156

4.5 based on 156 customer reviews

111
29
8
4
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

157 Customer Reviews

0

Disappointing

UBP-X800 30/09/2019 by Ben57

There seems to be a problem with using USB stick containing movie (mp4) downloads. Keep getting a message that the file is corrupt or unsupported. But if you leave it for a few minutes then suddenly files are ok and you can view them. Had the same problem with a Sony TV bought at the same time but I have since replaced it with another Sony TV that doesn’t have this problem.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

All round impressive product

UBP-X800 17/09/2019 by Aztec51

This 4k ultra hd blu ray player has so much more - many apps including Netflix and Amazon Prime Video and terrific sound reproduction including HDD. Great value and very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very pleased with my UBP-X800 Player

UBP-X800 18/06/2019

I bought my player through John Lewis via the net. No hassle, arrived when stated; well packed and with a book of instructions. As it was replacing an existing BD all I had to do was link up the existing cables. When it first started it updated itself and went through the set up process without a hitch. Since then it has played CD, DVD Blu-Ray and 4K BD without any problems. I have also streamed from a nas a lot of music, mostly wav. The picture is excellent and the sound is a good few steps up from the player it replaced. It feels well made, feet grip enough to hinder sliding into position without lifting slightly and sit solidly on the glass shelf. Chassis is very rigid and just looks good. So far I am pleased with the purchase and would recommend it with confidence.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

good sound / picture ok

UBP-X800 08/05/2019 by Slimey

I brought the X800 a month ago to integrate into my q acoustics surroundsound system. the conventional blu ray discs are ok, not as good as my old Panansonic blu ray, normal DVD's again are just passable, 4k is when it comes alive. soundwise good clarity, definition and control. Streaming music Wav files from my server is excellent quality, up sampling of the AAC files is ok but still not as good as the Wav files as claimed by Sony so expect this to make a great deal of difference. Not many apps and no download of many popular apps available so a big failing there, Netflix fails every time although on my TV in the same room the Netflix app is perfect. Internet connection a long way from the router is good. Overall happy with the player at £230.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Reasonable Product

UBP-X800 06/05/2019 by 617S

Purchased from Retailer in Cheltenham UK. Seemed to be the obvious choice when buying a Bravia from same place. Works well with my KD55AF8B TV. Would've preferred more info thru the operating booklet rather than the seemingly hit'n'miss strategy of using the remote set to figure things out for yourself.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Great Upgrade

UBP-X800 17/04/2019 by Palfrey

This has been a worthwhile upgrade to my previous Sony Blu Ray player. More depth of colour and detail. The biggest bonus is it plays the Multichannel Super Audio CDs I have. Coupled to a Sony STR DH790 amp, and decent speakers. A great addition for Home cinema experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to set up

UBP-X800 12/04/2019 by Sueeee

Purchased about month ago to match new 4k tv easy to set up and use great value

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A good example of an excellent bluray player.

UBP-X800 11/04/2019 by Big7274

I have had the X800 Sony for about 3 weeks and it’s quality of picture, sound and ease of use surpasses any other bluray player on the market. A unit worth investing in . I also found the Wi Fi very strong and updating was quick. Go for it if you are in the market for one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning picture, whisper quiet

UBP-X800 04/04/2019 by Tall Paul

I bought this to link up with my Bravia KD43XF8096BU TV and HT-CT380 soundbar. It replaced a BDP-S570B which had always served me very well, so I was a little concerned that any improvements would only be minor. I need not have worried. I've been absolutely blown away by the picture quality, especially on up-scaled non-4K Blu-rays. It is simply breathtaking. Sound quality is excellent too and to top it all the unit operates quickly and silently.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great sound and picture.Poor interface

UBP-X800 01/04/2019 by fredcat

This has a great sound and picture. The machine feels solid and well built. But_ The remote is cheap. It has no number buttons and can not change the volume on the Sony AV receiver. There is no display on the disk player and now Sony does not support the Gracenote function, you only get a small T3 (or T4ect) in the corner of your large screen TV to say what CD track you are listening to, which is a bit pathetic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great product

UBP-X800 28/03/2019 by Clive 53

A very comprehensive product and the SACD is a real bonus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

First Class Blu Ray player

UBP-X800 11/03/2019 by bromsman

Very pleased with my UBP-X800 I've had many Blu Ray over the years and this is the best all the features but one you could want. Love the Bluetooth feed for headphones. Only feature missing is Dolby Vision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

When it works it’s superb

UBP-X800 11/03/2019 by Holmzirules

Purchased two weeks ago, kept freezing on movies, had to turn off and start again, tried updating and different cables ,no good,now returned for a different manufacturer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

Excellent but one small frustration.

