RRP

€670.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
70

4.4 based on 70 customer reviews

45
18
2
2
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Faulty - so had to exchange for a new one

STR-DN1080 21/12/2018 by Neilski

Thought sub-woofer was not working so took it back to shop to test which was found to be OK. Kept checking all the settings on the amp but sub-woofer still would not work. Took amp back to test and confirmed it was the amp that was faulty. This was all very inconvenient as I don't live close to the retailer and the amp was swapped. I was also disappointed that it would not allow internet radio or Spotify etc.. without having to pay for a premium account.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

70 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound, software buggy

STR-DN1080 16/01/2019 by Mash1

Although the sound of the AMP is amazing and the features are very good for the price it is I have found the software to be very buggy. Every time I turn the AMP off I have to wait ten seconds as it will always turn itself and the TV back on. I wait for this then turn it off again and it is usually fine after that. Often when I start watching TV on the Samsung smart TV I have it will start the Netflix program and within a few seconds it will stop the program and revert to the HOME screen. It also likes to default to the "game" mode quite often while I am watching TV or while I am on my PC that is attached to the Video 1 option.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

great av receiver

STR-DN1080 08/01/2019 by plugtops

Purchased this to replace my old onkyo and what a difference the sound is bang on the interface is very easy to use and easy to set up. The sound is brilliant Great av receiver

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

7.2 Channel Home Theater AV Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/01/2019 by Skiz

Good solid build, power and sound. only lacks abit more detail on when displaying input information (shows on Av but not tv gui)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Atmos AV Amp

STR-DN1080 23/12/2018 by IanJM

I bought my DN1080 as part of 4K upgrade to my old TV and surround sound system. I selected it due to the many reviews and best in class awards. I added 2 speakers for Atmos functionality. Setup was very easy and fast. Sound quality is excellent and Atmos does give an expanded sound field. I am very pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Most boxes ticked

STR-DN1080 22/12/2018 by newbee

Early days but so far mostly good except FM connection is disapointing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Faulty - so had to exchange for a new one

STR-DN1080 21/12/2018 by Neilski

Thought sub-woofer was not working so took it back to shop to test which was found to be OK. Kept checking all the settings on the amp but sub-woofer still would not work. Took amp back to test and confirmed it was the amp that was faulty. This was all very inconvenient as I don't live close to the retailer and the amp was swapped. I was also disappointed that it would not allow internet radio or Spotify etc.. without having to pay for a premium account.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Super amp

STR-DN1080 17/12/2018 by Audio G

Excellent quality product, very easy to set up even for a novice, all menus self explanatory. Both the sound and picture quality are superb. Even using atmos in a 5.1 system is fantastic, the sound is so precise yet immersing you in a sound bubble.Playing back hi quality audio gives new life to the music. Fully deserves it 5 star rating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A Receiver that is rather special

STR-DN1080 11/12/2018 by Mart1080

I purchased the Sony STR DN1080 a month ago. As with most amplification; the item requires running in (48hrs) , as it can sound sterile straight out of the box. Spend some time setting up the Receiver with your source and speakers and you are then rewarded with a familiar Sony sound; a dynamic & enjoyable sound stage however, the DN1080 has additional qualities - the clarity & definition across its broad audio spectrum. Importantly, this injects a delightful sense of realism into Music and Cinema film. A serious choice for the heart of an entertainment system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

STR-DN1080 21/11/2018 by Karlos146

I brought this product about 3 weeks ago. The sounds is great. I also like the phantom speakers feature as well

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent sound

STR-DN1080 21/11/2018 by cleo8101

Finally got hold of this AV receiver after months of admiring it online. I paired it with Sony XF90 TV and Bose acoustimass 10 speakers and the results are mind-blowing. The sound for both movies and music is superb and ease of use and setting up even easier. Installing the AV receiver speakers cables was a bit tricky but doable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Loving the simplicity

STR-DN1080 09/11/2018 by AB123

Followed reviews from What Hi-Fi magazine and couldn't be happier. Simple to set up and sound excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easey to set Up

STR-DN1080 19/10/2018 by Johngorlston

I have had the machine for a couple of weeks now, what can I say, hard to find fault very happy with it. Easy to set up, remote easy to read (no clutter just essential buttons) I think, however, a better warning there are 215 pages in the Help Manual. I would have selected back and front page printing had I know.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound and great features!

STR-DN1080 14/09/2018 by Prodigy Square

Upgraded from pioneer and this avr has better sound and features. Zone feature work well to. I’m having issues with some devises failing to use the ARC feature. When connected the AVR keeps going to the home screen and is totally unusable until the device is disconnected. I have now opted to connect the devise straight to the TV instead and all is well. However, Sony must deal with the issue as other users have reported having the same challenge.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great features and easy setup option

STR-DN1080 12/09/2018 by Network analyst

Bought this and a 4k blu ray player for my media room, it was chosen as it was an award winner and has the features and inputs I needed. Setup was easy and following the on screen instructions. So overall very pleased with the product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great AVR, but lacks compatibility.

