RRP

€549.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
592

4.5 based on 592 customer reviews

370
190
21
6
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent lens and good all in one camerea

With GPS 13/04/2016 by Malc1300

Wanted a good zoom lens but did not want a carry around loads of interchangeable lens.Every thing I need in one neat package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Poor wireless connection

With GPS 21/06/2019 by Manxkippr

Great camera and excellent quality photos BUT the WiFi connection is useless. The Imaging Edge app is rubbish for sending photos to my iPhone and I have now given up trying.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

595 Customer Reviews

0

A light camera with an excellent zoom range

With GPS 25/06/2019 by 0000001

I bought this camera to replace a Sony Alpha 350 that due to me getting older was proving to be on the heavy side when fitted with a larger zoom lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hx400v Compact Camera With x50 Zoom

With GPS 24/06/2019 by Tab2

I Updated To This Camera & So far It's Fab On Auto Modes & Manual The Best Pic's Of The Moon I Have Taken On A Camera .If You Need A New Camera You Will Love This One .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great camera easy to use

With GPS 23/06/2019 by colsecurity

bought a few week ago the colour quality is very good it just does everthing i want

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

With GPS 22/06/2019 by Alupolis1979

I bought this camera almost a month ago and I can say it features everything a non pro photographer would love to have. I deleted a star just because one of the reasons I bought it was because I wanted the time Lapse feature but after the purchase I realized that it was not available in Greece.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor wireless connection

With GPS 21/06/2019 by Manxkippr

Great camera and excellent quality photos BUT the WiFi connection is useless. The Imaging Edge app is rubbish for sending photos to my iPhone and I have now given up trying.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Totally Brilliant Camera

With GPS 19/06/2019 by Greenbird

I am a Birder more than a photographer. Having purchased an expensive SLR with interchangeable lenses I found the effort of changing lenses outweighed any advantages. I purchased the Sony Bridge Camera, immediately was able to get some great distance bird shots and within 1 hour of purchasing the camera I was taking remote photos from my smart phone using the wifi capability. Amazing, brilliant camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera full of features

With GPS 19/06/2019 by peterhew

ive only had the camera two weeks and although im 60 years old its my first real camera and im loving it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My second Sony Camera

With GPS 11/06/2019 by UlsterSam

I bought this camera as a second hand, it was extremely well looked after and is still as good today as it was when it was new

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

With GPS 11/06/2019 by Little one

Recently purchased to use on different subjects to my partner. The magnified image is brilliant for a fixed zoom lens. I just love the second auto focus facility that takes multiple shots in low light situations, and produces the best image from those shots. Still getting to grips with the features but looking forward to exploring with this camera. Really happy that I purchased it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

HX400V

With GPS 10/06/2019 by jojocolvin

Bought this to replace my last Sony camera. It is superb. Beautiful photographs ... Easy to use. A super supercamera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy for me as beginner

With GPS 04/06/2019 by JaneS2

I bought this to replace an SLR and 300mm lens which I never used because of the weight carrying round. I have taken lots of bird photos to help me identify them and was amazed how well they came out. Not used many of the features but point and shoot on auto plus fast shoot . Hoping I can gradually learn the features and how to use aperture, speed etc to make photos better. I use maximum magnification regularly without a tripod- I never expected such good images. I also found the camera comfortable to hold compared to others in the shop. Downside? I found reclaiming the voucher money stressful as I am not good at IT and did it incorrectly somehow ( on my third attempt) so had to send pictures again. The app on my tablet to download the photos changed without me knowing which was confusing and I don't like the ads I now get every time I change folder in my app.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera! Definitely worth the money!

With GPS 04/06/2019 by Jvod

I bought this item about a month ago, when it arrived, I was already impressed. It features an impressive 50x Optical Zoom, and another 50x Digital Zoom. The battery life is amazing, I used it for around 18h before the battery depleted fully. The camera is nice to hold, very ergonomic and features a place to put a strap on, so you don't drop it by accident. This camera can also be mounted onto a Tripod, which is very useful. The camera features many different modes for taking photos and has a built in app store, for different camera features. The lens is 55mm and this therefore means lots of different lenses can be connected, filters etc.. The camera also has a hot plate, so different, external accessories can be connected. Overall, 5 star camera, great price, great specs. Overall absolutely amazing. Would most definitely recommend!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera

With GPS 30/05/2019 by Leeky

Has all the features you could need, focus close up can be a bit hit and miss but nothing you can't work around. My first Sony and my first Bridge camera. I would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera for the money

With GPS 25/05/2019 by Sooz 52

I wanted to rekindle my interest in photography and wanted a digital camera that was easy to use , comfortable to handle , good picture results at an affordable price .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera!