UBP-X800 25/02/2019 by Dicker1966

This is a competent all-rounder with a lot of functionality inside one box but it also has a niggle that robs it of being a 5 star performer; it can't be converted at the point of sale to be multi-region DVD. If you have a large legacy collection, you can't play your discs and have to retain an older player, as well as this new one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Ideal addition to my system

UBP-X800 21/02/2019 by xxxxx10

Only have had the player for a couple of weeks but it lives up to my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

UBP-X800 18/02/2019 by Kungfukid

Only used a couple of times but so far the picture is very good and the machine is very quiet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid as a rock.

UBP-X800 23/01/2019 by Catfan

I bought this product a month ago after replacing my previous five year old 100% reliable SONY Blu-Ray DVD player because I wanted a 4K UHD DVD player. This player is so solid & looks very well built, lots of features & delivers fantastic picture & sound quality to my TV. Seems strange having no display only a green light to show the player is switched on but I'll get used to that. The UBP-X100 is very quiet in operation too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to install

UBP-X800 22/01/2019 by Tony451

Usual Sony quality and makes the operation fairly easy

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent audio and video

UBP-X800 20/01/2019

I've used Sony products for decade (TVs, Walkman, PlayStation, SACD...) and am always please with the product quality, both build and performance. The UBP-X800 is no exception. If you want excellent audio and video reproduction then this product is for you. If you want downloadable apps? Look elsewhere.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Intuative

UBP-X800 20/01/2019 by Nelly Dee

I have only used DVDs to date but have been impressed so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning Player except for.....

UBP-X800 17/01/2019 by Fallen

A Stunning Player with excellent and beautiful picture and stunning sound...the only let down is it's random pause and freeze on random 4K discs only mid way through a film or documentary which is disappointing as 4K is one of it's main Award Winning points. I can only hope a firmware update will solve this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

4k blue ray

UBP-X800 14/01/2019 by DG57

I originally bought a Xbox one X to play 4k blue ray disc as it's main use however it is a very fickle machine so took it back and replaced with this Sony player which I am so glad I did as it plays everything without hassle, excellent picture and sound and very easy to set up. Would have liked all freeview channels not just IPlayer and Demand 5 but there might be updates later !. I would have given it 5 stars if it had all the freeview play apps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony UBP X800 UHD 4K player

UBP-X800 13/01/2019 by Wingco_2018

Product was bought as a Christmas present but was returned for refund around January 6th. While giving an exceptional picture and sound it displayed intermittent loss of sound and vision on every Blu-ray and 4K Blu-Ray disc that I played on it. Most disappointing. Checking with the forums, the fault could only be addressed by turning off Deep Colour. This was a poor answer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It’s OK as a 4K BluRay player.....

UBP-X800 11/01/2019 by NaimGuy

.... and at £239 in the January sale, it was good value. Not the last word in picture quality (it’s no Oppo UDP-205, but is 20% of the Oppo’s cost and still available!). Overall it functions well and is OK.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Awesome multi-talented kit

UBP-X800 02/01/2019 by Brewdog

Not had this long, but seriously impressed. Bought for music skills as well as video. Video quality (and audio with it) great. Firing up a CD really shows off music skills as well - easily a replacement for one box hifi, almost up to separates standard. But then, a great bonus; via the Sony Music Centre app, can run music off my phone via wi-fi. Can load up a USB stick with music as well, all controlled via the app (can also control via TV). It's also a smart box, which is something of a bonus. Limited connections; to get the best of audio if not using 4K AV amp need HDMI or coaxial input to amp, having connected DVD player direct to 4K TV. Have I mentioned excellent upscaling for non-4K DVDs? I have not tried Bluetooth output to headphones yet, but hoping LDAC will make a difference when I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent 4k machine

