67

4.3 based on 67 customer reviews

38
20
5
2
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

68 Customer Reviews

0

Sony HX80 Brilliant.

DSC-HX80 08/10/2019 by bownsaway

Small compact lightweight great for holidays and trips going on walks you can take it anywhere in your pocket or handbag takes fantastic photos can be used by a novice or professional a true all rounder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pleasantly chuffed

DSC-HX80 27/08/2019 by Seed Drill

I've had this camera for a couple of weeks and am pleasantly surprised by the picture quality. I wanted a small camera to carry around when cycling. I always use manual settings so I can't speak for the auto settings. I've found it easyish to use, it has a good focussing system. I've brightened the screen & view finder since I found the default settings too dark. The LVF is a bit fiddly but I have used it on occasions & I like the tilting screen which helps improve some compositions. As expected hand held shots taken on high zoom aren't brilliant without a tripod. I haven't used all the features yet but the camera is achieving what I expected.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A nifty compact camera

DSC-HX80 26/07/2019 by davidoff1

I am pleased with my purchase. The camera has the benefit of a pop up viewfinder and a tilting screen so as to take acurate selfies. In addition there is a pop up flash.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not bad, could be a lot better

DSC-HX80 17/07/2019

For the price I expected more, What is the point of giving partial professional features like Aperture Priority etc but with NO Raw, only Jpeg.... Confusing to say the least. Its not great in low light and produces a lot of noise. My only use now for this is to be used as a point and shoot camera which at this price I could have done a lot better.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

It's a great little camera!

DSC-HX80 23/06/2019 by Pentahawk

I bought this product a week ago and it is superb!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

my first impressions, the first month of use.

DSC-HX80 06/06/2019 by whippetman2

i was immediately impressed with the small size and the "heavy" weight, build quality and the zeiss lens. the weight gives one confidence and stability in use. I detest llightweight cameras(i also use an "old" nikon dslr). It had to be VERY GOOD to equal my (now Broken) TZ60, and it does! the most impressive feature for me is the viewfinder, which contrary to a lot of reviews, I find perfect, giving a crystal clear image, actually brighter than the scene itself which aids focussing. Macro, was hard to find, until I realised it was automatic when you held the camera close to an object, all in all, a worthwhile addition to my nikon and a better replacement to my previous compact "travel" camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

To complex

DSC-HX80 28/05/2019 by Mr Very Angry

Not at all intuitive, to complex for its own good, why o why do you have to download apps to transfer photos to Your PC I honestly can’t see the point , well disopointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Ergonomically very poor

DSC-HX80 29/04/2019 by Blighty

This camera is too fiddly to use, even the on/off button is nearly impossible to operate. Setting up NFC and Wi-Fi is tiresome and the software has been updated but not the instructions, which is very poor. On the plus side it takes good pictures and movies.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great compact camera with special features

DSC-HX80 24/04/2019 by manrow

Brilliant compact camera, with optical viewfinder and 30X zoom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Small but powerful

DSC-HX80 21/04/2019 by FrankDavid

I bought the camera before going on safari and obtained results that compared well with a bigger and heavier digital reflex camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great pocket camera

DSC-HX80 01/03/2019 by Happysnapper19

I bought this to replace a large SLR and have to say it's great. Picture quality is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great zoom feature

DSC-HX80 14/02/2019

This was a Christmas present so couldn’t use it straight away, but once it was charged up I was raring to get started and I wasn’t disappointed. What a Super camera, really sharpe and clear photographs also the battery seems to last along time,so loads of pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A camera that makes photography complicated.

DSC-HX80 23/01/2019 by MrSnowman

Put a week aside to go through all the menus, to understand all the menus, to think of the scenarios when you might want to use each of the menus, and to read the on-line 230 page Help Guide. My head hurts. The flap that covers the USB terminal is too flimsy. ISO only goes to 3200.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Not bad for the price

DSC-HX80 21/01/2019 by bird of prey

Camera a reasonably OK but did find it fiddly to work with - probably because used to working with DSLR camera

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very good camera but could be better

DSC-HX80 19/01/2019 by Lazy Eye Metaphor

Feels great to handle and produces some excellent results. The software to connect to a smartphone or PC works okay but can be a bit frustrating to get started. I just wish Sony had chosen to have a slightly bigger sensor (say 1/1.7) to improve low light performance and put clear daylight between this camera and that of a smartphone. That would mean the lens would have to be slightly bigger and no doubt increase the cost, but I think it would be worth it. In some circumstances my Xperia XZ1 smartphone, with its f/2 maximum aperture, takes better photos than this camera! Nonetheless compared to other equivalent cameras in the price range, the HX80 is maybe the best choice. Overall, I'm very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worth the extra.

