RRP

€579.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
309

4.4 based on 309 customer reviews

171
109
15
8
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 20/03/2017 by Old Man1952

Very good lens so much so that I have just sold off my Nikon 200-500mm zoom as this gives much better results in the real world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could be better

DSC-HX90V 21/09/2015

Bought this a couple of months ago to replace an HX50. Having a viewfinder is great though having to 'erect' it every time is a pain and also makes it vulnerable. The camera is a bit smaller than the previous one, perhaps a bit too small. It also doesn't seem to focus well with some subjects / light conditions. The GPS is nigh on useless, it takes too long to get a fix. One improvement over the HX50 is the ability to disable the movie button which is still badly positioned. It is also much more cumbersome to use - having to launch 'apps' to do things like control from your phone. It was so simple and much quicker with the previous camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

309 Customer Reviews

0

Great little camera

DSC-HX90V 14/06/2019 by Sheila42

Purchased for my better half who insists on a camera with a viewfinder. Not many about, manufacturers take note. So far she’s quite pleased with her results. Taking a bit of time to get used to it after 14yrs with her previous camera, but we’re getting there.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 06/06/2019 by Antoinettef89

Very happy with it. Camera is excellent piece of kit

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing pictures

DSC-HX90V 28/05/2019 by penniless

This review is based mainly on picture quality. Having only had the camera a week, I used it at Chelsea Flower Show. Pictures taken on a sunny day and inside the grand pavilion. Couldn't see image on screen and as I wear glasses, found the viewfinder useless unless I took my glasses off. Couldn't hear the beep notification for focusing (noise from crowd). Quite a few pictures were overexposed and the colours haven't been captured. Inside, the picture quality varied from good to overexposed. My daughter's phone took better pictures. My old Sony HX20 was just as good.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Very pleased. Only one negative comment.

DSC-HX90V 15/05/2019 by BS Portsmouth

A very good, high quality compact digital camera for use where my larger bridge digital camera is big and bulky to carry when out and about. I'm still learning how to use it to its full capability, but the potential looks very promising. Overall, I'm impressed with the camera and I would have given a 5 star rating, but the viewfinder (essential in bright conditions) is rather flimsy and fiddly to operate making me wonder when it will break off. When it is raised, the auto eye sensor is tricky, especially if you wear glasses. A bit of product development ought to sort this out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good optical viewfinder and zoom range

DSC-HX90V 30/04/2019 by John at Malvern

Impressive zoom, but needs tripod on max zoom. Optical viewfinder essential in outside bright sunlight. Only used once to date, after owning for one week. Most impressed with overall abilities. Video and panoramic abilities were a requirement for purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Little Camera... packed with features

DSC-HX90V 25/03/2019 by Lisa762

I was delighted to receive this camera as a birthday present. I am used to using a bigger DSLR camera, but wanted a small camera that was lightweight, that I could tuck away inside my coat, that would take great pix and capture fantastic memories. On a recent trip to New York, this camera certainly did not disappoint. From capturing fantastic skylines to people shots, this compact was on point. I loved the zoom and the control ring that enables you to change things like aperture easily. For me a perfect holiday compact and more. Still lots of features/modes to investigate, but loved the ease at which I could transfer images straight to my phone using the "Play Memories" Sony app. This enables you to instagram images on the hoof and easily back up images to cloud storage. The pop up view finder was also very useful in bright conditions. I invested in the leather camera case/shoulder strap (on special offer at the time), which I can highly recommend too... I like to have a neck strap for all my cameras and this gave me peace of mind that I would not drop my Sony into the Hudson river!!! Also, this enabled me to easily tuck the camera away inside my coat, but still ready for action. I have also bought a clear protective film for the screen ( I am a little bit clumsy - so worth an investment). All in all, really pleased with my new Sony HX90V... I can see myself using it a lot!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent camera

DSC-HX90V 22/03/2019

purchased specifically as an upgrade to an existing compact camera and used on recent 2 week tour in europe

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-HX90V 21/03/2019 by His Honour

I bought it just before Christmas and am pleased that I did

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the pop-up viewfinder & GPS

DSC-HX90V 18/03/2019 by IpsRich

What a great camera in a small package. One criterion when evaluating cameras was that I wanted a Zeiss lens as I have always had very good results with them and this is no exception. The ability to use the pop up view finderhas been great, especially in strong sunlight. I have used the rotatable rear screen to be able to take photos over the heads of crowds. If you have the camera on for some seconds before taking a photo, the GPS provides you with a position too, which has been good after a touring holiday to locate exactly where the photo(s) was/were taken. Also useful being able to download apps to the camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely pocket camera

