RRP

€99.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
426

4.3 based on 426 customer reviews

239
120
38
10
19
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Customer is thrilled

DSC-W800 26/01/2018 by Smudgei

I am so glad I bought this camera. I am a bit of a technophobe so I was hugely relieved to be able to understand the instruction leaflet. Additionally, I have had no problem working out how to use its various functions by myself. It is a small, compact camera and I love using it. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially to the more technically challenged!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slow operation- flash fires 4 times for Red Eye

DSC-W800 11/07/2015 by mickey c

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago to take photos on a recent holiday. I selected this camera as it had excellent reviews on Techradar which rated this camera in the top 10 for compacts. It was also considerable cheaper than the competition but the old adage "you get what you pay for" definitely applies. The red eye reduction setting means the flash activates 4(!) times before the photo is taken. I lost count of the number of action shots I lost or people moved before the photo was taken. Also the flash intensity meant some photos were over exposed and some were poorly lit. Video footage kept on going out of focus even though the subject moved very little.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

426 Customer Reviews

0

Great gift

DSC-W800 07/06/2019 by Dizzy Dee

We brought this for our 11 year old daughter, she had shown an interest in having her own camera so we got her this as a starter she has taken no end of photos and loves it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very compact

DSC-W800 30/05/2019 by JennyMP

Not used it much yet, but have found it easy to take pictures, download them and get good prints. Have not managed to attach the wrist strap!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not up to the great Sony standards I expected.

DSC-W800 28/05/2019 by Geeshot

I realise that this is not one of the more expensive cameras I have used, but as a basic product am disappointed with it. On pressing the shutter the camera is slow to react and you get the actual shot a fraction of a second after. Often after the person has finished posing for the photo and is walking away!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-W800 24/05/2019 by Megan1

Purchased to keep a record of our lovely litter of Jack Russell pups and for a trip to Malta. Easy to use and good quality pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dissapointed.

DSC-W800 30/04/2019 by BLEASIE

I purchased this in a hurry as I was told Memory Cards were no longer available for my existing camera I have had for over 20 years. When it arrived I was surprised how flimsy it looked

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great wee camera with easy to use features

DSC-W800 21/04/2019 by jp1970cat

Great small camera with easy to use features and software.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slim styling

DSC-W800 19/04/2019 by Nattydread

I bought the camera only a few weeks ago. I like it but have not fully tested it.

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ok, but a bit slow.

DSC-W800 18/04/2019 by Stevecanfixit

I wanted a compact camera to take with me on trip to Cairo. My main camera is a Nikon DSLR. I know Digi compacts have come along way but still find them slow to actually take a picture after framing up, often missing the moment I was looking for. Its OK for still stuff, like a pyramid. But to capture my boys expression whilst kissing the Sphinx, too late.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fine for special occasions

DSC-W800 17/04/2019 by Pokènn

Great camera. If you're a starter it's got a easy mode

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to carry in pocket or wallet, simple to use

DSC-W800 25/03/2019 by redeagle

main purpose for buying this camera was to have ready and easy access to its use; eg bumping to old friends, making recordings and taking photos without worrying about storage and accessibility. etc

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 24/03/2019 by Tiatot

I received this camera as a Xmas gift and have just used it on holiday. It is easy to use, takes great pictures with little altering apart from the zoom and is compact to fit into my handbag. Really pleased with my gift.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr J Urquhart

DSC-W800 19/03/2019 by Johnny32

I have not actually used the product fully as I bought it for my forthcoming holiday. Took sample photos and they appear very good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little snapper

DSC-W800 12/03/2019 by Ejaydee

Bought this for a short trip to Oz, for quick snaps on the move. So far, it has performed faultlessly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact pocket handy camera

DSC-W800 05/03/2019 by John15

Bought it to replace an older model which I had used for over ten years. Completely satisfied and the picture quality is superb. Very good price paid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to handle

DSC-W800 27/02/2019 by robinn

I have not used the camera much. I have not yet looked at the online instructions but I can see that I will need to study them carefully to obtain maximum benefit. There are many more features than there were on my old digital camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat camera

DSC-W800 27/02/2019 by jemadu

Bought this a couple of weeks ago and am very happy with it. It is neat and handy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

DSC-W800 21/01/2019 by Linda48

Good value product, exactly what I needed, easy to operate

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Camera !

DSC-W800 19/01/2019

I bought my W800 camera a few weeks ago and am very excited about this little powerhouse.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to use

DSC-W800 16/01/2019 by ratgirl

got it for christmas. and i love it. good features and lightweight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

small camera with great features

DSC-W800 08/01/2019 by Supercc

I have a Sony A37 SLR and HDR-CX240E video camera and this is a great little camera to compliment them

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use, simple features

DSC-W800 07/01/2019 by Colin56

I was given this for Christmas by my son, he thought that with this I would take better pictures with the camera rather than using my mobile or tablet. I have shaky hands, he thought it could deal with this problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I have had the same camera before and it was very.

DSC-W800 05/01/2019 by Sunbeam 66

I have had the new camera for Christmas and it is a very good camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-W800 05/01/2019 by jaso

I bought this camera as a christmas present, its really easy to use and as an occasional user the picture quality makes you look better than you acctually are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I wouldn't recommend it.

