RRP

€670.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
29

4.4 based on 29 customer reviews

19
7
1
0
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

poor features

STR-DN1080 07/12/2017 by people you know

just ok the front panal lacks info you have to depend on your tv screen for most set up

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

30 Customer Reviews

0

A tremendous upgrade

STR-DN1080 21/02/2018 by Marky Mark

Bought this to replace the STR-DN1060 I have had for a couple of years because this offer 4K HDR capability rather than the 4K only of the DN1060. I have been impressed by the fact that the sound quality and usability of the unit have now also significantly improved, especially the 'phantom back' speakers! Just now need to invest in a Dolby Atmos speaker system to get the full benefits!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and ease of setup

STR-DN1080 14/02/2018 by Norfolkdan

Purchased last month to compliment Sony xe93 tv buy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lacking inputs and flexibility of previous models

STR-DN1080 10/02/2018 by Ray999

This is my third Sony AV amplifier and will be my last I have a Sony TV less than a year old which has been a nightmare to sync to this AV unit despite having engineers out and speaking to Sony over the phone this problem has still not been resolved you need to use at least 3 remote controls to get the sound to work when I previous models all I did switch the TV on and you got surround sound or stereo or everyone's playing on the TV when it goes like this and is really good the problem is it doesn't work most of the time I would never buy another Sony product in my life

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Great sound and picture

STR-DN1080 06/02/2018 by Have none

I had a Sony surround sound system before I purchased this and was surprised how much better the new one is

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

STR-DN1080 28/01/2018 by Damooon

I've only been able to test the system as about to move home, but chose this system due to glowing What Hi-fi review. I've not read the instructions other than wiring set up, sounds amazing, and is easy to use. Big thumbs up, I'm massively happy with it. Just lacks a socket to trigger sub to take off standby

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Significant Upgrade

STR-DN1080 24/01/2018 by Carrzinho

I bought this (replacing a 6 year old Denon amp) mainly to keep pace with my new LG OLED screen. I needed it to deliver Dolby Vision and the latest HDR formats, which it does and am confident it's future proof for the foreseeable. It's a weighty box, that's subtle in it's design, though powers on with an uncomfortable bang. Yeah it's got oodles of power, but calm down. Set up is easy with a very precise microphone instantly providing a delightful accompaniment to my B&W speaker set up. I used the engineer default and with my only having a physical 5.1 set up it's virtual Dolby Atmos (7.1) is very effective and recommended. The end result is a far more dramatic, detailed and weighty sound than my preceding Denon and playing back Dunkirk on BluRay was such an intense experience it easily trumped that which I had enjoyed in the cinema. 6 HDMI's in should cater for most, though I would prefer that the remote control had a media box as one of it's 6 direct selections than USB, CD or TV. However, it is configurable and instantly jumps to my Apple 4k signal when switched on. It has 2 HDMI out but I've had no use for the second one yet. The rear is well laid out with plenty of room for the various HDMI inputs and my large Chord speaker cable. The power cable however cannot be removed so prevents upgrading. The remote is light but uncluttered and with everything talking to each other it's likely you'll only be using it for volume which also displays on the screen. Good for those who like to switch the display off or find them difficult to read. In terms of trouble shooting, while the unit would connect to the wifi and download the update it wouldn't actually update. I had to get a USB stick and download it from the website instead (be careful if using a Mac that while it says it compatible, your stick must me formatted so it can be read by both PC and Mac). I've also had occasional lip-sync issues, but given i've a source and a TV involved in this equation i'm not sure I can level this fault yet at the Sony, I can say it wasn't an issue with the Denon. I've had it about a month now and because of the super sound i've found myself rematching classic action and thriller movies and overall would give this a solid 4 to 5 star rating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality

STR-DN1080 23/01/2018 by Christy9

Easy to use and set up with first rate sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost 5 Stars