With GPS 24/05/2019 by Skyrocket

I have only been using this camera for a short time but I have already taken some great photos. I bought it to replace my old Pentax, which finally gave up on me on a day out to the races. The battery life is very good but I would suggest buying some spares if you intend taking a lot of photos. I am particularly pleased with my photo of a full moon. If you are looking for a camera to take some seriously good photos, you can't go wrong with the Sony HX400V.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Camera

With GPS 24/05/2019 by lesricky

I bought the HX400V a couple of weeks ago and am very pleased with it and it's performance, It easily matches my Canon 60D at a lot less wait and picture quality is very good. Very pleased I bought it and have only used this camera since.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lense

With GPS 22/05/2019 by MikeyOf Aires

Great camera for beginners to advanced users, can be difficult to use the menus when having no experience

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Replacement

With GPS 15/05/2019 by Marty123

I bought this to replace a much older Nikon with a 300 zoom lens. So far very impressed with the features, but a proper user manual would be a help. Much higher resolution and much less weight to carry round.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lots of features

With GPS 09/05/2019 by Saabman 93

I bought this camera a few weeks ago to replace a smaller one. I am extremely pleased with it and will know more when I go to the Monte Carlo F1 Grand Prix.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features just asI required

With GPS 01/05/2019 by Trotsky cat

Great camera easy to use good zoom. a Nd great pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Camera!

With GPS 25/04/2019 by jodes27

I got this camera for Christmas last year and I must say, it has changed my photography/recording style. It is very simple to use and is my first camera. For anyone looking an easy and simple camera I 100% recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Because its a Sony

With GPS 25/04/2019 by Gina9165

For the Zoom Pic Quality And I like a Sony easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good zoom beginners camera but poor instructions

With GPS 22/04/2019 by Russh

The camera feels good to handle and it zooms in close to the subject but the resolution seems little better than a high end smart phone (which, admittedly cost three times more and don't have that zoom). The instructions downloaded from the internet are dire. The camera has built in instructions which are also next to useless. It's a camera for beginners, but the instructions were not written with beginners in mind.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

All round camera.

With GPS 21/04/2019 by Kev G

I have use the camera for aviation and for family shots and the results are excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

With GPS 12/04/2019 by verhavomit

I bought this as my DSLR had become too heavy and awkward for my arthritic hands. This is a great camera, easily fits in a small bag for motorbike rides. I love the tilting screen, no bending down. Also the eye sensor for view finder or screen is brilliant. Highly recommend this product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

With GPS 31/03/2019 by Lesley13

Extremely good value with way more features than I had realized when I actually bought it. It's great on automantic; but gives lots of oportunities for experimentation on manual mode. Highly recommend. Easy to use straight away, but a little effort is needed to master all the wonderful features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little machine!

With GPS 27/03/2019 by ProBono

I bought this camera two weeks ago to make better photos about my products. I am a complete novice, but I already made some outstanding photos. I try to get out of the pre-set modes and discover all of its features. I bought a 80cm x 80cm photo studio tent and a basic tripod as well. I love this camera. It is not too heavy, the zoom is incredible!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An amazing little camera

With GPS 25/03/2019 by dave52

I bought this camera to take on a seven week holiday in New Zealand as I didn't want to take my DSLR plus extra lenses. I was amazed at the capabilities of this little camera, and didn't miss my DSLR at all. The HX400V was capable of anything the DSLR could plus much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The Superior Lens

With GPS 19/03/2019 by Walkman15

To me having used Nikon and Canon for the last 35 years , The Lens on this camera makes all the diffrence. Most cameras of the Type have good programs, like the Sony, but they do not have a lens to compare to this Zeiss. Its smooth in operation and if shooting action the auto focus is very good, shoot 3 pictures clusters 1 will be in perfect focus. In other makes you would be paying £1000+ for this quailty. Great work SONY

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

With GPS 09/03/2019 by Pam44

I bought this camera a month ago. I have used a DSLR camera for years with the different lenses, but it’s getting a bit heavy for me now. This was a perfect replacement. I took it away with me, it was much more compact, and I was able to take lots of lovely photos. Very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony HX400V is an excellent camera!

