RRP

€490.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
114

4.6 based on 114 customer reviews

87
18
5
3
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony X800 UHD Player

UBP-X800 09/07/2017 by Aussie dean

Really happy with features, Sony have out done themselves. Built to a high quality standard , not cheap plastic. When you take out the box, the weight and build quality shows. Reminds me of the 1st DVD players and PS3 . Sound is fantastic from CD to Blu Ray. Pared with a Full Hd Projector on a 160" screen. Best equipment I've bought in ages

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Is it 4k

UBP-X800 24/04/2018 by Pjb2310

The 4K picture is poor compared to a blue ray disc on screen I brought to play 4K discs disappointed with the quality of playback

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

115 Customer Reviews

0

Poor Quality Playback

UBP-X800 26/04/2018 by SiWest

Viewing of discs is ruined by the continual jumping and blank screen when playing all discs. Hardly using it now and I am looking for a replacement. It will not be Sony.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Is it 4k

UBP-X800 24/04/2018 by Pjb2310

The 4K picture is poor compared to a blue ray disc on screen I brought to play 4K discs disappointed with the quality of playback

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Silent and amazing and stunning

UBP-X800 17/04/2018 by Fallen Butnotdown

A stunning player, with great picture from any Blu-ray, and a truly stunning picture from 4K UltraHD, the player is also very quick to start up and totally silent. Upscales all my music whether from CD or USB to an amazing quality of sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony UBPX800

UBP-X800 15/04/2018 by zen10

Bought this about a month ago to go with Ultra HD Sony TV which I have had for a couple of years. It is good to look at and have only watched one 4K disc so far which was excellent. Also watched parts of a couple of Blue Ray discs to "test it out". It does "upscale " them. Very happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great picture and sound

UBP-X800 13/04/2018 by JBgolf

Very satisfied with product would recommend to others. Only slight down side is finding items on the menu as there are so many

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Great piece of kit

UBP-X800 13/04/2018 by samurai1963

I bought this as I had purchased a 4K TV and decided to make full use of it. what a difference in picture quality over the PS3 I had been using to play BluRays before. Even standard BluRay discs are improved in quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Excellent produce

UBP-X800 12/04/2018 by NP52

Quality item. Easy set up. Was recommended to us by store representative.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Another great bit of kit from sony

UBP-X800 11/04/2018 by Goodgrief

Upscaling of standard dvd is very good

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

High quality video and sound output

UBP-X800 06/04/2018 by robsrockets

High quality video and sound output - but where is the counter display to show where you are in a movie or which track is playing on a CD. This is a serious omission on a player in this price bracket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Plays all formats

UBP-X800 02/04/2018 by CFB1

Very pleased with the X800 Blu-ray player, it supports 4K, 3D, SACD, DVD-audio, Blu-ray and DVD - upscaling non 4K discs to give excellent picture quality. It's super quiet, and we'll built. Only issue I'm having is with the play back of 3D discs, randomly I lose the picture (goes black) for a few seconds - hopefully Sony will release a fix soon..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

WILL NOT CONNECT TO WIFI

UBP-X800 24/03/2018 by TURBO MIKE

AS A PLAYER I CANNOT FAULT THIS MACHINE BUT TO CONNECT TO WIFI INTERNET HOT SPOTS IS USELESS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

6

0

Sony 4k review

UBP-X800 23/03/2018 by Machine

Was happy with my purchase but does not come with the 4k film that is advertised which is spiderman instead i received Inferno apart from that the 4k player is a great buy.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Very happy

UBP-X800 20/03/2018 by Mason123

Would recommend very pleased and happy with service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

fantastic bit of kit

UBP-X800 06/03/2018 by red rob

This must be the best Sony i have had and i have been buying Sony since the sixties

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great product from Sony

UBP-X800 24/02/2018 by MF69

After reading several reviews for various players I decided to go for the Sony and I’m glad that I did. Excellent picture and sound quality. The ability to play any file types that you offer it from either the usb slot or over your home network is the icing on the cake for me. Hi-res music sounds fantastic when hooked up with my sound system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

sony products

UBP-X800 21/02/2018 by gunner1

I Recently purchased a1080 amp and a 800 bd player,these items replaced some pioneer kit,which is not as good as it used to be!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Built to last

UBP-X800 21/02/2018 by Antonb

Fast set up and easy to use. Great picture and sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Full Specification

UBP-X800 13/02/2018 by And0

Excellent range of features for a reasonable price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super picture

UBP-X800 09/02/2018 by arthur1947

I have this since last week and am delighted with the player. Blue ray picture superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A cinema in your home

UBP-X800 06/02/2018 by Inorganic

Fantastic picture, easy to use and set up, add a surround sound system, get some popcorn sit back and you've got your very own cinema

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Plays pretty much all physical media disc types

UBP-X800 02/02/2018 by markg1811

Picture quality is excellent across all formats. The upscaling is very good for 1080 Blu Ray and DVDs. Disc drive is very quiet which is a nice change from previous players I've had. Particularly like support for SACD and DVD-A which I use frequently. The only downside is the lack of front display which is an annoyance especially when playing SACDs. The GUI is also a little dull.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Just Fantastic

UBP-X800 30/01/2018 by piszczyk4

Superb 4k quality picture 4k netflix and amazon video streaming SACD and Hi-res support Great quality built

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Does not support Dolby vision

UBP-X800 28/01/2018 by Johno_999

This was the flagship hdr player of 2017 and already it’s out of date. This player will not support Dolby vision and there will not be a firmware update for this and there isn’t a player to replace this. You have the x700 which doesn’t have the same features as x800 but apparently will support Dolby vision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Neat and good performance

UBP-X800 26/01/2018 by BonBon68

The unit is narrow and quite discrete so fits in easily with my other Hi Fi units. Particularly pleasing was the quality of it's playing of ordinary DVD's which, together with upscaling provided excellent quality replay. My only slight criticism is that the player duplicates features already available on my TV such as Netflix etc which seems unecessary

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

4