RRP

€329.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
37

4.6 based on 37 customer reviews

25
10
2
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Sound

MDR-DS6500 23/08/2016 by steve770

Had these about a month and have found no negatives at all. Surround sound is awesome and being able to utilize the analogue feed for the music system is a bonus.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could be better

MDR-DS6500 20/09/2014 by asterix77

The headphones are really comfortable and sound OK. I would have liked to have more options to change the sound settings, as I like more bass when watching films. In my opinion, the PlayStation Wireless Headset Gold sound better.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

37 Customer Reviews

0

Uncomfortable after an hour

MDR-DS6500 09/11/2017 by Duncan 1000

This product has good sound qualities, but gets very warm and uncomfortable on the ears after about one hour of listening

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

4

0

Good headphones, shame about warranty and support!

MDR-DS6500 04/06/2017 by Gregorian

Worked great with my TV with digital (optical input) for just over a year. Then the DSP unit would not power up at all! Checked plug, fuse etc with no success. Support not clear on website. Past 1 year standard warranty so now have to pay to fix plus inconvenience! Expensive experience overall!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Great sound

MDR-DS6500 01/06/2017 by CMH65

Been using these headphones for a few weeks now, and I love them. The sound is solid and good full range is reproduced. Would definitely recommend them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Almost perfect

MDR-DS6500 04/05/2017 by Mr Blue

If you are disappointed with your TV's speakers, but don't want to install a sound system, these could be your answer. The DS6500 headphones are well made, comfortable and on the whole beautifully designed. The sound stage produced is quite remarkable and terrestrial broadcasts/streaming show a vast improvement over TV speakers. No more mumbling! The minor gripes I have are that the volume control is slightly tricky to use while wearing them and they creak at times when moving your head, but only the right hand side. Neither of these would stop me buying them or giving a good recommendation. In fact they warrant 4+ stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great features!

MDR-DS6500 12/02/2017 by AndreyR1962

very good headphones, beautiful sound, you can adjust the sound level.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Sound

MDR-DS6500 16/12/2016 by TechnoNovice

I bought these because I felt my 2.1 sony soundbar would disturb my neighbour at night. I have tried these with my tivo box and netflix and noticed the improvements straight away - but where these headphones really excell is when listening to blu ray disks --i have used them to watch Sicario and Avator 3D and the sound is amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

5

0

excellent sound quality.

MDR-DS6500 09/12/2016 by bear69

has increased my listening pleasure and a very comfortable fit. allows me to move around without missing anything.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great Sound

MDR-DS6500 23/08/2016 by steve770

Had these about a month and have found no negatives at all. Surround sound is awesome and being able to utilize the analogue feed for the music system is a bonus.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Cordless headphone which uses SPDIF.

MDR-DS6500 18/06/2016 by Ostragobulus

The only criticism is that I have difficulty keeping the 'phones on - they keep slipping off my head! My TV will not allow headphones and loudspeaker sound independently so these 'phones solve the problem by extracting the sound from HDMI via an adapter. I can not comment on the multi-channel aspect as I have not really used it yet.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Just the job

MDR-DS6500 22/05/2016 by Felines

I am very pleased with overall performance use it most days

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Best headphones

MDR-DS6500 15/02/2016 by Magnet619

Brought 2 weeks fantastic sound quality and easy setup

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Very comfortable

MDR-DS6500 11/01/2016 by IK11

Very comfortable over the ears without hugging them. Sound quality very good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Fantastic Item With Great Features

MDR-DS6500 15/11/2015 by Bernie6055

This item is a 5 star item, with its fantastic surround sound, easy set up, and very easy to use. It fits very comfortable over the ears. Easy slot on stand to charge it up, and the amount of hours without charge is great. I looked at a lot of other headphones and this one has come out on top by far. No wonder Sony has the reputation that it has, I am very very pleased with this item, thank you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent quality headphones