DSC-W800 16/12/2018 by Pugilist_king

It does the job if you don't care too much about the photography aspect. But if youre looking to take next-level photographs I do not recommend as this camera is limited.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact and easy to use

DSC-W800 19/11/2018 by ZumbaGirl

Ideal size to fit in your pocket. Easy to use and follow.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Seems to be idiot proof

DSC-W800 07/11/2018 by lindylou1951

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago ready for my holiday.So far I am getting on very well with it and have not had any major disasters. It is easy to use but so far I have left it on the easy setting as I don't want to make a pigs ear of anything. I seem to be getting good photos ( mainly views ) but am very happy with the camera. I used the movie setting today and was pleased with the result. It is a good replacement for my last digital camera and I am sure I made the right choice .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good wee camera for the price

DSC-W800 07/11/2018 by aberfeldy

I bought this a few weeks ago as I was looking for a cameras I just fit in mytrousew or shirt pocket and this fits the bill. For the money it is an excellent small around camera with a good flash and spec. Not tried it out fully yet but from what I have tried I think it will just be fine.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Handy sized camera

DSC-W800 25/10/2018 by Smokeraiser

My previous elderly Sony camera was do good that I did not hesitate to buy another one when I lost the original.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

not good outdoors

DSC-W800 21/10/2018 by gammo

i took the camera on a day out at the swanage railway gala , but it does not have a quick shoot app. so ,by the time an engine comes into view ,and you press the shutter , it only takes a picture as the engine is passing ,because it has to focus on the subject,,also ,it is not very good on the shadow side ,,, nothing shows up clearly until one uses the computer to lighten the subject ,, all in all , not the best ,,unless sony can come up with some information as to speed shooting and shade picture taking

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

0

1

0

Neat camera at a good price.

DSC-W800 30/09/2018 by Lizzieb

I bought this camera 10 days ago as my old one had broken (not a Sony one I must add) & I needed to replace it. It has taken me a time to find out how to access the different camera settings I really do miss a detailed instruction manual ( I found the online one was not quite as detailed as I would like) . However it is a great little camera & good value too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding Image Quality!

DSC-W800 27/09/2018 by KingSmillBG

I was impressed with the quality of the images when transferred over to a 1080p monitor, it is also a great value for the quality as this camera exceeded my expectations!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good value lower end of range

DSC-W800 25/09/2018 by Tom H

An easy to use camera with good quality photos. Movie feature has tendency to momentarily go out of focus on occassions even in low dynamic situations.I have tried to get some advice on this from Sony but lm affraid to date lve had no response, which is pretty poor..its compact size allows makes it easy to carry around...had the focus issue not been present l would have rated this camera higher.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bad

DSC-W800 24/09/2018 by Virgipor

It doesn,'t work. When i turn it on , it is locked

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Quite good

DSC-W800 18/09/2018 by fieldgun

I find the image not sharp enough for a 20 mp camera

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A great little camera

DSC-W800 18/09/2018 by squirrel48

Bought to replace a failed Sony DSC-S500. This DSW-W800 does not feel as well built but it is smaller, lighter, and has got a bigger and clearer screen. It does everything the old camera did and has a single button to operate the video facility which is much more convenient. Meanwhile the stills picture quality is good and the navigation menu is fairly logical. All in all a good quality compact digital camera for less than £50. Let's hope it lasts as long as the old one did.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Too Light

DSC-W800 08/09/2018 by Gracy

Sent back as this item was way to light and felt it was made cheaply, thought if i put it down and a gust of wind came, it would blow over or if someone knocked the table it would be on the floor broken. I was very disappointed as i really needed a nice compact camera, but made of metal and heavy feel would have been best, instead of it being plastic and light. :(

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Ease of use

DSC-W800 08/09/2018

Takes good quality pictures. By this I mean very clear and sharp. Very compact in terms of size. Choice of two colours when purchasing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

EASY TO USE

DSC-W800 07/09/2018 by janey 64

I bought this camera a couple of months ago for a trip to LA. Very lightweight. I would say give yourself a little time to learn about the features and settings on this camera. I struggled a little taking photos of fireworks. My previous camera had a setting for that. Otherwise takes good photos and I am pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera

DSC-W800 01/09/2018 by Stimmo68

Nice size to fit in my handbag or pocket. Good battery lifd too

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SEE BELOW

DSC-W800 28/08/2018 by GEORGE W

UN PACKED; YET TO USE; ASK ME AGAIN IN OCTOBER 18

0

1

0

nicely compact

DSC-W800 20/08/2018 by jimrod12

i am very happy with this purchase it is nice and light and very compact and has all the features I need I can recommend the sony dsc-w800 to anyone

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 09/08/2018 by Gansey

I am not up on technology so I use the camera in easy mode so just aim and shoot and it’s all worked out for me. Have only had the camera a few weeks but the photos I have taken are very crisp. Great value for money

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and easy to use

DSC-W800 31/07/2018 by Jeff75

Bought a fortnight ago and used it twice. Compact easy to slip into pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HANDY AND SIMPLE TO USE

DSC-W800 30/07/2018 by BORO 66

SHARE WITH MY YOUNG GRANDSON WHO HAS ESTABLISHED USE VERY QUICKLY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

new camera

DSC-W800 22/07/2018 by Bazzer 46

I purchased this to replace an older compact camera. this camera has less funtions than my other but does the job although a lot slower, it is though lower in weight and thinner. I think this would be better with more functions to give more options taking photographs

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Very easy to use

DSC-W800 17/07/2018 by Shirley43

I wanted a camera that was easy to use and also easily portable handbag size this fits the bill perfectly

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

light weight

DSC-W800 14/07/2018 by Mike201751

only advantage is it,s light weight the camera is complex to work out confusing to go through the settings with no control over the flash. will not have another

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

light to use

DSC-W800 11/07/2018 by Haitch

Bought this very light weight camera, which is easy use, slim and fits easily into the pocket , produces good pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0