DSC-HX80 05/12/2018 by Movedaway

Paid the extra over HX60 to get the Zeiss lense and viewfinder. A good decision if you are serious about your photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

very good compact camera

DSC-HX80 26/11/2018 by batman56

i bought this for a holiday to oz it was great camera battery lasted ages was away for 3 weeks only charged it once and took over 3000 photos graet little camera fiited nicey into my pocket start up couble of seconds and worked well in low light amd did not have to use flash most times

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good features throughout

DSC-HX80 22/11/2018 by ChrisCJ

Very pleased with the performance of my camera overall

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Returned due to no timelapse feature

DSC-HX80 15/11/2018 by Bedlam303

I returned the camera after I discovered that Sony had excluded this model from being compatible with their own timelapse-feature.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good small camera

DSC-HX80 04/11/2018 by Mikey blue eyes

Good travel camera for all those times when a DSLR is just to big to take. The results I have had are very good so far. The zoom is great and quick to focus and the results are nice and sharp even at the longest telephoto setting. All round a good quality compact camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Camera Excellent Eventually

DSC-HX80 28/08/2018

I've not used the camera a lot yet but it has been excellent so far, including wireless photo transfer using playmemories. Also love the remote control using the phone. My issue is that too get the applications updated I had to enter a valid Sony user ID and password on the camera. To do this I had to reset the password on three different Sony sites before I could login on the camera. I think your account needs to be on the PlayStation network although I fail to understand why my account is not common to all Sony sites.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good close ups, and zoom reach

DSC-HX80 21/08/2018 by CragFace

I like the fold away flash and especially the foldable viewfinder that comes in handy for those sunny days you sometimes get in England. However the battery life seems poor even after three hours charge and the menu system seems quite unintuitive.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

0

Try one more time

DSC-HX80 16/08/2018 by Sue52

I love this camera......but. This will be my third in four years. First one got stuck in macro,warranty was extended. Broke again a week later. Purchased another as repair was expensive but the cheaper without gps. The shutter got stuck going in and out a few days after warranty ran out again. So now on third. Let’s hope it’s third time lucky. Other than that I love this camera and if I can find a cheaper repair service I will get the other two repaired for the Grandchildren.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Small, easy to handle and many features

DSC-HX80 14/08/2018 by JVD46

I bough it last week and I am still exploring all the possibillities. However it is great that you can start immidiately to use the camera in its automated feature.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Video quality is not great

DSC-HX80 17/07/2018 by Neelam

Some pictures came out blurred/unfocussed, and video quality is not as good as stated however, I'm still getting to know the camera. I think i need to seek professional advice on how to optimise the settings. I wish there was a resource we could access on how to use these cameras instead of just having to find out everything for ourselves.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent camera.

DSC-HX80 16/07/2018 by Brianko

I have had this camera for nearly three months now. All I can say is, please remember the size of the sensor! This camera is capable of excellent results. I love my camera. It is like a Swiss army knife, a use for everything, if you use it right!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

a really good camera

DSC-HX80 14/07/2018 by loopylou

I have had this camera for a while now and i love spent so long looking for the right camera im so glad i brought this one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Brilliant little camera

DSC-HX80 11/07/2018 by Mickmo2

Bought 2 weeks ago super little camera with amazing zoom lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

A feature packed camera

DSC-HX80 04/07/2018 by Chog1010

A feature packed camera which mostly gives you stunning quality pictures. Only let down when shooting at night as high iso generates lots of noise. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great features

DSC-HX80 17/06/2018 by Cuckoo

Bought two weeks ago to replace hx50 as I felt I needed a view finder so far I am really pleased with the camera but I am still getting used to the features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

easy to use light in weight nice to put in pocket

DSC-HX80 12/06/2018 by johnnyhx80

This camera is great. It takes brilliant pictures it also got excellent zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very handy cam.

DSC-HX80 01/06/2018 by Foreigner

Athough only had this for a very short time, it so neat and convenient to use after my Canon bridge. Great quality camera and same with results although still learning about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quite Complicated!

DSC-HX80 25/05/2018 by gary 1563

Still learning all the ins and outs of this camera. A lot more complicated than I expected. I am just a happy snapper and really wanted a camera with a good optical zoom that I could simply point and shoot. It obviously has lots of good features but on reflection, I should have done a bit more homework before buying. My fault but I do now regret having made this purchase. However, I will just have to perceive and get used to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1