150

4.6 based on 150 customer reviews

117
20
6
3
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony X800 UHD Player

UBP-X800 09/07/2017 by Aussie dean

Really happy with features, Sony have out done themselves. Built to a high quality standard , not cheap plastic. When you take out the box, the weight and build quality shows. Reminds me of the 1st DVD players and PS3 . Sound is fantastic from CD to Blu Ray. Pared with a Full Hd Projector on a 160" screen. Best equipment I've bought in ages

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fails to play many 4k disk titles properly

UBP-X800 16/09/2018 by Bluebook

Many titles simply dont play - they "stutter" and Pause/stop - usually half way through the film. I expect a new 4k player to play 4k Films. Some eventually play after firmware updates. but still having problems and reported to Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

151 Customer Reviews

0

Quality multi purpose player

UBP-X800 23/10/2018 by Steve1987

Great peice of kit. Materials and finish used on this product make it feel like a very expensive machine unlike most consumer electronics today. Picture quality is amazing from standard DVD’s up to 4K HDR titles. Love the network feature so I can stream music from my NAS and love that it has Bluetooth output. Only downside as with most Sony products, is the graphical interface feels cheap and cluttered, wish you could remove apps you don’t want too. Mabye a LCD screen on the front of the unit would have been a nice touch too. Apart from that, can’t fault. Would recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It just works.

UBP-X800 02/10/2018 by Paddy

Easy to set up. Smart functions probably a duplicate of what you already have on your 4k telly assuming you have Netflix and Amazon etc. Lack of any display is not really problem as everything come up almost instantly on the TV screen. Plays normal Blu-ray's superbly. Ultra HD really depends on the quality of the recording . HDR viewing mode (where available) was automatically switched on by my 3 years old Sony TV so no worries there. Sound through my 7.1 system was superb. No problem so far.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Very solidly built & stylish piece of equipment

UBP-X800 24/09/2018 by Monitorlizard

Recent purchase to complement my 55" Sony OLED UHD TV.Does the job perfectly.Upscales normal dvd`s & BluRays to a very high level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fails to play many 4k disk titles properly

UBP-X800 16/09/2018 by Bluebook

Many titles simply dont play - they "stutter" and Pause/stop - usually half way through the film. I expect a new 4k player to play 4k Films. Some eventually play after firmware updates. but still having problems and reported to Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great features

UBP-X800 08/09/2018 by Jack0018

I bought this blu-ray player as I thought it was the best on sale at the time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Feels like a quality product

UBP-X800 08/09/2018 by Col44

The player does exactly what you expect of it, my one small issue is no visual display of any kind.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's a Sony

UBP-X800 02/09/2018 by Watchmaster

I bought this to replace an existing Sony Blu-Ray player and upgrade to 4K. I bought it on the strength of my old player which has been faultless. This one is exceptionally well built, looks very neat and stylish and has some excellent features. It linked to my network immediately and, as such, provides a very reliable connection to the inbuilt apps. Looks better, works better and offers better features than any of the competition for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very pleased

UBP-X800 08/08/2018 by Tony

Typical quality one would expect of a Sony product, extremely pleased with the quality, design and ease of use. Would recommend.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Quality 4k player

UBP-X800 07/08/2018 by Maestegtown

Good product, high quality image.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Bad experience

UBP-X800 07/08/2018 by Chas666

Unfortunately the device was faulty and had to return it! From what I did see, picture was very good, sound could have been better! Surprising lack lack of apps and ability to download more?

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good quality product

UBP-X800 06/08/2018 by AnthonyE

I'm extremely pleased with this purchase, with Sony quality, ease of use and design. I would recommend this product, due to the fact that it also covers all DVDs, and not only Blu-ray Disks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not up to standard

UBP-X800 04/08/2018

Very poor Sony product. Colours not good, very slow to turn on and off. Jams too often. Terrible.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Good build quality

UBP-X800 28/07/2018 by Mick72

I purchased this player in 2017 with use with an older Sony 4K TV, however it would not play 4K discs in 4K, as the electronic handshake on my older 4k TV was not compatible. However now having upgraded to a 2018 Sony TV, I can now say the 800 player picture quality across the range of formats is excellent, including the sound output.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bought to replace another make 4k player.

UBP-X800 20/07/2018 by Oakesy

Great producto at a very good price . Reviews in all related magazinescapable superb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony 4K Ultra HD Blu Ray player

UBP-X800 17/07/2018 by Gazchelski

I Bought this sony player to a replacement for another sony i had had for many years, the new one is an absulut dream, excellent picture Quality with online acess, hightly recommend this product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

UBP-X800 15/07/2018 by 18John

Very pleased with this product upgraded from previous Sony Blu-ray

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rely on Sony

UBP-X800 11/07/2018 by MDP1952

I bought this a few weeks ago to upgrade and replace my Pioneer blu-ray player. O what a joy, it's quiet and works perfectly, unlike the Pioneer which has always been noisy and problematic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Only the bestist

UBP-X800 09/07/2018 by Batmanluvu2

Picture quality amazing very happy with this item.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4K ultra player with limited features

UBP-X800 01/07/2018 by Wilsdon56

Good quality picture and sound with 4K and standard discs but not exceptional. Does not have, and there is no update to come unlike some, Dolby Vision and analogue audio output. Sony really should supply an update to add Dolby Vision because without, it is too expensive.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

First class upgrade

UBP-X800 29/06/2018 by GBFIU

This was to replace a previous dvd player that just stopped working. It was well worth the cost

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Really great quality product.

UBP-X800 23/06/2018 by Cambridgedon

Really happy with this player. Reassuringly heavy with a minimalist styling. The image quality is outstanding and even normal Blu- day dvds look great upscale.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fab pictures

UBP-X800 23/06/2018 by AlBay

Very easy to set up and the up-scaling is excellent. As for the UltraHD/4K the pictures are just amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

This is the business

UBP-X800 20/06/2018 by Smartmart

I really can’t fault this machine it really is all singing all dancing. Make sure you get an hdmi 2.0+ cable to truly appreciate the awesome 4K HDR picture. Tons of configuration options to suit all home theatre setups.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Beautiful looks and fab features

UBP-X800 20/06/2018 by JJak

This machine allows me the flexibility of viewing all my DVD and Blu-ray discs and now UHD Blu-rays in amazing quality and includes great features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3