RRP

€1,199.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
80

4.5 based on 80 customer reviews

47
28
4
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28/04/2016 by Jonnie1266

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Magnificent picture, poor sound

FDR-AX53 23/03/2018 by CLR1

Brilliant picture quality is marred by the mechanical noise of the camera picked up on the built-in microphone. I thought this was a fault with the camera I bought and contacted Menna at the Sony support team who suggested returning the camera to Pencoed for repair. Before doing so I checked with John Lewis from whom I bought the camera and listened to their demo example. It made identical mechanical noise thus indicating a design fault. To get round the problem I purchased an ECM-XYST1 microphone which when placed on the camera leaves the hinged cover of the accessory shoe flapping about as it does not appear to be removeable. Had I known all this before purchasing the camera I would not have bought it. I have considerable experience of both Sony consumer and Sony broadcast products - I worked for over forty years for the BBC. I welcome your comments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

81 Customer Reviews

0

Like being at sea

FDR-AX53 17/07/2018 by Paul3780

Brought just over a month ago to film a wedding. The boss system when zooming is not good. It floats about horribly which really shows up in video. I'm going back to try and exchange this product today but fear I won't have any luck so will be stuck with it.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 13/07/2018 by ggstable

I needed needed needed needed to upgrade from CX760 fo 4k

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Well specified highly functional camcorder

FDR-AX53 11/07/2018 by AX53_Novice

I bought the AX53 just over a month ago and have really enjoyed using it. The BOSS (image stabilising) feature means hand held zoomed in shots are no longer all over the place. It really works well. The only very small issue is if the shot is a pan and the floating lens wobbles ever so slightly at the end, but it's not a big deal for me. I also like the manual override feature which allows me to compensate for dark interiors shot from outside etc. The camcorder itself is light, but heavy enough to keep the shot steady. It feels comfortable in the palm and all the necessary controls are easy to get at.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice bit of kit

FDR-AX53 04/07/2018 by Download Dave

This does what it says on the can, very easy to use the and video quality is impressive at 4k. Battery life is good and menu is easy to get around . Image stabilisation is 2nd to none, really makes the shots very steady.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FINE PURCHASE

FDR-AX53 13/06/2018 by Robbo

Operation is reasonably user friendly, except, when used with peripherals not produced by Sony.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Nice but difficult to use

FDR-AX53 08/06/2018 by Nigi

The image quality and sound are second to none. So as a pick up and shoot camera it’s perfect. It also has many inbuilt options like a more professional camera but these can only be accessed via a touch menu on the screen making setup very awkward and frustrating. The instruction book supplied is also next to useless.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Super Sony

FDR-AX53 01/06/2018 by Mickieb

Good all round video camera great manual features easy to use nicely built cannot fault it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It is good ,but I still learning this

FDR-AX53 27/05/2018 by Revaro

I am very exited about this camera and looking forward to start make nice videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing quality movies and perfect sound

FDR-AX53 20/05/2018 by PENDZEL

I had a choice between Panasonic hc-vxf1 and Sony fdr-ax53. Maybe Panasonic is a newer model and has a bit more possibilities but for me the highest quality of movies is important and the image from the Sony camera suits me better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

New video camera

FDR-AX53 20/05/2018 by Steve 1000

I purchased this 4K camera as a replacement for my Sony Handycam bought sometime ago

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

First impression

FDR-AX53 17/05/2018 by Jwe123

I have made the step from hd to 4k with this camcorder and am not disappointed. The larger camcorder handles well, and the ring makes manual operation much easier than in my old sony camcorder. A big step up in image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good - almost superb

FDR-AX53 16/05/2018 by MPkr

I bought this to replace my AX33 since the additional zoom range is valuable. On wildlife trips around the world I need a light camera. BOSS is superb (as in the AX33) which made me decide on this rather than the heavier AX700 with the larger sensor with faster focusing. Video quality at 4K and HD is superb. The one niggle I have is the same as with the AX33 - the viewfinder - too few pixels and brightness cannot be adjusted. Improving that and putting phase detection autofocusing on the sensor would make an unbeatable small camcorder. The design of the display could be improved. For example the fact that the manual ring is kept on zoom shows a sign in a white box in the display, in an important part of the field of view. I would willingly pay more for the additional features like a better viewfinder, full manual control and higher frame rate 4K.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Two week review

