RRP

€429.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
270

4.5 based on 270 customer reviews

190
58
8
6
8
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Probably the best ANC headphones available

MDR-1000X 04/06/2017 by martininberks

Bought these prior to a flight from London to New York. Glad I did. Comfortable, great noise cancelling but with the flexibility to pause the cancelling or to allow speech or ambient noise to penetrate. Good sound quality also. My one criticism would be there is no provision for the cables inside the case - unlike the Bose QC35. Otherwise, very happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great features but plastic prone to cracking

MDR-1000X 21/06/2017 by HEXfire

I bought this a little over a month ago. The noise cancelling and sound quality are excellent. The features worked as described, with the ambient sound modes being useful and novel. The only minor annoyances were not being able to listen while charging, and simultaneously connecting to multiple audio devices. That said, you can pair a device for audio and one for voice at the same time. A month on, the plastic developed a crack along the foldable joint, resulting in the plastic to protrude and the fit not being as tight. The noise cancellation was noticeably affected as a result. Beware! said cracking is classified as physical / cosmetic damage and not covered under the warranty.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

33

0

270 Customer Reviews

0

Poor quality material - crack in plastic

MDR-1000X 13/07/2018 by sdrycroft

These headphones have the potential to be fantastic, but unfortunately the poor quality materials used to make them, means that the plastic in the headband cracks easily.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great promise, terrible experience

MDR-1000X 04/07/2018 by Rouxtser

It had lots of promise and at the times it did work sounded great. Unfortunately the right ear piece continuously and very intermittently lost connection with the left ear piece. Also, when the right ear piece did manage a connection there was a terrible delay between the sound and when watching a video. Reading other reviews all users had a similar experience. Sony call centre tried to resolve the issue, but was not able to. I returned them and rather went for the more expensive WH-1000XM2’s.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Best Headphones

MDR-1000X 25/06/2018 by mickjh0

These are the best headphones I have ever bought. Sound quality is fantastic and the noise cancellation is really very good so all in all by far the best headphones i have evr had.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good performance and good looks.

MDR-1000X 12/06/2018 by auld

The headphones are comfortable to wear for protracted periods and do their job well, cutting ambient noise almost completely. Even on "ambient noise" setting there is a noticeable reduction on surrounding sound levels. What should be an excellent rating is however ruined by the annoying follow-up customer review process which insists on a "nickname" but will not accept inputs. Bah! Hiss!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning in every way

MDR-1000X 10/06/2018 by Rude_Bhoy

Was genuinely confused as to what N.C headset to go with and was leaning towards Bose QC35ii but tested both and the 1000X felt more solid, looked better aesthetically and above all sounded stunning.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great For Noise Cancelling

MDR-1000X 09/06/2018 by Mr or Sir

Bought these because I was absolutely fed up with background music at hotels, round pools, on cruise ships, etc. Often so loud I couldn't even mask it with my own music on conventional headphones - is nobody allowed to sit quietly & just read anymore? These headphones did the trick - just putting them over my ears without turning them on cut out 90% of the row. With noise cancelling on, I can't even hear my wife shouting at me (a mixed blessing!)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing sound

MDR-1000X 26/05/2018 by Rocklett

I bought these after the newer model had been launched for an excellent price and I am so impressed. I have had many pairs of earphones and headphones but nothings that sounds as well ballanced as these. The sound is truly remarkable. I tried them directly up against the Bose QC35 II and there was no comparison in terms of the quality of the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exactly what I was looking for

MDR-1000X 15/05/2018 by Tommy McLaren

My partner bought these and I was so impressed I bought a pair for myself. They are very comfortable and the sound quality is brilliant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound and comfortable

MDR-1000X 15/05/2018 by Butplug

Got these about six months ago to make long flights more enjoyable. They did the trick, combined with a Sony hi res mp3 very nice

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great set of earphones!