With GPS 09/03/2019 by lucky user

I bought this camera 3 years ago and I am very satisfied!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

To soon to know

With GPS 07/03/2019 by Brian1951

Bought about 6 weeks ago only tried a few test shoots seems OK , going on a tour in May will give it a good test then

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features - love it!

With GPS 10/02/2019 by Judith2016

I bought this camera about a month ago and am really pleased with it. It is not too big and heavy to carry and has a fantastic zoom. I have not used all the features yet but have used the burst on some wildlife and with the zoom really pleased with the quality of photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressed so far!

With GPS 08/02/2019 by adrian1652

I have very little knowledge of photography and I wanted to step up from my old compact with a view to learning more about photography and being able to take good pictures in a range of situations including promotional shots for my gardening business. I researched many bridge cameras and SLRs and opted for the HX400V. Features that attracted me were the favourable reviews concerning the zoom lens, the electronic viewfinder with automatic eye detection, plus the camera being in the right price range for me. So far I have only experimented with the camera on auto setting and outdoors in good light - so a long way to go yet! However, I am already really impressed by the ease with which I can take clear images of subjects both close up and at distance. I was worried that the EVF might be fuzzy and not helpful - I needn't have worried, it's fine, and the automatic switch over between screen and EVF is one of the reasons I chose this model and not the HX350. So I am feeling happy and confident that this camera will serve me well and I am looking forward to learning more about it's features and therefore about photography in general..... in time this might justify the next step up to a DSLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wireless Tranfer & in genral all the facilitys

With GPS 02/02/2019

Very very good for the Price and well made. easy to use giving realy good Photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic camera light to carry easy to use

With GPS 02/02/2019 by Chevron56

Bought this camera to carry when walking getting fantastic photos with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Pretty pleased

With GPS 01/02/2019 by Shanman

I was looking for a 'point and click' camera and have always thought Sony might be out of my reach but the CyberShot was right on my budget. The Wi-fi and NFC fearures take a little mastering but are greatb features. The zoom is far better than my previous camera and the picture quality is fabulous

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good all round camera

With GPS 01/02/2019 by Snowy52

I bought the camera as a replacement and very happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

With GPS 30/01/2019 by Shooter008

Its very good and had many beautiful features. I would recommend it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great camera

With GPS 29/01/2019 by TTTTS

very easy to take pictures and videos but still trying to link to my phone, its only been 2 months and I have given up. Will ask my daughter to help as Sony are not easy top contact. Maybe they will now contact me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good camera

With GPS 21/01/2019 by Amav

I bought the HX400v to replace a Nikon DSLR with 2 lenses. It does the same job but its lighter, quicker and with virtually all the same features & functions.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

time for an update and this one delivers

With GPS 19/01/2019 by emeles

I had an older version for some 5 years which was my camera of choice when not using a full digital SLR. The new model is a great upgrade and does just want i wanted from a bridge camera. Love the simplicity and familiar functionality of the camera. Still getting to know it but have high expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice and to use

With GPS 17/01/2019 by Dafydd1234

This is a great camera. It is easy to navigate through - so you can find your preferred settings quickly. It feels good to hold and seems robust and well made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

With GPS 17/01/2019 by Keenan

I purchased a few weeks ago, not been able to really use properly due to a busy schedule or bad weather but I have took a far zoom pictures of birds and nature but on full zoom of 1200mm pictures at the wrong lighting does go a little pixelated but not anything to worry about, all round good camera though, apps are a little pricey but worth the money if you have it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony H400v

With GPS 16/01/2019 by bluenose59

Still getting used to the camera but so far I am impressed with the product and its functions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Feature packed

With GPS 16/01/2019 by Willow33

Bought this to move up from my compact camera and gain new photography skills, I made the right choice, it is delightful to hold, which is important, the features are immense, the zoom is amazing, with no distortion of quality, I have a lot to learn with the camera but I know I made the right choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Works like a dream

