Skip to Content
Z7 HEADPHONES 

Product Reviews

RRP

€719.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
13

4.5 based on 13 customer reviews

9
3
0
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Back to the roots!

MDR-Z7 28/03/2016

I grew up with Sony, first turntable, first set of speakers, first pair of headphones, Walkman, Discman, the works. You could call me a fan. And I still am after having acquired this pair of cans. Great sound, great materials, great workmanship. I just love them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed with balanced feature.

MDR-Z7 08/11/2016 by what a stupid box

I have used these earphones with my stereo system at home and they are excellent. However my main purpose of this purchase was for use with my new Walkman NW-WM1A player and the new 4.4mm balanced feature. The earphones came with two sets of earphone cables; one set has an end with two 3.5mm leads for the left and right side of the headphones and the other end has a single 3.5mm male plug to fit inside a standard 3.5mm walkman size socket. The second headphone lead consists of two male sockets at either end all of which are 3.5m in size. My walkman has two sockets , one of which is 3.5mm and the other is a 4.4mm balanced size. I bought these headphones on the basis of their apparent balanced feature , but as stated all of the leads have 3.5mm male plugs and I cannot see how they work with the new Sony 4.4mm balanced socket on the NW-WM1A Walkman. These headphones are very good ,but with the Walkman of full volume there is no real advantage in paying the high price of these headphones when compared with Sony phones at a 1/4 of the price. I hope in time that the 4.4mm feature will prove to make this purchase worthwhile , but at the moment there is no trace of any 4.4mm cables on Amazon or the Sony site , so i cannot recommend these headphones to you. Perhaps someone here can put me wise to what the 4.4mm balanced feature is all about , and steer me towards the appropriate 4.4mm cable/plug to make this purchase worthwhile.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

6

13 Customer Reviews

0

Great Headphones

MDR-Z7 05/10/2017 by Mihailmdrz1

I am so happy with Sony MDR-Z7 phones . They are very nice looking, comfortable and superb sound Made in Japan .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed with balanced feature.

MDR-Z7 08/11/2016 by what a stupid box

I have used these earphones with my stereo system at home and they are excellent. However my main purpose of this purchase was for use with my new Walkman NW-WM1A player and the new 4.4mm balanced feature. The earphones came with two sets of earphone cables; one set has an end with two 3.5mm leads for the left and right side of the headphones and the other end has a single 3.5mm male plug to fit inside a standard 3.5mm walkman size socket. The second headphone lead consists of two male sockets at either end all of which are 3.5m in size. My walkman has two sockets , one of which is 3.5mm and the other is a 4.4mm balanced size. I bought these headphones on the basis of their apparent balanced feature , but as stated all of the leads have 3.5mm male plugs and I cannot see how they work with the new Sony 4.4mm balanced socket on the NW-WM1A Walkman. These headphones are very good ,but with the Walkman of full volume there is no real advantage in paying the high price of these headphones when compared with Sony phones at a 1/4 of the price. I hope in time that the 4.4mm feature will prove to make this purchase worthwhile , but at the moment there is no trace of any 4.4mm cables on Amazon or the Sony site , so i cannot recommend these headphones to you. Perhaps someone here can put me wise to what the 4.4mm balanced feature is all about , and steer me towards the appropriate 4.4mm cable/plug to make this purchase worthwhile.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

6

0

very comfy

MDR-Z7 27/06/2016 by carolynjf

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and have used them alot. I listen to a variety of music styles and appreciate the clarity of the sound and the feeling of being surrounded by the music. They are very comfortable and i don't feel that I need to fiddle with them all the time to adjust them, like in-ear phones which I find despite whatever end I put on them - get very uncomfortable and tend to fall out. The whole spectrum of the music scale seems to be really good. I live in a small cottage - so a booming stereo system isn't really practical - but I can have it via my headphones. I have an Astell and Kern player, and got a Fiio Mont Blanc portable amp - to give it all a bit of a boost and couldn't be happier with my headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

Back to the roots!

MDR-Z7 28/03/2016

I grew up with Sony, first turntable, first set of speakers, first pair of headphones, Walkman, Discman, the works. You could call me a fan. And I still am after having acquired this pair of cans. Great sound, great materials, great workmanship. I just love them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

sound stuff

MDR-Z7 28/12/2015 by Farqy

Sound was the main priority when picking new headphones and wow do these deliver. The 70mm drivers are amazing, from deep lows to incredible highs, Hi Def sound! Constructed to a very high standard, the comfort factor is of the highest I have found. If you are reading this and wonder if you should buy a pair i would say yes, you will not be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

Absolutely Brilliant

MDR-Z7 07/10/2015 by Steven2907

Bought these to go with my nwzx2 and I am really happy with them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Sony MDR-X7 headphone review.

MDR-Z7 02/07/2015 by RobG1972

Well designed headphones. Probably the most comfortable pair I have owned. I'd have preferred a shorter cable for use with a portable player (such as the Sony NW-ZX2) to be included as well. Sound-wise, they are good, although the mid-bass does tend to overwhelm the mid-range a little. A little more treble energy wouldn't go amiss either, but overall I am happy with them. I haven't had the opportunity to use the balanced cable, which may bring further improvements. Overall, a good/very good purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Outstanding audiophile headphones !!!

MDR-Z7 29/06/2015 by Naimfan

So, i bought these 6 weeks ago, as i was looking for a pair of headphones to plug directly into my Naim Supernait 2 headphone amp. Ive previously had the Stax SRS 2050 basic system, and auditioned the Sennheiser HD800, 700 and nearly the entire Grado range - none of them, and i do mean none, sound nearly as good as these - the grado are coarse and bright in comparison, the sense analytical and bright in comparison, the sony's give you all the detail but with beautiful warmth and tonality - outstanding and thats without a standalone amp - i couldn't be happier as they compete with all comers, and sound amazing - all with Made in Japan quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

2

0

Great Cans... but...

MDR-Z7 12/04/2015 by who me

great soundstage and clarity, top notch quality, comfort and weight but to get the best from them i had to invest in the PHA3 headphone amp, using the ZX1 just wouldn't cut the mustard... these cans are designed to pair with this amp... they are sizeable due to the 70mm drivers though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

BACK TO BUSINESS !!

MDR-Z7 19/03/2015 by JACE ACE

MDR Z7 - great product magnificent build and supreme sound . They are right up there with the best headphones in thier price range.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Build Quality with seperate audio lines

MDR-Z7 11/03/2015 by Shailesh

Great product build with seprate audio lines for each headphone cup. Sound quality is excellent too. Sony need to include a carry case for these lovely headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Quality Headphones

MDR-Z7 03/02/2015 by mat01

These are fantastic, powerful, detailed, comfortable, amazingly well built quality headphones. You need a few minutes for your ears and head to come to terms with the range of sounds these headphones produce. They add a layer of audio fidelity you didn't realise was there. Simply wonderful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

MDR-Z7

MDR-Z7 01/11/2014 by beemarman

I'm really glad I bought this headphones. I currently got the HD800, LCD 2 and the JH Audio Roxanne. For portable use I have the AK240 and the HUGO and the Sony sounds very good with my portable setup.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

21