DSC-HX90V 11/03/2019 by Cazg

I bought this camera a few weeks ago to replace my Panasonic LUMIX point and shoot. I was having problems with dust on photos with the LUMIX (my third) but I really liked the features. I particularly wanted a view finder as I much prefer this to a screen and found that there are so few small cameras with this feature. I already have a Sony Alpha with a couple of lenses but wanted a small camera such as this. The only disappointment was the lack of macro setting although I am managing to get round this.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use! Good quality photos and lightweight.

DSC-HX90V 06/03/2019 by Jedi25

I bought this as an alternative to the heavier DSLR which I have owned for 4 years. I am delighted with its versatility and high quality photos!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very well made and so compact multi featured

DSC-HX90V 05/03/2019 by barni81

the ideal camera for traveling no extra lens etc needed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good little camera

DSC-HX90V 24/02/2019 by CPC31

Only bought a month ago so not tried much. Certainly a lot of helpful features and different options to give a lot of control over your pictures, if you want, or just point and shoot. The zoom quality is excellent. Transfer of photos to my phone very easy via NFC, but I wanted the camera to transfer to my iPad as well, via WiFi, but this seems to be very tricky. Instructions are for WiFi to a computer, but this has also proved difficult. No problem via cable using Windows, but the Sony software seems to fail on my laptop (to be fair that might be due to the way Windows 7 has been set up as an unrelated program also failed!).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use features

DSC-HX90V 16/02/2019 by Gerry28

I bought this product 2 months ago and it exceeds expectations. Small but very powerful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat compact and easy to use camera

DSC-HX90V 13/02/2019 by Gunner495

I have not bought a Sony camera before but found it easy to use and it felt familiar after using it for a few hours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

just the beginning

DSC-HX90V 05/02/2019 by albie

still trying out camera and getting used to playing around with it,experimenting at the moment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-HX90V 31/01/2019 by Alan 11

Happy with this camera and it's ease of use. Just point and click as they say. Great quality pictures and very compact design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Value for money

DSC-HX90V 24/01/2019 by Mediaeval Man

A compact with many features but pretty easy to use. Special effects are good fun and a decent optical zoom. Bought at an independent retailer at £80 cheaper than John Lewis and so on thanks to Sony's cashback offer. It seems the big boys didn't want to pass this on to the buyer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small Product Big Results

DSC-HX90V 23/01/2019 by okrnaingkeers

Bought for my husband 2 months ago. Having waited while lenses were changed and missed lovely photo opportunities for years this camera is a miracle. No waiting, small enough to take anywhere and best of all, NO missed photo opportunities. Thank you Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New camera replacement.

DSC-HX90V 15/01/2019 by Gez17

We bought the camera because our old camera needed replacement,we where happy with the previous camera so we just replaced like for like as we knew the model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Some important upgrades from my previous model.