UBP-X800 19/12/2018 by Brad478

I'm very new to 4k as I have over one hundred Blu-Ray movies so I thought I would jump on board. I've just purchased this player along with the Sony 55XF9005 and WOW! firstly I'm aware that their is no display probably due to Sony increasing space inside to make this a better machine also just press the button on the remote (display) and all information shows on screen as its no big deal, the machine loads up fine with no issues. When I took delivery of it I was quite shocked that Spiderman Homecoming was inside the box so this was a nice touch from Sony especially as it wasn't stated on the John Lewis Website, I decided to use the HDMI from the rear audio of the player and connect it to my Soundbar and was I amazed. Picture quality is clear to see bearing in mind I've constantly watched Blu-Ray so I could clearly see the difference and so could my children, we watched Spiderman and everything in the background is very clear, sharp with unbelievable detail where as normally it would tend to be slightly blurry on DVD or Blu-Ray also the colours are electrifying especially flames, lightning and explosions. All the apps worked well on the machine with no issues and basically this is a beautiful machine from the moment you take it out of the box and feel the weight of it you know it's quality. I personally wouldn't buy films that have been transferred from Blu-Ray to 4K as I wouldn't be sure of the quality so I will stick to buying new releases in the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent product

UBP-X800 11/12/2018 by Derek99

Very clear quality picture when playing a 4K movie

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great machine

UBP-X800 01/12/2018 by Brucech

Highly delighted - very simple to set up quickly, easy to operate with superb features. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No visible display!!

UBP-X800 11/11/2018 by Sieleecee

Bought this after reading up on 4K players available at the time, I was aware that it had no visible display, as this player is the slowest I’ve ever come across in terms of software and getting to the startup menu is kind of a stoke of luck rather than pressing a button, only if you put a disc in and close the door does it start correctly and go to the disc menu, not once has it actually started into the main home screen....this is very annoying and having a display would at least let you know what’s going on!! It’s yet to be seen as to whether the player will last more than a year because not once in around 5 Sony dvd/Blu-ray systems over 25 years has the player lasted the lifetime of the system, always skipping or plain just not playing at all.. because of the high praise of this device I’ve given them another chance. Playing Blu-ray or 4K discs looks exactly the same to me no difference in picture quality between them, or sound for that matter & i’m running on a Denon receiver 5.2.2 Atmos system on an advanced next gen of 4K screen. Films run amazingly well and everything sounds fantastic I just hope it will stand the test of time, that missing display though maybe I’d have chosen differently had I know just how slow the software startup is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

5

0

Easy to use

UBP-X800 08/11/2018 by Ebveracvm

I have only had the unit for one week,and find the ease and quality of the said unit very good. Although I do miss the apps I had on my previous one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent universal player

UBP-X800 01/11/2018 by DJob

Purchased ex-display, this player is slim and unobtrusive, quiet in operation, and has played everything I've thrown at it - 4k BLu-Ray Ultra HD DVDs, standard DVDs, CDs, DVD Audio, SACDs, and various streaming audio & video file formats (MP3, MP4, FLAC, Ogg, Aiff). The interface is simple and straight-forward & there are apps for the standard online music & TV services. A refreshing change from the noisy, clunky Samsung DVD player it replaces!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Bought for picture quality

UBP-X800 24/10/2018 by Billy 2 rivers

Bought a month now, great picture in 4K even streaming

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Quality multi purpose player

UBP-X800 23/10/2018 by Steve1987

Great peice of kit. Materials and finish used on this product make it feel like a very expensive machine unlike most consumer electronics today. Picture quality is amazing from standard DVD’s up to 4K HDR titles. Love the network feature so I can stream music from my NAS and love that it has Bluetooth output. Only downside as with most Sony products, is the graphical interface feels cheap and cluttered, wish you could remove apps you don’t want too. Mabye a LCD screen on the front of the unit would have been a nice touch too. Apart from that, can’t fault. Would recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Very solidly built & stylish piece of equipment

UBP-X800 24/09/2018 by Monitorlizard

Recent purchase to complement my 55" Sony OLED UHD TV.Does the job perfectly.Upscales normal dvd`s & BluRays to a very high level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fails to play many 4k disk titles properly

UBP-X800 16/09/2018 by Bluebook

Many titles simply dont play - they "stutter" and Pause/stop - usually half way through the film. I expect a new 4k player to play 4k Films. Some eventually play after firmware updates. but still having problems and reported to Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Great features

UBP-X800 08/09/2018 by Jack0018

I bought this blu-ray player as I thought it was the best on sale at the time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Feels like a quality product