STR-DN1080 04/09/2018 by Fluorescent_Adolescent

I wish I had read more reviews about this AVR before... I have nothing to complain about the video or sound quality, it's just superb, Sony is always doing a great job. But Sony does have a dark past with compatibility, unless you have a Sony TV (which is not my case) you will have problems with ARC and HDMI Anynet+. Just so you know be prepared to deactivate the ARC and HDMI Control for your TV and Receiver if you don't want to have any glitches or lags with the video, apart from that , the AVR is everything you need. I have a PS4 Pro, a Sony UBP-x800 and a Samsung TV connected to the AVR, If It wasn't for the compatibility problems with the TV and the AVR, everything would be 100%, but I just deactivated the HDMI ARC and I am using a Digital Optical Cable to have the sound from the TV going to the Receiver. Apart from that I'm really happy with the product!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

sluggish, remote not working properly

STR-DN1080 04/09/2018 by Maxi23

Basically a good product, easy to use user surface. Unfortunately very sluggish, takes a while to switch from the different 'home' options to another. Remote not very responsive either. Can't always use the shortcuts/ selecting input on the remote, need to go to the 'home ' to select the related input.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Another great product.

STR-DN1080 21/08/2018 by GregC

I have been a Sony man all my life and bought this as an upgrade from my previous STR-DB780 and I am not disappointed. The setting up of the speakers with the microphone supplied was an absolute doddle, and the final result is superb, far better than my previous unit where distances etc. had to be put in manually. The clarity and range of the sound just has to be heard. Bluetooth receive and transmit was another feature that influenced my decision, and the ability to control the unit from my smartphone including playing music stored on my phone is a bonus. However.........I am also old enough to have a large vinyl collection and I was disappointed to find that there is no phono input as on my old unit. This means that I have had to invest in a preamp to enable my turntable to be used. I think this is a retrograde omission particularly as there is now a resurgence of vinyl.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Value for money, sound and pictures!

STR-DN1080 12/08/2018 by Jimny

Having had this receiver for a couple of months now (Aug '18) I can say it has achieved all my requirements. It plays !usic from my NAS, connects my TV box, disc player and TV together seemlessly and plugs into the network without fuss. The sound quality is excellent, as good if not better than higher priced boxes from a few years back. The picture pass through works fine and there are enough connections on the back to satisfy most peoples' needs. Looks good, sounds even better and you should shortlist this receiver at least. Only gripe is that the options on search for the NAS server are slow but by using the pad/phone app instead the problem goes away. No doubt better ones will appear in time but for now, this is the one you are looking for Obi-One.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony amp

STR-DN1080 05/08/2018 by Daveto

Had the Sony str dn 1080 about 2 weeks and am still learning what it can do. So far it produces excellent sound which is the main reason for buying it, the other features I’m adding a bit at a time. The Bluetooth is the latest I’ve setup, it seems to me the sound is a bit flat but I’ve yet to try different settings on iPod. I am using it in a 5.1 setup. It is years ahead of what my previous amp could do and look forward to exploring other aspects of it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Two stars only!

STR-DN1080 30/07/2018

Very disappointed with this. Firstly the positive is the sound is great but unfortunately the anynet feature does not work. I have a brand new arc compatible tv and a blue ray player and when anynet is set to on I could not see the amp menu on the tv so having researched a couple of blogs I switched anynet off and presto all devices worked fine but this meant I had to use an optical lead for sound. This is not bad as the optical is faster than arc and therefore lip sync is much better. Another disappointment is the amp menus take an age to appear on screen, it is really slow switching devices and I am not able to use the tv feature on the amp remote to switch the device to tv. To be fair to Sony they don’t guarantee this but having paired the remotes I was hoping with the new technology that would work but it doesn’t so you still have to juggle remotes and with the slow amp menu it is a pain. So sound is great but features are poor. I guess if you were using with a Sony tv it may be ok but with other brands you may get the same issues as me so do your homework before you buy and ask the retailer if these features will work with your equipment in advance. Trek.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

4

0

Best yet

STR-DN1080 28/07/2018 by Mick72

I bought this AV a month ago and now having been used for most types of broadcasts, I can say I am very pleased with the Audio quality across the range. In conjunction with my new Sony Oled TV and Sony 4K 800 Blu-ray player, the Dolby Atmos function is superb coming out of my Crystal Acoustic speakers. This AV truly enhances, movie sound tracks and music too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good all rounder

STR-DN1080 12/07/2018 by Odcrypt

The reason I bought this amp is that I seen great reviews and on the plus side it has Dolby vision through an update

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fine build quality and state of the art technology

STR-DN1080 20/06/2018 by JJak

This AV receiver gives me the versatility of combining UHD Blu-ray and Sky with my UHD TV. Works flawlessly. Picture and Sound are superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So pleased I chose this unit...

STR-DN1080 18/06/2018 by Streetly

Perfect unit for D-Atmos with Sky-Q and works and absolute treat. Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0