STR-DN1080 13/01/2018 by Sparkle1979

After almost a year of research I finally took the plunge and upgraded my 5 year old Sony STR-DH820 which had served me well, to the highly commended STR-DN1080. One major concern for me was reading numerous comments about the ‘HOME’ menu appearing when hdmi-cec is enabled, unfortunately this is happening with my setup, which is pretty basic. I have a SKY HD box and PS4 connected directly to the amp, if I power either up they turn my tv and amp on but the dreaded unwanted ‘HOME’ menu is displayed after approx 10 seconds. If I hit the ‘Sky’ button or ‘PS4’ button the menu disappears so it’s not a major problem. Setup was straightforward for my 5.1 speaker configuration and my Tannoy HTS-101 speakers sound great! I’m considering upgrading to Sky Q to take advantage of their 4K content so needed an amp that could handle it, this amp should future proof me for a while at least. So far I can’t comment on the quality of how it handles ultra hd video, but I’m confident that the Sony brand won’t let me down. When powered up the unit does produce more noise than my old amp but it’s only noticeable when the sound is almost at zero. Ultimately the products primary function is to produce quality sound and it does this effortlessly. Would have scored it 5 stars but it’s the annoying ‘Home’ menu issue that stopped me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing and highly capable

STR-DN1080 11/01/2018 by DirkHellfire

My dated AV amp was due for upgrading having S-video sockets and a faulty remote. Most things TV related are now Sony in my house as they are typically easy to use and work straight out of the box. Thus the decision to buy a Sony AV amplifier was a natural choice and as expected the unit excelled in everyway. Most impressive was its ability to refresh my somewhat dated speakers and make them sing. The DCAC auto set up was a breeze and resulted in a perfect soundstage straight away without hours of experimentation. The unit handled all sound formats thrown it’s way and Airplay is better and livelier than ever before. Well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant sound & Features

STR-DN1080 31/12/2017 by Jonathonstrand

I bought this to replace a Sony 2400ES, so glad that I did, this has so much better sound, lots more modern features and decoding. It is very easy to set up and was up and running within an hour.I have had it around a month now, the only thing that I have needed to do has been to tweak the subwoofer setting down a bit for my room. It is a fantastic AV amp, to say that I am pleased with it would be an understatement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Superb quality

STR-DN1080 27/12/2017 by Ranger41ljn

Only had this a month but am really happy with the build quality and the superb sound. This receiver has plenty of input ports and am impressed with the 4K pass through and upscaling from my non 4K kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Excellent feature package and good value

STR-DN1080 27/12/2017 by Basher II

I wanted a Dolby Atmos AV receiver with a decent number of HDMI input supporting ARC, this fits the bill.. Set up and calibration is easy. Just missing an App to control it now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

2 weeks in, delighted!

STR-DN1080 22/12/2017

Top quality amp, very solid construction, excellent sound through my Tannoy speakers and sub. Lots of features, indeed many more than I will ever use. The Chromecast feature is excellent and I find I use it a lot as it was super easy to set up. Good on-line setup info and instructions. Easy update ability.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

poor features

STR-DN1080 07/12/2017 by people you know

just ok the front panal lacks info you have to depend on your tv screen for most set up

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great AV amp

STR-DN1080 05/12/2017 by Redgibo

I purchased this in the summer after my Sony 1060 developed a fault. I tried the demon 2300 but found it too clinical a sound. The Sony gives a truly great tone and sound when watching Blu-ray, DVD or TV. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic,exelent

STR-DN1080 03/12/2017 by Relvina

The component are mostly 20 years old and are still reliable up to now I love your product to much and I cann’t compare with other products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent AV Receiver

STR-DN1080 25/11/2017 by WizPip

Outputting to two screens was definitely the surprise bonus of this product for me - being able to hook it up to a monitor and a projector (which isn't always on) is a real bonus. 6 HDMI inputs allow connection to all manner of devices - though not all of these have their own button on the remote. Moving between system menus is slower than your smartphone but are acceptable. Output quality can be difficult to judge because your experience will be largely dependent on your screens and speakers, but both video and audio on my setup are exceptional. The unit plays from WiFi and Bluetooth though these options have to be switched to before use - there's no auto stream detection. A companion smartphone app exists to replicate remote control functionality, though it would be nice if this control was also extended to Windows / MacOS - in my case the receiver is hooked up to a PC and it's a shame that to adjust the volume I have to open an app on another device. The unit puts out a fair amount of heat, even when it's not doing much - but overall build quality is solid and excellent value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent sound, shame about the Interface

