RRP

€1,199.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
100

4.4 based on 100 customer reviews

58
33
5
2
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28/04/2016 by Jonnie1266

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Magnificent picture, poor sound

FDR-AX53 23/03/2018 by CLR1

Brilliant picture quality is marred by the mechanical noise of the camera picked up on the built-in microphone. I thought this was a fault with the camera I bought and contacted Menna at the Sony support team who suggested returning the camera to Pencoed for repair. Before doing so I checked with John Lewis from whom I bought the camera and listened to their demo example. It made identical mechanical noise thus indicating a design fault. To get round the problem I purchased an ECM-XYST1 microphone which when placed on the camera leaves the hinged cover of the accessory shoe flapping about as it does not appear to be removeable. Had I known all this before purchasing the camera I would not have bought it. I have considerable experience of both Sony consumer and Sony broadcast products - I worked for over forty years for the BBC. I welcome your comments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

101 Customer Reviews

0

Great camera, terrible software and support.

FDR-AX53 20/01/2019 by Very disappointed user

I bought the camera to replace (update) an old Sony camcorder that I'd had for over ten years, which used old HD mini cassettes. I was very pleased with the new camera. However, when I downloaded the PlayMemories software it told me it was an update of the old Motion Picture Browser I was using and that it would remove the existing software. I already had 35 files uploaded onto my PC and assumed these would be readable by the new software (as it was said to be an "update"). However, once I loaded it, the new software refused to recognise these. I contacted their customer support who initially seemed not to understand the issue. Finally, after some chasing on my part and taking advice on theirs, they came back saying that I would have to reload all 35 tapes recorded on the previous camera, although they noted that if I did this they would only load as MP4 files, which would not maintain the quality of my original files. They specifically told me to "please be advised that these two cameras are from two different generations and it won’t be easy to transfer all the contents with the same quality." Fortunately, because I am always cautious when loading new software which removes existing software, I had backed up the old Motion Picture Browser. Once I reloaded this it sits alongside the PlayMemories software quite happily and continues to run the old files perfectly (although I can't run both programs at the same time). Sony should have been aware of this issue and I see it as very poor customer service that they remove Motion Picture Browser when their new software is incompatible with any existing files. Providing the ability to maintain usability between "different generations" is very basic customer support. So, great camera but appalling customer support. I did ask for my email exchange to be passed up to a higher level as a complaint but was told I could only do this by by writing to the European Head Office.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great quality videos especially in low light.

FDR-AX53 16/01/2019 by Electric Phil

Had this for a couple of weeks and experimented with the settings to find out what works best for me videoing bands and artistes often in low light. I am delighted at the quality video results which look a great deal better than my previous Sony CX405. Even the built in mic give very good results but I will be buying the Sony ECMXYST1M.CE7 Stereo Microphone for better stereo seperation which isn't very good on the 53. Check out my youtube page Bands & Venues Burnley & Pendle for my recent vids taken using this Handycam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

almost a very good camcorder

FDR-AX53 09/01/2019 by pitney77

3 months old and used to record football games. Lack of full manual controls lets this cam down plus recently auto focus has been letting me down

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Very impressed it has some fantastic features

FDR-AX53 06/01/2019 by Maltabus

It was a Christmas present although I haven’t had the opportunity to use it to its fullest I am very impress and after consulting the Sony help line because of a small problem which they rectified the next day I can only say thankyou sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 06/01/2019 by steambuff

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Epic quality cam

FDR-AX53 26/12/2018 by SG

Works really well for proffesional filming on a small budget. 4k quality outstanding

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic

FDR-AX53 24/12/2018 by lawrence1952

I Ibought this a month ago so glad I did would recommend Sony to anyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very pleased

FDR-AX53 18/12/2018 by echo mike

Have this a month now and it is living up to expectations. best of all the batteries are the same type as my older model . it is a great idea that Sony keep using the same type of connection

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality product

FDR-AX53 12/11/2018 by bob 001

I was looking to upgrade my present camcorder to a 4k with viewfinder.This was the only model in stock with viewfinder which is essential for videoing motor sports.The quality of image is brilliant but the best feature is the stabilisation system,rock steady picture even at full zoom! Also i recorded the local firework display in fireworks display option,amazing picture and sound quality.So far very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Getting to grips with its many (Clear) features

FDR-AX53 09/11/2018 by Newtonairds

I have only begun to try my new AX53 but already find it so easy to operate. The still photographs are just so clear. For me - A worth-while buy

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

0

0

Hk sony

FDR-AX53 02/11/2018 by Ian37

I bought this a week ago and I am very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Better than the AX33

FDR-AX53 22/09/2018 by Toastandjam

They’ve managed to improve something that was already good. Like the extra zoom capacity and the active steady shot support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A perfect little video camera!