DSC-HX90V 14/01/2019 by Older Bill

I bought my HX90v a couple of months ago and have already used it for several home events and a holiday. I've owned a HX10v for 6 years before that and its getting rather battered so decided it was time to get a new compact camera. I use my compact cameras not only for photos but also Blu Ray quality video. Professional photographers will tell you that a compact will never produce the same quality as as full size DSLR and they are perfectly correct. However a compact is far more versatile and you are far more likely to have it with you than if you have to lug around a big heavy DSLR and a variety of lens, which this little camera can replace. Lets face it, if you’ve not got your camera with you then picture quality become academic. Don’t be fooled into thinking this is just a point and shoot camera; it has many features now that can rival full size DSLRs. It will take some time to get to know all the functions that are available. The on camera guide is useful but you will probably want to download the full guide to your phone as well to read while you are travelling. There are several worthwhile additions to the HX90v above and beyond my old HX10v. The first and most important, in my view, is the pop up EVF. I’ve had several compact cameras now and they all suffered the same problem of reflections in bright light; either directly on the screen or of my face reflected on the screen and I’ve not found a worthwhile solution. The pop up viewfinder is that solution. It has to be a pop up to allow the LCD screen to fill the back of the camera and to flip up so the camera can be used like an old faithful Hasselblad twin lens reflex camera. Very useful when using a tripod or holding the camera upside down for overhead shots. As bonus is that you can set the EVF and screen to show different displays. I choose a simple view with level gauge for the EVF and a detailed setting display, similar to DSLR for the LCD most of the time. The next is the ability to truly use manual focus. Its a little bit fiddly to get it right because the image magnifier doesn’t always show the area you want in focus and you need to use the rear control wheel to move it to the right place while at the same time holding the shutter button half cocked! That though is far better than the majority of compacts with no manual or zone focusing only. Manual focusing is via the front control ring which can be easily used for a number of other functions set by the Fn button on the back of the camera. When I'm not using it for focusing pictures I use it to change the aperture or speed setting when in priority modes. For video I tend to use the front control ring for zoom which is x30. The third best upgrade is the ability to connect the camera to your phone (Android or Apple). Very useful at first for taking those remote shutter release photos when on a tripod or you want to be in the picture. Far more useful is the ability to transfer lower resolution pictures from the camera to my phone which means I can now send pictures over the internet anywhere I can get a signal on my phone. Its very quick and simple to use either function. You can’t send AVCHD video to your phone though; so you have to remember to switch to lower resolution before you start to shoot; if that is your intention. I’ve got very used to using the Map View function built into Play Memories Home which showed the location shots. My old HX10v used to show magnetic orientation too. Orientation doesn't seem to be recorded in the HX90v.You'd be amazed at how often the pictures I’ve taken turn out to be in a totally different place or direction to where I thought. The GPS position information is stored in the metadata of each picture but sadly, as of October 2018, the function to use it disappeared from Play Memories. However there does now (Jan 2019) seem to be some kind of lower spec replacement. The co-ordinates are held in the properties of the picture, so you can enter those into any mapping software. So all in all I’m very pleased with my new little camera which I’m sure will give me several years service bouncing around in various pockets and bags while I’m on my travels (buy a hard case for travelling) and hopefully the Map View functions, which also include a travel log, will be restored at some point soon. I hope you get as much enjoyment out of your hobby as I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera - loads of practical features

DSC-HX90V 08/01/2019

I bought this for my wife who loves to take pictures while we are out walking. She is looking forward to trying it to capture sunsets but will have to wait a while as we don't get many good sunsets where we live. The zoom feature is a bit strange. It zooms Ok but the fine focus is not very good. Have to adjust with the control ring to achieve good focus.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features but....

DSC-HX90V 06/01/2019 by jwr1616

I bought this a month ago and it is a great little travel camera, unfrtunately its NFC doesn't work with my phone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Camera

DSC-HX90V 05/01/2019 by Źsss

The camera is fine but trying to get the cashback is a nightmare, Sony need to sort things out

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

perfect for Home and Holidays

DSC-HX90V 03/01/2019 by CaptFlint

I was looking for a replacement for my old Lumix TZ3, with a small, high quality long zoom range, especially at the extra wide angle end (24mm) with the ability to set up options like B+W in camera. not only was I so impressed with the functions of the camera, menu set up same as my a6000, but the quality of the jpegs were so impressive, that my Son went out and bought his own HX90, then later my other son requested the same model for his Christmas, as did another friend's son on my recommendation. it does all the things my Sony and Canon SLRs do but in a tiny package for travel photography, shame it doesn't take RAW, but for the price that's acceptable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

DSC-HX90V 21/12/2018 by Charles Barraball

Have used this for a while, mainly on auto mode. Brilliant results! The settings wheel is too easily moved. The pop-up viewfinder is fiddly to use, as is the pop-up flash. And both are vulnerable to knocks. Not easy to download pictures other than with a cable, , and the socket is not USB2 - it's almost proprietary. The cable socket cover is fiddly. The button controls are positive in action. There are myriad functions, easily read, though often nested without logic. Deleting bulk photos is a case in point!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Feature Packed, but has trouble focusing.

DSC-HX90V 08/12/2018 by Lastboyscoutuk

Nice little feature packed camera, which great picture quality. Zoom is good, but I found it had trouble focusing. Even if you zoomed out a little further. So did the camera generally. Would get in focus, then go blurred. However, I found the macro pretty good. Shooting with your mobile phone is complicated and often the app doesn't do what you want it to do. Using the camera itself is much better. I would have liked the option to instantly send a photo straight to my PC and you can't send selected ones. With cashback, the camera is good value, so I'll most probably stick with it, but far from ideal

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

A great walking around camera.