With GPS 14/01/2019 by Capatain Pugwash

I brought this for my wife for Christmas as she loves taking pictures with her phone but want something better and oh my this camera is fantastic full of features and I would say is better than my SLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

surpsingly good

With GPS 13/01/2019 by mikehertford

easy to use bridge camera; would like to be able to use "Sony Home" on my W10 PC - but is incompatable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

With GPS 12/01/2019 by Jackopics

This is a great everyday camera, picture quality brilliant. Ease of use is brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camea

With GPS 11/01/2019 by ann e

great zoom good battery life picture quality excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Bridge Camera overall

With GPS 11/01/2019 by youngdelboy

As a Wedding Photographer I find the silent mode very useful especially when filming the marriage ceremony where normal camera clicks are unwelcome. I would not use it for the rest of the wedding as the camera is not as quick a my SLR. As a wild life photographer I find the 50x zoom is great for stabilised images as my previously owned Canon 60x zoom did not stabilise. The image may not be all that clear at such distances but, to be fair, the lighting conditions in Winter time are not always good. I can't wait for Spring and Summer to really put the camera through it's paces. I don't always carry my SLR with it's different lenses (too cumbersome often) so I always keep the Sony handy in the car ready for instant use. Very handy! It's lightweight, sturdy and pleasant to carry, not at all cumbersome. I have missed several potentially great wildlife shots due to the long time it takes to process the picture (nearly 6 seconds in most modes) during which time you can't press the shutter again until the processing message disappears, along with the subject you were filming. My solution is now to use the multiple image mode which I stumbled upon by accident or use the Intelligent Auto mode. Focusing in any mode is not instantaneous and there is a risk if you press the shutter to focus too far it takes an out of focus picture.I particularly like the rapid response from using the viewing screen to looking through the viewfinder without the need to toggle. The camera modes are clearly displayed on the screen and in the viewfinder. Initially I found this camera frustrating to come to grips with. On reflection, probably no worse than any other make. Taking all things into consideration, for a Bridge Camera it functions well once you master its quirks; it is remarkably good value and happily,I am beginning to like this Sony HX400V camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Best present ever!

With GPS 09/01/2019 by Pamelaaaaar

I had this camera as a Christmas gift and I love it! I an a total novice hobby photographer but am getting used to the great features on the Sony HX400V - it is easy to use and as always with Sony products, it is great value and a quality item.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Loads of features

With GPS 07/01/2019 by Duece

This was a Christmas present l am well impressed upto now, however l have yet to master all its capabilities.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

All the features are excellent .

With GPS 06/01/2019 by Jap72

I got this camera for Christmas and I have tried all the settings except for the video and all are v/good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

With GPS 05/01/2019 by Np79

I bought this camera a month ago and took it it India for a family gathering. Photos were great and it was so easy to use. Love the fact you can send the photos straight to a mobile phone so they can be easily share!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality pictures

With GPS 05/01/2019 by Nanakiki

We purchased this as it is supposed to be able to transfer pictures to a phone or tablet via wifi, so far we have not been able to get this function to work, it does recognise our devises through wifi but just continually says connecting and that's as far as it goes!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great future

With GPS 01/01/2019 by Sindile

I bought this camera week ago and I'm loving it.it makes good quality pictures and it is best and easy for as a bigger to use.

0

0

0

home

With GPS 30/12/2018 by kwatro

until now everything is good but sometimes the image takes some second to process and I find that bad when I want to take some fast photo

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superb camera extremely high quality shots

With GPS 14/12/2018

Someone I knew had one of these cameras & when I saw the shots they had taken I couldn’t believe it & had to have one it’s just amazing I had a canon that you interchange lenses very good camera too but I couldn’t have captured the shots I’ve taken with this one it’s amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great features

With GPS 09/12/2018 by wolf01

outstanding pictures day or night, you get brilliant pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

reasonable value

With GPS 08/12/2018 by beaconsboy

Brought this camera to replace one 10 years, seems reasonable value

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great value for money

With GPS 04/12/2018 by Yamjak

Super features for a lightweight product and lens is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0