FDR-AX53 01/09/2018 by GordoTCG

This camera has replaced my DSLR and I use it everyday! Its my main vlogging camera and the stabilisation is unreal! Ive bought a wide angle lens and a variable ND filter on Amazon to go on the front and it has made it so much more versatile! :) For the price, this is on eof the best video cameras you can get! With an ND you can get really deep DOF and the zoom and stabilisation make it an amazing addition to a vloggers arsenal! Battery gives 5+ hours use and with a big card it means you can shoot all day with no worry! There is no sensor heating, no battery cutting out! Its menu system is easy to use and has a great 'common' button feature where you can choose the three menu items you use most to have on the main screen as well as auto focus, touch screen where you can pick brightness and other options! It also does really well in low light and paired with a ECM-GZ1M shotgun mic which attaches through the Mi Hotshoe mount, it will look and sound amazing and you never have to worry about batteries or not turning the mic on by accident! Flip out monitor is great quality and the camera is small and light and can go anywhere! It even has infrared so you can film in pitch darkness! Again, amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good camera but a couple of things to highlight.

FDR-AX53 30/08/2018 by Geek Street

I'm a YouTuber and was looking take my recordings to 4K and improve stability / quality. This camera is pretty good in terms of picture quality and has amazing zoom with optical and digital you get 250x zoom, but I was let down by a couple of points you can't select the intelligent stabilization in 4K and also recording in 5.1 Dolby surround in 4K which is a bit of a disappointment, but in general I'm still pleased with it. I've done a review of this camera including sample footage for YouTube you can find it by searching for ‘Geek Street Sony FDR-AX53’.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

it is ok

FDR-AX53 22/08/2018 by Istvan

it is very well working

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Disappointed it is only a 10X Zoom

FDR-AX53 22/08/2018 by PeteGirv

I am pleased with the AX53 but I am disappointed that it is advertised as having a 20X zoom and it is only actually has a 20X zoom, I do not count the 2X Macro facility as part of the zoom. Otherwise I am pleased with the camcorder, it produces good videos in the good light levels that I have used it in. The Sony software also works well with my Windows 10 computer, some reviews had mentioned problems but I have not had any with the recent software version.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

FDR-AX53 14/08/2018 by Vide

Bought this as a gift for my husband. Absolutely thrilled with it.As it is 4K he has connected it to the TV. Picture quality is fantastic sound too . Would definitely reccomendgoodprice too.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good camera picture quality is really good

FDR-AX53 11/08/2018 by chrisms

I purchased this product from John Lewis 5 weeks ago what a super camera, however John Lewis were offering a £50.00 cashback from Sony (not John Lewis) trying to claim the £50.00 cashback was not easy to say the least, and I am still awaiting the money back, I had to buy a external microphone for the camera, and set the audio to manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent use, having trouble with some features.

FDR-AX53 24/07/2018 by scaramouche54

This is my first digital camcorder, so I have nothing to compare it against. I found it pretty straightforward to get started, and the 4K video played back on my 2560 by 1440 PC HD monitor looked great. Haven't tried it on the TV yet. Transferring video to the PC is not very clear, I am not sure if I am transferring 4K or MP4. I have not been able to get the wi-fi transfer to work at all: although the network is recognised, the camera keeps insisting I connect with a USB, and the manual is no real help. That said, the wi-fi connection is hardly a problem to me. I don't much like the "Play Memories" software. I cannot seem to change the location of the transfers, from my Windows "Pictures" folder to a folder on one of my support drives (which have far more space). But I would not be surprised if most of this is just what I haven't yet found. The user guide download is very helpful, but I would really like more "help for dummies" such as myself. As a first such buy, I am overall very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Nice pictures but terrible App

FDR-AX53 18/07/2018 by MCole2460

I bought this one week ago and have now returned it to get my money back. The only way to transfer data, away from home, is the Wi-fi via an App which doesn’t work. SD card does not work with iPad or iPhone to transfer data. Imagine quality is fine but, unless the issues with the App are resolved, if the only other products in your home come from Apple, then this is not the product for you

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Like being at sea

FDR-AX53 17/07/2018 by Paul3780

Brought just over a month ago to film a wedding. The boss system when zooming is not good. It floats about horribly which really shows up in video. I'm going back to try and exchange this product today but fear I won't have any luck so will be stuck with it.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 13/07/2018 by ggstable

I needed needed needed needed to upgrade from CX760 fo 4k

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Well specified highly functional camcorder

FDR-AX53 11/07/2018 by AX53_Novice

I bought the AX53 just over a month ago and have really enjoyed using it. The BOSS (image stabilising) feature means hand held zoomed in shots are no longer all over the place. It really works well. The only very small issue is if the shot is a pan and the floating lens wobbles ever so slightly at the end, but it's not a big deal for me. I also like the manual override feature which allows me to compensate for dark interiors shot from outside etc. The camcorder itself is light, but heavy enough to keep the shot steady. It feels comfortable in the palm and all the necessary controls are easy to get at.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very nice bit of kit

FDR-AX53 04/07/2018 by Download Dave

This does what it says on the can, very easy to use the and video quality is impressive at 4k. Battery life is good and menu is easy to get around . Image stabilisation is 2nd to none, really makes the shots very steady.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0