MDR-DS6500 10/09/2015 by Alan555

Bought a month ago and very glad I did. The wireless quality is perfect, never lost a connection between headphones and base unit and never had any form of interference. Sound quality is excellent, great for Netflix, Blu-ray and console gaming. You can really tell where the sounds are coming from (i.e. in front or behind, or to side)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great value, ps4, TV and movies

MDR-DS6500 01/07/2015 by Frosty2015

Bought specifically for films and use with my ps4 especially at night when people are in bed. They connect up seamlessly with an optical cable and any connect devices divert through. It still allows for independent control of the TV volume if needed. Definitely happy with the price and quality of the design and sound. They have a volume control on the headphones allowing control of the sound as most TVs will output sound at one level despite the volume of the internal speakers.

Taken from conrad-uk.com

0

0

0

Great product, great features, comfortable fit.

MDR-DS6500 31/05/2015 by paul1000

I have had this product for one month and it is by far the best wireless headphone set I have had. It works all around my house and even in my garden - when plugged into my stereo unit in the kitchen. Crisp, clear sound superb surround effects. When using my games console it beats all surround systems and brings you into the game - the same is said of the TV - highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb for Home Cinema or Games

MDR-DS6500 24/05/2015 by BigGr33n

I use these for home cinema and gaming and they are superb. They are light and comfortable to wear for long stretches of 12 hours. They are far superior to any gaming headset on the market. Gaming headsets are jack of all trades master of none and with a a separate standalone mic these leave even the £250+ gaming headsets way behind. For home cinema they give an accurate sound reproduction although for music I prefer to turn the bass up a touch. Zero Set up, just plug it in, no drivers. I highly recommend these.

Taken from conrad-uk.com

0

0

0

Excellent .... but with a rider

MDR-DS6500 09/04/2015 by prm1

These headphones are excellent. Obviously they can only produce a 'virtual' multi speaker system - however, they are really very good, producing a brilliant frequency range. Unless your room is very suitable for surround sound (and very few are), I'm certain they'll improve your TV entertainment experience. One problem is that if there is a very, very slight delay in processing the audio signal from the source, this can barely be noticed as a lack of synchronisation. However, if they are to be used whilst the television speakers are also on, it is possible to still hear the TV audio which manifests itself as an echo. Perhaps better insulation in the earcups might avoid this. ..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony MDR-DS6500 Wireless Headphones

MDR-DS6500 07/04/2015 by prm

These headphones are excellent. Obviously they can only produce a 'virtual' multi speaker system - however it is really very good with a brilliant frequency range. Unless your room is very suitable for surround sound #and very few are# I'm certain they'll improve your TV entertainment experience. One problem is that if they are to be used whilst the television speakers are also on - it is possible to still hear the TV audio which manifests itself as a slight echo.

Taken from conrad-uk.com

0

0

0

Much improved design over my old Sony headphones.

MDR-DS6500 15/03/2015

The new headphones replaced an old Sony set that charged to through the ear pieces.  In fact the plastic broke and I had to re-glue them.  Despite this they lasted 9 years. The new charging arrangement, through the head band, is a big improvement.  The sound quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Comfortable, not heavy & excellent sound

MDR-DS6500 13/02/2015

A birthdate present which has been delightful to use. My headphones are comfortable to wear and I love the different sound effects which makes a big difference when watching TV. Thank you SONY your products never fail to please.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

perfection

MDR-DS6500 05/01/2015 by Dodger 33

These are absolutely brilliant Total surround sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

First rate acoustics

MDR-DS6500 08/11/2014 by Ridcully

These headphones are almost faultless. I've had them for over a year and the sound quality is first rate, so is the range. My only disappointment is the quality of materials. I have used them extensively since I bought them and the cover on the padding has split away exposing the padding. Unfortunately I can't find anybody to recover them. Even with this, I am still extremely happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Could be better

MDR-DS6500 20/09/2014 by asterix77

The headphones are really comfortable and sound OK. I would have liked to have more options to change the sound settings, as I like more bass when watching films. In my opinion, the PlayStation Wireless Headset Gold sound better.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1