overall i am delighted with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Sound Definition, Lacking Essential Basics

STR-DN1080 23/02/2018 by ZM76

I needed an AV receiver capable of 5.1 surround sound with the option to enable an Atmos setup in future and also to handle 4K sources with HDR and Dolby Vision support. I initially purchased a Yamaha RXV 683 AV Receiver, the menu and GUI system were nothing amazing but did the job, the HDMI CEC control worked perfectly with my LG OLED TV however the amp was lacking in definition especially at low volumes. I had read the What HiFi review for the Sony STR DN1080 and decided to return the Yamaha in favour of the Sony despite some of the negative user based reviews online. I can say the sound definition on the DN1080 is the best I have heard in ages, so the quality of the product is right up there. However what could be an amazing purchase is let down by some basic essential tech requirements. Firstly, the latest January 2018 update takes care of Dolby Vision passthrough which it didn't have initially. The AV receiver has a habit of randomly going over to the Home Menu screen which has plagues a lot of users. The other issue is that sometimes mid movie, you may want to check the input and output sound format just to ensure it is set correctly to say Dolby True HD or Dolby Atmos or DTS. Pressing the Display button on the remote control does not do this. This is an absolute basic requirement that I have seen on numerous AV receivers and I really don't understand why it doesn't work on the Sony STR DN1080. The only way I can manage to get somewhat a display is by switching channels or source then the sound format is briefly displayed on the AV Receiver visual display. This detracts from the general experience and am sure it would be a trivial firmware change to resolve this, not sure why it hasn't surfaced yet with a lot of others having raised the issue. I contacted LG recently to ask why the magic remote function which seems to take care of a lot of manufactures devices and allows them to be controlled by the LG OLED TV remote does not work at all for the Sony AV receiver. They got back to me to advise that Sony had not sent them the software information for the STR DN1080 and therefore they couldn't support it. There are reviews online that state the AV receiver takes a long time to output sound from the moment it is turned on, or when you switch source, this is generally exaggerated, I feel the it boots up quite quickly and also the delay isn't that bad at all when switching sources. The other issue is the menu system, it is more of a graphical interface than most other menu systems on other AV receivers and looks very impressive however there is a sluggish delay while the home menu screen is displayed and this varies and is not consistent. Its almost as if the processor on the AV receiver for handling the menu system is struggling. Summary: Great AV Receiver for sound quality and definition, really nice looking on screen menu system with intuitive setup, let down by niggly technical faults/issues that need acknowledgement or ETA to fix by Sony, if so I am sure there would be a much higher take up of this product as right now I understand how many people are put off by the lack of successful integration of this amp to a lot of setups.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

A tremendous upgrade

STR-DN1080 21/02/2018 by Marky Mark

Bought this to replace the STR-DN1060 I have had for a couple of years because this offer 4K HDR capability rather than the 4K only of the DN1060. I have been impressed by the fact that the sound quality and usability of the unit have now also significantly improved, especially the 'phantom back' speakers! Just now need to invest in a Dolby Atmos speaker system to get the full benefits!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and ease of setup

STR-DN1080 14/02/2018 by Norfolkdan

Purchased last month to compliment Sony xe93 tv buy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lacking inputs and flexibility of previous models

STR-DN1080 10/02/2018 by Ray999

This is my third Sony AV amplifier and will be my last I have a Sony TV less than a year old which has been a nightmare to sync to this AV unit despite having engineers out and speaking to Sony over the phone this problem has still not been resolved you need to use at least 3 remote controls to get the sound to work when I previous models all I did switch the TV on and you got surround sound or stereo or everyone's playing on the TV when it goes like this and is really good the problem is it doesn't work most of the time I would never buy another Sony product in my life

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

5

0

Great sound and picture

STR-DN1080 06/02/2018 by Have none

I had a Sony surround sound system before I purchased this and was surprised how much better the new one is

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

STR-DN1080 28/01/2018 by Damooon

I've only been able to test the system as about to move home, but chose this system due to glowing What Hi-fi review. I've not read the instructions other than wiring set up, sounds amazing, and is easy to use. Big thumbs up, I'm massively happy with it. Just lacks a socket to trigger sub to take off standby