STR-DN1080 10/11/2017 by MalAdroit

The STR1080 was a present from my wife and it sounds amazing! Even with our small speakers it sounds so realistic its sometimes hard to know if its the soundtrack or the real world. That said there are a number of reasons why I wouldn't recommend this to others: 1) the User interface is simple, but so slow! 12 seconds to show a menu is a joke 2) Only 1 of the 4 custom presents is available from the remote .... which would be fine if the menus weren't so slow! 3) The FM aerial is a joke! With the location of the receiver we can pick up Radio 1 & 2 in stereo & thats it, if I listened to the radio a lot this would be a show stopper. 4) The Equaliser is very basic, others in the same price range have far better facilities for tailoring the sound. 5) The on screen info display is stupidly basic - it shows the device connected & thats it, nothing about the sound filed being used or anything else - super poor Sony, why bother having a display button on the remote at all ? I have considered sending the unit back, but the question that I always come back to is - will others, in the same price range, sound as good .... ultimately one gets an AVR for the sound quality & that it has to be said is the one thing that the 1080 delivers on .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Wonderful

STR-DN1080 26/10/2017 by kp47

Bought this to replace my 12 year old Sony Av Receiver. Mighty impressed with the sound (particularly surround sound for TV), extensive features, auto calibration of the speakers,and so easy to set up and use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sounds great, but struggling with HDR

STR-DN1080 21/10/2017 by Lardboy

The sound is excellent for the price. Set up atmos and this is excellent. Struggled to maintain xbox1s and ps pro HDR settings. Loses picture in enhanced hdmi video setting and have to go to simple mode. This is annoying and needs addressing with the new xbox1x release. Need both sound and audio to function 100%, and then this receiver would get 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Despite the great magazine reviews this is poor

STR-DN1080 15/10/2017 by Anomander

Bought a new STR -DN1080 from Sevenoaks to partner a LG OLED55B7V. Set up (despite the painfully slow loading Home menu) everything ok but HDMI-ARC does not work. Sevenoaks Sony rep is unhelpful. Prove that it is the Sony amp by testing with a Yamaha soundbar. Then video output from the amp fails too. Now on my second amp but HDMI-ARC still does not work, and neither does this amp accept volume control commands via the LG (the last one did with exactly the same software and settings). Sevenoaks sending an installation engineer, but there are no settings left to try. Sony support has been non existent. Will be swapping for a Denon if not solved by end of next week.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

8

2

0

Superb sound quality

STR-DN1080 09/10/2017 by Spliff38

Best av amp I have ever purchased . I have always had Yamaha amps before, but don't have made a gem with us

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The AV to rule them all

STR-DN1080 02/10/2017 by MitchieG

Eventually found the Sony STR-DN1080 after weeks of reading and watching the pre order videos. I can tell you now that I was not disappointed. Could not wait to get the 1080 up and running which is, as with all Sony AV receivers a simple task. I married the unit to the magnificent UBP-X800 UltraHD Blu-Ray player and the sublime KD-55XE9005 and it's the perfect threesome. Using the D.C.A.C function to calibrate the speakers is very easy and accurate, I was sat watching Planet Earth 2 in stunning HDR within half an hour. If you are thinking of purchasing a new AV receiver you will not get better than the Sony STR-DN1080 which definitely punches well above it's weight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great amp

STR-DN1080 18/09/2017 by iblock

Bought this to replace my previous DN860 which I had no complaints about. Just simply wanted atmos and HDR pass through. This amp is Everything I need. Detailed and controlled sound and atmos gives a full room filling effect. Can't complain. Nice user interface. The only thing I would find useful is to be able to isolate sound to individual speakers at a time so I could fine tune the equaliser. Not sure any amp does that though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0