RRP

€159.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
348

4.4 based on 348 customer reviews

197
105
29
8
9
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

356 Customer Reviews

0

Easy to use

DSC-W830 27/10/2019 by Sophie2

My old camera had broken and I wanted a similar one. This one is even better, bigger zoom, smaller size and better automatic shooting, even macro

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing

DSC-W830 22/10/2019 by Mandery

Tricky to turn on, often have to have a couple of attempts. Often slow to focus or takes blurry photos. Display is poor quality. Not as good as my previous Cannon.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W830 22/10/2019 by Rene12

I have only recently bought this camera, so only used it a few times, but found it very easy. Also it's size means It fit easily into my bag or pocket so It's easily accessible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect holiday Camera

DSC-W830 20/10/2019 by Commando68

Bought this camera for snapping away on holiday but pretty much have it with me all the time now. Fed up taking pics on my phone only to delete later to free up memory. Read reviews that complained about the on off button. Yes it’s a little fiddly but not enough to complain about. Great battery life. Good quality pictures. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to Use

DSC-W830 10/10/2019 by Mr Harry O

I bought this a week ago wanted an easy to use camera andx it does not disappoint

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fits all my needs

DSC-W830 03/10/2019 by JBRUSSELL

I purchased this camera just two weeks ago, I have not put it down since then, the size, zoom lens, sharpness and quality of the photos met all of my expectations. great value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

just what I wantede

DSC-W830 03/10/2019 by ohme

I bought this camera because I wanted a simple small unit to take on holiday instead of the big one I had been using. I'm glad I did because it does exactly what I got it for. Easy to use and very good value.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Pocket sized camera of quality.

DSC-W830 02/10/2019 by Sutton70

An update to my old W200 was overdue. This replacement is just excellent. Lightweight and with quality photos and video. A delight to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Capable Little Camera

DSC-W830 26/09/2019 by Davy100

I was given this as a present and after two weeks in Cornwall where a lot of video was taken it performed extremely well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact

DSC-W830 12/09/2019 by Caza

Very happy with it apart from the on/off button being very small

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

An Excellent User Friendly Camera

DSC-W830 08/09/2019 by budgie 49

I bought this camera to replace an older camera and it has been used on many occasions with no problems and has taken many excellent photos .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W830 06/09/2019 by Moonyean

Bought this as old Nikkon Coolpix no longer working. The only drawback that it did

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use point and take picture

DSC-W830 30/08/2019 by halfwelsh

The camera is light but steady in the hand to shoot. Camera lens gives good clear picture in viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too clever

DSC-W830 26/08/2019 by steve 36

You cant buy a simple camera anymore. Its a little small for my liking, almost awkward to get hold of, difficulty in turning on unless you have long fingernails, too many settings, ergo, hard to find the setting you want before moment gone. having said that some auto settings are very convenient and nice clear shots. The flimsy piece of paper optimistically called an instruction manual is sadly inadequate and after registering my purchase to access the help line there were so many links that told you sod all I couldn't even find a page that told me how to download photos to computer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great camera features

DSC-W830 14/08/2019

I brought the camera three days ago and glad I did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CHEAP, EASY TO USE.

DSC-W830 11/08/2019 by alxcaz

Camera is very easy to use, feels a bit flimsy, but does what i want, it's small and compact, with a good battery life, and it's easy to transfer photos to my PC for editing, and saving or printing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cannot recommend

DSC-W830 09/08/2019 by Disappointed Dave

After a lot of research, I decided to purchase this camera. There was one negative review amongst loads of other very positive ones that I dismissed; however I wish that I had paid more attention to it. The main reason that I cannot recommend this camera is that, when taking a picture, an image preview appears on the screen, which is useful if required. However, you cannot switch this function off. I have consulted with Sony, and they agree that the image preview cannot be switched off. In reality therefore, it means that from taking one picture to being ready to take the next one takes around 5 seconds, and there is nothing you can do about it. If you want to take lots of pictures quickly, you can't basically, and can miss important moments. It is really annoying and frustrating. Why is it on a mobile phone you can take say, 3 pictures a second, and on a dedicated camera of the quality of Sony, you can't. I also don't recommend it because the auto focus takes a while and is a bit hit and miss, and the on/off button is very fiddly, and again if you want to take a picture quickly, I have lost valuable time or the moment fiddling around trying to turn it on. Whilst the quality of the pictures is good, for the really frustrating points I've mentioned above, I without doubt cannot recommend this camera. I should have paid more attention to the negative review I read, which basically said the same as I have done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

SONY W830

DSC-W830 01/08/2019 by LeymoorTerrier

After my 'Canon PowerShot 470' finally gave up the ghost, I thought I'd give this one a try. It's a bit 'fiddly' small for my ageing fingers, but, like everything else electronic, quite powerful. I like the panorama feature, good for covering my bowling green!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Ok for the price

DSC-W830 29/07/2019 by RayH10

It's not a bad camera. In certain conditions it's quite good. You have to play around with the settings to get a decent shot. Would be nice if you could use one setting for general picture taking. I'm not an expert but I do expect a decent picture when you zoom in. Don't like the power button, would prefer it to protrude a bit more. However on a plus side, a fairly decent camera

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

colour quality

DSC-W830 13/07/2019 by Terry 5

my only disappointment was the too brief instruction booklet, and particvularly the brevity re connection to my laptop.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

quality photogrsphs excellent zoom capability

DSC-W830 03/07/2019 by clazh

Remarkable quality photos' the zoom capability is outstanding , the automatic mode is excellent , all this in such a small package.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact camera

DSC-W830 30/06/2019 by Patricia 68

Camera good size, fits into my small handbag, so ready to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Upgrade from the W530

DSC-W830 27/06/2019 by Bewildered Too

I purchased the W530 a number of years ago for survey work, Now I am travel and the W530 continued to be excellent then began to lose focus. The W830 appears to be advanced in features and I am looking forward to putting it thru its paces. I purchased this camera due to my complete satisfaction with the W530.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very good

DSC-W830 15/06/2019 by carchie016

this is my 2nd one and it is grate... the camera is small, good quality image, and lite. would recomend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I like it

DSC-W830 10/06/2019 by pingpong2019

After years of using DSLR cameras I wanted something lightweight and compact for everyday use. It is easy to use and very lightweight compared to my heavy gear. I haven't had chance to use all the features yet but point and shoot is great.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good and Bad in Parts, like the Curate's Egg.

DSC-W830 29/05/2019 by CHLTN2

On the whole its alright. The disadvantage is that the macro close up focus which is meant to be automatic, doesn't give sharp focus. I like its small compact size.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

compact easy to use

DSC-W830 28/05/2019 by lhw13

the prouduct is compact light weight easy to carryin your hand bag. simple to use and produces great pictures but wished it had a touch screen or something different from arrow keys. good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good compact camera

DSC-W830 14/05/2019 by Keith6

I bought this a month ago and its simple to use and I like the picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little camera

DSC-W830 11/05/2019 by Starman1

I bought this to take some quick snaps at a wedding I was attending and got some lovely pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0