MDR-1000X 12/05/2018 by Rick102

Owned for a month now.. so far no issues! Great comfort , great sound. The only thing i would say is that it can often be awkward to folder them into their carry case..I am sure they would crack at the joints if folded incorrectly! Noise cancellation it fanatastic, bit only certain sounds are masked.. for example it easy drowns out the sound of the missus hairdrier !! But not the natter!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Comfort and freedom

MDR-1000X 03/05/2018 by Fraser K

Great sound, easy to connect and have a great range so throughout the house if connected to the TV or hi-fi. 2017 model that won 5 star in what Hi-fi. Got them in Curry's for a bargin price. Well worth the money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound but really poor quality.

MDR-1000X 26/04/2018 by jpmk

I bought them thinking that had better feature that BOSE QC 35 for the price. However, after using it for ONLY 2 months! the right lower hinge had a crack. After checking in forums, it is evident that it is a flaw in the design, not my use! I am very careful with my electronic devices! Now I can see I spent so much money for nothing! The sales service provides no help at all. It is evident that is a Sony flaw but they dont offer a fixe for this. You have to pay! For their rubish desing! I should have got the BOSE!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Great

MDR-1000X 18/04/2018 by Shaunie

I bought this equipment/product less tan a month ago

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great future

MDR-1000X 16/04/2018 by Powwow

It's fantastic headphone very happy with it and I raccoons to any one?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound and noise cancelling

MDR-1000X 16/04/2018 by Beirnec

I bought this a couple of months ago and used it on a number of flights to watch movies. Great noise cancelling which enhanced the sound from the movies.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better by far than Bose

MDR-1000X 16/04/2018 by Doc375

Love these headphones much better sound quality than Bose QC35 and better ANR function. So glad I shopped around and tried several different brands before finding these.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing features

MDR-1000X 12/04/2018 by Gingercoopz92

I was bought these for a birthday present and they are amazing best headphones I've had since getting my bose and the sound quality is amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Second to none

MDR-1000X 10/04/2018 by Howlett

Excellent phones. The sound and noise cancelling is superb in addition to the gestures facilities. Really nice colour as well, these are for my wife

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love ❤️ it!

MDR-1000X 09/04/2018 by Andreiacso

Have it for 2 weeks and works wander! The case in nice. I like it colour

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best ANC headphones I've had

MDR-1000X 09/04/2018 by oongja

I bought these headphones via amazon when they were on offer (£179). It was great timing as I had a holiday booked that involved 24 hours of flight involved. Tested them on the flight and I could not hear my wife talk to me, I could not hear a baby cry, I could not hear anything but the movie I was watching! Great buy for me. Still pricey but hopefully it'll be worth the investment. The only thing is that it's quite bulky and so hanging/resting it on your neck is a little uncomfortable. They are not headphones you can carry for a long time while travelling/walking. Great headphones for commuting but they'll have to be put back, if not being used, into the Sony case (provided) when trekking a city.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Impressive noise cancelling cans

MDR-1000X 08/04/2018 by Vtr1000

It is hard to say something is perfect but hear goes. Extremely comfortable to wear. Aesthetically pleasing. Not too heavy. Battery time is good. Sound quality is excellent. On par with b&w headphones. Love them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice quality

MDR-1000X 26/03/2018 by salt

Very good headphones with good, but not total, noise cancelling. Well presented in strong attractive carrying case.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice sound, weak plastic brackets

MDR-1000X 24/03/2018 by Patrick6382

The headphones were great until I noticed they were not as tight as they were initillay. I found a large crack in the pivot where the headphones fold up. This was after around 8 months of daily use. Don’t need to work on the build quality and materials used to make these. Otherwise I like them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Really happy with these

MDR-1000X 20/03/2018 by BrendOC

Initially tried at home and thought they’re good but was difficult to assess if they really cancel the ambient noise. Really came into their own on the train, very obvious to hear yourself suddenly descend into silence! Allowed me to concentrate, listen to music and get some work done on my laptop

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0