DSC-HX90V 03/12/2018 by AJEM

Really compact for a camera with such a large zoom. Fits in your pocket so is always on hand so you don't miss a shot.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-HX90V 28/11/2018 by Steve I

I haven’t had much chance to use the camera since purchase but the excellent zoom facility was an important factor

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features. .

DSC-HX90V 26/11/2018 by Clivey

Very compact but quality product. Meets all my requirements

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat, quick & easy to operate

DSC-HX90V 25/11/2018 by Pollarded

I have bought this camera to replace my former HX50 which has given me excellent service since I purchased it brand new many years ago. The extra facilities on the HX90 will enable me to take better pictures which I need working in the housing industry..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

All features included

DSC-HX90V 24/11/2018 by Rae123

All features that you could want in a compact camera. Small and easy to carry around and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact superzoom.

DSC-HX90V 22/11/2018 by KezG

I purchased this camera from my local dealer as an upgrade to my trusty older model. The camera is compact and has a sturdy, well-made feel to it, but it does require a quality case to protect it when not in use. There's are lots of settings and features to have fun with for either standard photos or more arty shots. The zoom range is impressive and is the selling point for this model. Image quality is crisp and accurate in colour reproduction. Some reviews say that the images are dark when at full zoom.. this isn't an issue in good light and I'd imagine any camera of this spec would struggle in low light. I like this compact camera a lot.. it's my "go-everywhere camera" it will be with me even when I'm out and about with my DSLR

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good in some features

DSC-HX90V 14/11/2018 by JanNewm

I bought this s a month ago and am very pleased with the different features and neat holding BUT I am extremely disappointed that I cannot take a picture, zoom in and edit to save the zoomed in photo.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Quality camera.

DSC-HX90V 11/11/2018 by Scott4747

Best quality compact camera.Brilliant super zoom camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Upgrade from HX50 to HX90V

DSC-HX90V 09/11/2018 by Cycling Syd

I bought this camera for a forthcoming visit to Australia and New Zealand, it's compact, light and ideal for carrying around. The main reason the GPS that I will use on my return to tag photos of when and where they were taken

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A great choice

DSC-HX90V 05/11/2018 by Stediflite

Great camera with an exceptional zoom capability. As a reasonably experienced DSLR user I wanted to avoid taking my kit on on holiday but I wanted a compact which still has the features of the DSLR. With the HX90V I was not disappointed. One feature which really impressed me was the ability to transfer the pictures from the camera to my phone which I could them upload to the cloud - no worries about filling a memory card! My only criticism is the size and position of the power button, a tad fiddly for my fat fingers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-HX90V 29/10/2018 by Paul France 44

Very satisfied to use the item since I bought it. I just wonder wether features such as viewfinder and flash are not fragile. Time will tell.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

This is a great camera

DSC-HX90V 20/10/2018 by Ian Al

I’m an SLR user from way back, but over the years I’ve come to appreciate the ability to upload photos to share them and to work on them digitally on different devices. I’ve also been looking for something smaller. I had no time for rear screens because of glare and find that composing photos on them is not my thing. So after some looking about I settled in the HX90 and I’m really pleased I did. I love the pop up viewfinder and use it all the time, I can send my pics to my phone by Wi-fi easily and the zoom is great. It even has an F stop ring ‘old school’. It’s super small...possibly a bit fiddly for those with larger hands but that’s a compromise I can live with. It’s good for beginners and is capable of delivering decent results for more experienced users too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very pleased...

DSC-HX90V 16/10/2018 by BarneyCat

I bought this to replace an HX50V which has served me well for a number of years over many thousand photographs. The popup viewfinder is a great addition in bright sunlight, the GPS is much faster at locking and the processing on "intelligent plus" photos is better (although perhaps a little overdone on the green in landscapes - but I can live with that). Very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera packed with features

DSC-HX90V 14/10/2018 by G400

Bought this camera from my local Sony shop and so glad I did, great photos and the zoom function is fantastic. Able to go from auto to manual if you want is also valuable but as a point and shoot this camera is hard to beat imo.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great all purpose Camera