FDR-AX53 30/04/2018 by Manwithacamera

After some inital test usage, I used this camera to record an outdoor musical event. Good feedback from all the artists including a professional who comment on the good sound quality. Disappointed that seemingly no stock of spare batteries currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 26/04/2018 by Gasjkh2

Very happy with my purchase. I bought this model primarily for the excellent BOSS stabilisation system. Great camcorder.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera

FDR-AX53 21/04/2018 by mikesachs53

Excellent video camera with the amazing BOSS system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worth The Money!

FDR-AX53 23/03/2018 by darmstro64

This camera met all my expectations in terms of performance and build quality. I bought it to replace an ageing HDR-HC9E, and it certainly is a great improvement. I have not fully tested it yet, but initial results were very good. The stabilisation system works well and the menus are easy to navigate. The quality of the Full HD footage is excellent - I have not tested the 4K format yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Magnificent picture, poor sound

FDR-AX53 23/03/2018 by CLR1

Brilliant picture quality is marred by the mechanical noise of the camera picked up on the built-in microphone. I thought this was a fault with the camera I bought and contacted Menna at the Sony support team who suggested returning the camera to Pencoed for repair. Before doing so I checked with John Lewis from whom I bought the camera and listened to their demo example. It made identical mechanical noise thus indicating a design fault. To get round the problem I purchased an ECM-XYST1 microphone which when placed on the camera leaves the hinged cover of the accessory shoe flapping about as it does not appear to be removeable. Had I known all this before purchasing the camera I would not have bought it. I have considerable experience of both Sony consumer and Sony broadcast products - I worked for over forty years for the BBC. I welcome your comments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great video camera

FDR-AX53 18/02/2018 by Runner 55

Bought for a holiday to India and have been amazed at the quality of the videos taken. Zoom is brilliant and the graphics of fantastic. Have managed to take some superb videos of tiger and leopard which have made this purchase worth while. This video is easy to use ,light to carry and a good price. Very pleased with the purchase. It also takes excellent pictures a definite added plus. Overall a great buy and would recommend for a first purchase for novice video users.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb quality

FDR-AX53 17/02/2018 by Merlin7

I have only had it for over a seek but immediately the high quality of the camera was evident. I am thrilled with it and am enjoying the experience of getting to know all of its superb qualities..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

FDR-AX53 07/02/2018 by Champy

An excellent product in every way..... so impressed with the 4K ..brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality but not always instinctive to use

FDR-AX53 02/02/2018 by Worsley

Many features are an improvement on older models, but editing parts of shots for example was much easiere with tape model. Still trying to work out how to do 'in-camera' edits as I shoot with this digital version for example. Picture quality excellent compared to tapes, lighter and good lens etc. Happy on the whole so fa, will be very happy once I crack the code in the manual and work out what I'm supposed to do to access all but the most basic features. For the money a properly written manual in full should be included, not a skimpy one then an on-line poorly translated one lacking clarity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great stability/ Great zoom/ easy to use.

FDR-AX53 19/01/2018 by Stargeezer1947

I wanted a good video camera for videos of my granddaughter’s and the Sony AX53 4K just fitted the bill. It as a very good sensor and low- light feature and a long zoom that comes in handy for those far hard to reach places, it has a good steady shot feature it’s just like having a gimbal permanently fitted to it. It’s all automatic for people to use but if you want to get more creative you can use manual modes to better your understanding of video film photography “Would I recommend this camera to the biginer “ yes I would as you can leave it in automatic and it does it all for you and the film a still photo’s that it produces are excellent and very professional and it comes in at a very reasonable price and gives the compertision a run for it’s money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to use

FDR-AX53 12/01/2018 by jeddy

easy to use light weight good quality picture easy to handle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

4k camcorder

FDR-AX53 05/01/2018 by Brisals

I have had this camcorder now for couple of weeks, over all i am happy with it but there are some functions that i'm not happy about, like the lose of IS when on a tripod, and there is only 12 seconds of slow motion video,also you have to use a computer to put "together" time laps video whilst other camcorders do it while recording.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4