Skip to Content

RRP

€1,199.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
60

4.5 based on 60 customer reviews

35
22
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28/04/2016 by Jonnie1266

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Does NOT record or capture meta-data to mp4 files

FDR-AX53 02/06/2016 by the1lemming

I have had my Sony AX53 since April 2016 and I am very happy with the video quality recorded by this device. However I have discovered that the Sony AX53 does not capture or record meta-data to the mp4 files it creates. Just about every other video capturing device that I own, from a smart-phone, to a tablet to an action camera such as a gopro, captures meta-data and records this information to the mp4 files. This useful information includes length, frame width, frame height, data rate, total bit rate, frame rate and stuff like that. Sadly the Sony AX53 does not record this information which is very useful when editing small movies. How can we edit videos properly if we can't work out important information which should be saved to the meta-data of the mp4 files?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

19

4

60 Customer Reviews

0

Great stability/ Great zoom/ easy to use.

FDR-AX53 19/01/2018 by Stargeezer1947

I wanted a good video camera for videos of my granddaughter’s and the Sony AX53 4K just fitted the bill. It as a very good sensor and low- light feature and a long zoom that comes in handy for those far hard to reach places, it has a good steady shot feature it’s just like having a gimbal permanently fitted to it. It’s all automatic for people to use but if you want to get more creative you can use manual modes to better your understanding of video film photography “Would I recommend this camera to the biginer “ yes I would as you can leave it in automatic and it does it all for you and the film a still photo’s that it produces are excellent and very professional and it comes in at a very reasonable price and gives the compertision a run for it’s money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to use

FDR-AX53 12/01/2018 by jeddy

easy to use light weight good quality picture easy to handle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4k camcorder

FDR-AX53 05/01/2018 by Brisals

I have had this camcorder now for couple of weeks, over all i am happy with it but there are some functions that i'm not happy about, like the lose of IS when on a tripod, and there is only 12 seconds of slow motion video,also you have to use a computer to put "together" time laps video whilst other camcorders do it while recording.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

An embarrassment of riches

FDR-AX53 02/01/2018 by Alek Hidell

This 4K camcorder proves that the format is far from extinct. It can double as a very competent stills camera and does so very successfully. The 30x optical zoom is very clean, and the ability to program the “focus” ring to other functions is very useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr

FDR-AX53 14/12/2017 by saab

Excellent Camera beautiful 4K Videos a proud owener love the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 14/12/2017 by HowH

Product does exactly what it is supposed to. Easy to use and set up. Excellent video and stabilsation works well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but needs more manual control

FDR-AX53 13/12/2017 by Demmy

The best camera I ever bought in my life, couldn't ask for more except full manual control over the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent resolution

FDR-AX53 28/11/2017 by Robbie

Easy to use. Excellent video quality. Compact size, a lot of options. Very satisfied.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

ax53

FDR-AX53 26/11/2017

very convenient packed with clever features and great price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great value for money

FDR-AX53 20/11/2017 by chasjardine

I bought this about a month ago to replace my 12 year old HD Sony, This new AX53 4K is a great upgrade, Sony have always made great products. I use it to record speaking engagements and some outdoor activities, really good in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Value

FDR-AX53 19/11/2017 by Luccombe Lad

Good camera, which works great in Auto mode. I like the touch screen, and the fact you can turn it to face you, which is great for Vlogging. But, I would have liked S-log gamma control.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great quality video pictures, not such good sound

FDR-AX53 13/11/2017 by Gricerman

I bought this Handycam 3 months ago and thought the picture quality was, as expected, excellent. The image stabilisation is also excellent. However I find the microphone being located on top of the camcorder with only a small; aperture pointing forward, does not give the best quality sound recordings. I shall have to purchase a separate microphone to plug in to give me better sound recordings to go with the video I am also concerned that the microphone being on top and exposed may be damaged if there is any mist or drizzle when recording.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cracking smallish 4K camcorder

FDR-AX53 29/10/2017 by Somerset Pete

Bought to replace an HDR-SR12E, superb picture quality, slightly more bulky than SR12E (bigger battery doesn't help) but great wide angle bigger zoom lens. Zoomed subjects tend to wander about a bit on Steadyshot, so still needs a steady hand. Bought a 256GB card so 5+ hours of shooting at full 4K 100Mb/s rate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera I've ever bought

FDR-AX53 18/10/2017 by Jules

If you are still wondering whether you should buy this camera, then stop worrying about the price as it's worth every penny and more.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent product

FDR-AX53 27/09/2017 by Gaynor Cliff

Excited to start using this camera and recording family memories

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really useful handy cam

FDR-AX53 25/08/2017 by Gourdando

Only just resonantly had the camera but was drawn to its size and and its promises of excellent specs . Not been disappointed love the use of its 16-9 chip and the motion cancelling properties ..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great piece of kit

FDR-AX53 24/08/2017 by Paulmcq1

Bought a few weeks ag for a holiday and updating my cameras

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

FDR-AX53 09/08/2017 by Stephen52

I bought this camera to film my son's wedding and it is just brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Packed full of features....

FDR-AX53 09/08/2017 by Rich_camera

Bought my AX53 a month ago after years of using a smaller camera that just wasn't up to the job. This is a lot heavier but the image quality with improved sound so far is great. Plus it's easy to use and is robust in design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best BOSS ever.

FDR-AX53 29/07/2017 by 98Dave

The stabilisation is brilliant, although I wish it would not disable itself when on a tripod. So far its lack of fully manual control has not caused me any concern whatsoever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Price and quality IS exellent!

FDR-AX53 28/07/2017 by Raivo

I have used it 2 Timesi and resultatiivset Are good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera!

FDR-AX53 24/07/2017 by Peeter

I bought camera one month ago. I want have 4K camera because I have 4K TV. The quality of the video is really good! I am very satisfied. And the works well. For me is not very comfortable zoom on the top of camera. Zoom ring is OK.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camcorder with all its new features

FDR-AX53 12/07/2017 by Chris Loren

bought as an upgrade for my next holidays and ended up using this on a professional shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 15/06/2017 by Michael12

Bought this to take 4K glad i did very good images lots of features can well recomend to anyone buying a good Camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0