UBP-X800 08/09/2018 by Col44

The player does exactly what you expect of it, my one small issue is no visual display of any kind.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's a Sony

UBP-X800 02/09/2018 by Watchmaster

I bought this to replace an existing Sony Blu-Ray player and upgrade to 4K. I bought it on the strength of my old player which has been faultless. This one is exceptionally well built, looks very neat and stylish and has some excellent features. It linked to my network immediately and, as such, provides a very reliable connection to the inbuilt apps. Looks better, works better and offers better features than any of the competition for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good quality product

UBP-X800 06/08/2018 by AnthonyE

I'm extremely pleased with this purchase, with Sony quality, ease of use and design. I would recommend this product, due to the fact that it also covers all DVDs, and not only Blu-ray Disks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not up to standard

UBP-X800 04/08/2018

Very poor Sony product. Colours not good, very slow to turn on and off. Jams too often. Terrible.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

4

2

0

Good build quality

UBP-X800 28/07/2018 by Mick72

I purchased this player in 2017 with use with an older Sony 4K TV, however it would not play 4K discs in 4K, as the electronic handshake on my older 4k TV was not compatible. However now having upgraded to a 2018 Sony TV, I can now say the 800 player picture quality across the range of formats is excellent, including the sound output.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bought to replace another make 4k player.

UBP-X800 20/07/2018 by Oakesy

Great producto at a very good price . Reviews in all related magazinescapable superb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony 4K Ultra HD Blu Ray player

UBP-X800 17/07/2018 by Gazchelski

I Bought this sony player to a replacement for another sony i had had for many years, the new one is an absulut dream, excellent picture Quality with online acess, hightly recommend this product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

UBP-X800 15/07/2018 by 18John

Very pleased with this product upgraded from previous Sony Blu-ray

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rely on Sony

UBP-X800 11/07/2018 by MDP1952

I bought this a few weeks ago to upgrade and replace my Pioneer blu-ray player. O what a joy, it's quiet and works perfectly, unlike the Pioneer which has always been noisy and problematic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Only the bestist

UBP-X800 09/07/2018 by Batmanluvu2

Picture quality amazing very happy with this item.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4K ultra player with limited features

UBP-X800 01/07/2018 by Wilsdon56

Good quality picture and sound with 4K and standard discs but not exceptional. Does not have, and there is no update to come unlike some, Dolby Vision and analogue audio output. Sony really should supply an update to add Dolby Vision because without, it is too expensive.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

First class upgrade

UBP-X800 29/06/2018 by GBFIU

This was to replace a previous dvd player that just stopped working. It was well worth the cost

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Really great quality product.

UBP-X800 23/06/2018 by Cambridgedon

Really happy with this player. Reassuringly heavy with a minimalist styling. The image quality is outstanding and even normal Blu- day dvds look great upscale.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fab pictures

UBP-X800 23/06/2018 by AlBay

Very easy to set up and the up-scaling is excellent. As for the UltraHD/4K the pictures are just amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Beautiful looks and fab features

UBP-X800 20/06/2018 by JJak

This machine allows me the flexibility of viewing all my DVD and Blu-ray discs and now UHD Blu-rays in amazing quality and includes great features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Outstanding Performance

UBP-X800 15/06/2018 by Q3 2015

Having always had Sony products, this one is an upgrade from previous Blu-ray ! Quite Superb quality, even more noticeable is the Sound fantastic. Great performance well done Sony yet again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Very Nice 4K DVD Player

UBP-X800 12/06/2018 by TVReviewer

Purchased this Sony 4K DVD Player after reading good reviews and also as the standard size of the unit will fit into an existing audio system stack. It will also upscale non-4K DVDs and can play almost any type of media including various CD types, unlike some players. Pictures and sound are excellent and the unit is relatively easy to set up - Recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Solidly Built - Top Player

UBP-X800 10/06/2018 by PAM57

Reassuringly well built and coupled with a first class picture makes this player an excellent choice. The only downside is that I would have liked to see a Dolby Vision firmware update. Other than that I have no complaints so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best player I’ve owned

UBP-X800 04/06/2018 by Keith1970

You won’t be disappointed when you playback your films through this bit of kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent

UBP-X800 26/05/2018 by TheBlueKoi

Excellent player, easy to use and really happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2