DSC-HX90V 13/10/2018 by LPK 17

I brought this a month ago for a trip to Australia and I wanted a small, light multi focal length camera. Although the picture quality is not as good as a DSLR it is good enough for a pocketable camera to capture the moment!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact ++

DSC-HX90V 11/10/2018 by Maqq

Excellent little camera. I have used it quite a bit since purchase. It is small enough to carry in hand so as not to miss those fleeting shots. Good pics at lower zoom and needs support for max zoom.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little compact camera

DSC-HX90V 11/10/2018 by Danni_4

Bought this camera to take on safari. great little camera, easy to use with a good zoom

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony DSC-HX 90V

DSC-HX90V 09/10/2018 by Mike0647

Had to buy a replacement for Samsung as the lens had become contaminated and no obvious way of cleaning it out. Reviewed several similar spec cameras in my price range (up to £250) and settled for the Sony, after a good discount. The camera has twice the optical zoom of the Samsung @ 30x (24 - 720) and many useful features such as viewfinder, tilting view screen, 4K stills, WiFi, NFC and many more. I also bought a better, dust proof case for camera and accessories to reduce the risk of similar lens damage. Early days but it seems to be a great little camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Magnification

DSC-HX90V 08/10/2018 by ChrisRead

I bought the camera a month ago and I am very happy that I did

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

WOW JUST WOW

DSC-HX90V 06/10/2018 by ResPriest

Great point and shoot for the traveller easy to use great vlogging camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

very compact easy to use

DSC-HX90V 24/09/2018 by dave 81

took on holiday as a small camera and it did what it says

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Masterfully engineered!

DSC-HX90V 20/09/2018 by Charlie 99

Loads of features. I've been playing with it for about 2 weeks and I'm a third of the way through. I particularly like the diopter adjustment on the Pop-Up eyepiece. I can adjust it for use with or without my glasses!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loaded with features

DSC-HX90V 19/09/2018 by Jonnners

I bought this camera after a lot of research, it was multi featured and easy too use, I will probably never use most of them but they are good to have. The best thing iOS to have a proper viewfinder, an Oled screen no less>

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A good camera for traveling

DSC-HX90V 18/09/2018

I like it for traveling. It's very small and offers many possibilities.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Super compact camera

DSC-HX90V 17/09/2018 by Grumpybear

I bought this a month ago and so far I am impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-HX90V 12/09/2018 by GazP

Very easy for an old couple to get used to using and remembering how to

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pocket rocket!

DSC-HX90V 12/09/2018 by Sonny1

Bought this camera recently after checking many reviews. Very intuitive controls and excellent view finder. Zoom facility works extremely well and the camera is compact enough to carry in a small bag or your pocket. Came with spare battery, case and 16Gb memory card in the deal. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, but cannot use as guides rubbish

DSC-HX90V 06/09/2018 by MeTwo

Bought this fabulous technology but guide & manual provide little useful intelligible material so still little idea as how to use most of the non-basic features! As someone who has other not-dissimilar cameras I find this is NOT a user friendly camera!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

Excellent travel camera ...

DSC-HX90V 01/09/2018 by Roger99

Pros - small size, good zoom, in-built GPS, good quality images in good lighting, EVF. Cons - poor quality images when using high zoom in moderate/poor lighting; fiddly-to-use EVF.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Versatile, great value compact camera

DSC-HX90V 31/08/2018 by Rob P

Really pleased with this little camera. I bought it to reignite my interest in photography after seeing my DSLR gathering dust in a cupboard for a couple of years and increasingly recognising the limitations of my phone while on a recent trip The strong set of features including fully automatic and manual control, brilliant optical zoom, versatile screen and electronic viewfinder all wrapped up in a tiny body means I can shoot just about anything I want and where I want. it’s a take anywhere camera which is so much better than the phone in your pocket. The diminutive size and tiny buttons can make it a little tricky to operate to begin with, especially those more used to larger DSLRs but you do adapt and the advantages far outweigh the short term learning curve. There is plenty of choice for this type of camera but I’m very pleased to have decided on this little Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect holiday camera

DSC-HX90V 24/08/2018 by Paul3333333

I had a Panasonic bridge camera which I had owned for about 9 years. It was a good camera but a bit bulky to carry around. I found that the Sony HV90V had all the features I wanted but in a compact package. So far very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent camera for such a small device