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Significant Upgrade

STR-DN1080 24/01/2018 by Carrzinho

I bought this (replacing a 6 year old Denon amp) mainly to keep pace with my new LG OLED screen. I needed it to deliver Dolby Vision and the latest HDR formats, which it does and am confident it's future proof for the foreseeable. It's a weighty box, that's subtle in it's design, though powers on with an uncomfortable bang. Yeah it's got oodles of power, but calm down. Set up is easy with a very precise microphone instantly providing a delightful accompaniment to my B&W speaker set up. I used the engineer default and with my only having a physical 5.1 set up it's virtual Dolby Atmos (7.1) is very effective and recommended. The end result is a far more dramatic, detailed and weighty sound than my preceding Denon and playing back Dunkirk on BluRay was such an intense experience it easily trumped that which I had enjoyed in the cinema. 6 HDMI's in should cater for most, though I would prefer that the remote control had a media box as one of it's 6 direct selections than USB, CD or TV. However, it is configurable and instantly jumps to my Apple 4k signal when switched on. It has 2 HDMI out but I've had no use for the second one yet. The rear is well laid out with plenty of room for the various HDMI inputs and my large Chord speaker cable. The power cable however cannot be removed so prevents upgrading. The remote is light but uncluttered and with everything talking to each other it's likely you'll only be using it for volume which also displays on the screen. Good for those who like to switch the display off or find them difficult to read. In terms of trouble shooting, while the unit would connect to the wifi and download the update it wouldn't actually update. I had to get a USB stick and download it from the website instead (be careful if using a Mac that while it says it compatible, your stick must me formatted so it can be read by both PC and Mac). I've also had occasional lip-sync issues, but given i've a source and a TV involved in this equation i'm not sure I can level this fault yet at the Sony, I can say it wasn't an issue with the Denon. I've had it about a month now and because of the super sound i've found myself rematching classic action and thriller movies and overall would give this a solid 4 to 5 star rating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality

STR-DN1080 23/01/2018 by Christy9

Easy to use and set up with first rate sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost 5 Stars

STR-DN1080 13/01/2018 by Sparkle1979

After almost a year of research I finally took the plunge and upgraded my 5 year old Sony STR-DH820 which had served me well, to the highly commended STR-DN1080. One major concern for me was reading numerous comments about the ‘HOME’ menu appearing when hdmi-cec is enabled, unfortunately this is happening with my setup, which is pretty basic. I have a SKY HD box and PS4 connected directly to the amp, if I power either up they turn my tv and amp on but the dreaded unwanted ‘HOME’ menu is displayed after approx 10 seconds. If I hit the ‘Sky’ button or ‘PS4’ button the menu disappears so it’s not a major problem. Setup was straightforward for my 5.1 speaker configuration and my Tannoy HTS-101 speakers sound great! I’m considering upgrading to Sky Q to take advantage of their 4K content so needed an amp that could handle it, this amp should future proof me for a while at least. So far I can’t comment on the quality of how it handles ultra hd video, but I’m confident that the Sony brand won’t let me down. When powered up the unit does produce more noise than my old amp but it’s only noticeable when the sound is almost at zero. Ultimately the products primary function is to produce quality sound and it does this effortlessly. Would have scored it 5 stars but it’s the annoying ‘Home’ menu issue that stopped me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing and highly capable

STR-DN1080 11/01/2018 by DirkHellfire

My dated AV amp was due for upgrading having S-video sockets and a faulty remote. Most things TV related are now Sony in my house as they are typically easy to use and work straight out of the box. Thus the decision to buy a Sony AV amplifier was a natural choice and as expected the unit excelled in everyway. Most impressive was its ability to refresh my somewhat dated speakers and make them sing. The DCAC auto set up was a breeze and resulted in a perfect soundstage straight away without hours of experimentation. The unit handled all sound formats thrown it’s way and Airplay is better and livelier than ever before. Well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant sound & Features

STR-DN1080 31/12/2017 by Jonathonstrand

I bought this to replace a Sony 2400ES, so glad that I did, this has so much better sound, lots more modern features and decoding. It is very easy to set up and was up and running within an hour.I have had it around a month now, the only thing that I have needed to do has been to tweak the subwoofer setting down a bit for my room. It is a fantastic AV amp, to say that I am pleased with it would be an understatement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Superb quality

STR-DN1080 27/12/2017 by Ranger41ljn

Only had this a month but am really happy with the build quality and the superb sound. This receiver has plenty of input ports and am impressed with the 4K pass through and upscaling from my non 4K kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2