DSC-HX90V 22/08/2018 by Pintofbitter

I'm happy I bought the camera but I find it difficult to learn how to use it properly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great telephotos

DSC-HX90V 22/08/2018 by Irrelevant question

This camera takes excellent pictures and I particularly like the telephoto ability. The various operating buttons are fairly small, in particular the on/off one which I am not keen on. Not clever if wearing even thin gloves for example. As usual these days with most technology the options available are far more than I want or need but maybe I’ll catch up eventually. I particularly wanted a viewfinder but have to say that the pop up version provided seems a bit fiddly and quite fragile and in fact it did fail quite early on. By brightening the main viewer I found that shooting in bright light wasn’t really a problem afterall so perhaps the pop up one isn’t really necessary afterall. I deliberately chose a model that was a year or two older and the price reflected this, which along with a £50 cashback offer made the deal attractive to me. Four stars for the quality pics. and lens. Three stars for design.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Starter Camera

DSC-HX90V 15/08/2018 by Nosboy

great camera, no faults, in my opinion a couple of design faults however like powering off when you close the view finder, couple of others, but overal great beginner camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Camera review

DSC-HX90V 12/08/2018 by Tim2k

Lovely little camera ideal for holiday and general days out great features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GReat camera photos

DSC-HX90V 10/08/2018 by Moss15

Took great photos with good resolution but it suddenly had a fault, screen immage and view finder images upside down or mirror. Decided to buy new camera rather that repair.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Really clear pictures

DSC-HX90V 07/08/2018 by NewbieA

This is a great little camera that has an amazing zoom lens and takes really clear pictures. I just wanted a camera that would fit in my handbag and be simple to use. It does all that I wanted. The scene selector makes it so easy to just take a quick but lovely photo. I've only played with it quickly but can't wait for the next holiday to use it properly!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

pleased

DSC-HX90V 06/08/2018 by sue mt

so pleased to find a compact camera with a viewfinder these day and added bonus of tilt screen. manual controls for speed aperture and iso so do not miss my SLR, only thing would probably have liked is manual focus. have not given the camera 5 stars as have only used it a few times so far

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-HX90V 25/07/2018 by Antcallaghan

Top notch camera. So easy to use and top quality pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So close but not quite there.

DSC-HX90V 25/07/2018 by Graham H

I’ve had this camera for about a month now and generally it’s very good. There are two areas where I feel let down. The auto focus is slow, particularly when trying to photograph wildlife and action shots. I find the view finder far too small for me to use to compose pictures. However, some of the features are excellent and the presets are very good too.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great pictures

DSC-HX90V 25/07/2018 by Carian

I spent hours reading reviews on compact cameras before settling on this camera. I knew I needed a viewfinder after the problem of glare taking photos with my previous camera. The viewfinder, ease of use, WiFi and GPS were what sold it to me. I've only had it couple of weeks but really happy with quality of pictures. It also is genuinely compact and can fit in my pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Quality pocket-sized camera.

DSC-HX90V 24/07/2018 by Whip2

I always like to carry a camera when I am out and about and chose the HX90V because it is the smallest camera that I could find in it's class. It is lightweight and easily fits in my trouser or jacket pocket. I find that the auto programs are suitable for most photos but I still have the ability to manually adjust one or other of the settings should the subject be more demanding. I particularly like the viewfinder and find it particularly useful in very sunny conditions when the screen is difficult to see. I also tend to use it when shooting videos because I find that by doing so I can keep the camera steadier for longer periods.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super Little Camera

DSC-HX90V 22/07/2018 by jmeg

This camera was purchased to replace an earlier version which I unfortunately lost.The camera had moved on but the reason for selection in the first place place remains , the quality of the photographs, the zoom lens, the ease of use and the ability to fit in my trouser pockets. I travel extensively with a lot of walking and having both a camera and bins slung round my neck I find most annoying. being able to take shots quickly on the spur of the moment is a big bonus. A great product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact with a viewfinder

DSC-HX90V 21/07/2018 by MGBV8

Has the facility to use a viewfinder rather than just the screen which can be difficult in sunlight

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

fantastic features in tiny body

DSC-HX90V 18/07/2018 by Jitb

I have a Sony nex 7. However this has become my go to day to day camera. The picture quality in day light is fantastic and the view finder is high quality. The size is so ideal for evenings. The auto focus is quick and responsive. it even has an editing function to make teeth whiter. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0