RRP

€399.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
17

4.1 based on 17 customer reviews

5
10
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great ease of use - missing some useful features

HDR-MV1 17/10/2014 by CathyB

I bought this a few weeks ago. I teach singing and want to give pupils a copy of their lessons to review. What is good automatic: sound levelling so no need to worry about clipping, great quality sound, wide angle captures room well, good quality video even in normal artificial lighting. What could be better: the wide angle is very wide so in larger venues you need to put the camera close to the action which is not always possible. For me the addition of an optical zoom would be ideal even if it made the product more expensive. I would like to see a higher bit rate option(s) recording AAC sound. An option of SD video recording would make file sizes more manageable. Using a phone as a monitor is great however playback to phone / tablet would be a very useful addition as transferring the file then playing it is much too slow (even if you have room to store the file on the phone). The documentation could be better: for example how to set the ideal sound level, how to merge the 4GB files it creates etc. Finally the MVR studio software is OK but very limited and I found I mainly use Playmemories Home

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could've been so much more awesome!

HDR-MV1 24/01/2015

The MV1 Music recorder has so many great features: shame it's let down so badly by its unbelievably poor and impractical design. How can Sony market this camera as a music video tool when it has no zoom function, a viewer on the SIDE of the camera and badly (as in virtually NOT) implemented software/phone apps and no bluetooth? The only reason I havent returned it is because of its HD video, live sound with its dual mics and the ability to record music via a line in, its greatest strengths. With a lot of planning and craftiness plus a lotta editing, something decent can be made with this device, but its shortcomings are an unnecessary added burden based on all the fanfare!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

17 Customer Reviews

0

It's good for convenience

HDR-MV1 23/07/2018

It's good for convenience, but really if you want good sound quality you need a dedicated recorder like a zoom h5/6 and to record the audio from the desk in addition to using a stereo mic. Also the lack of stabilization is a problem, also the picture is upscales from 720p to 1080p, in low light the picture is quite grainy. If the image was sharper and it worked better in low light it would be much better.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect for musicians

HDR-MV1 11/07/2017 by Malc63

Used this quite a lot now and really happy with it. This is not like a standard handycam, with lots of functions like image stabilisation and a zoom lens - it is very specialised and the focus is firmly on superb audio quality with good quality video, even in low light. It basically powers on and there's a start/stop recording button. Yes the features are very limited but it does what it was designed to do very well. Very wide angle lens allows you to get up close to the sound source and still get the whole band in frame. Instruments and vocals all sound clear, clean and true with no distortion or noise. I've tested the sound quality back to back with my GoPro Black Hero5 and the Sony is leagues ahead. I very slightly prefer the image from the Hero5 as there's less wide-angle distortion and I like the GoPro as a second camera but would definitely use the MV1 audio. Really easy to use straight out of the box, easy to navigate around the menus and it connected to my android phone first time. The phone connection/control is super handy as the built in screen is not viewable when the MV1 is actually recording. I'd have given this 5 stars if it came with a micro card, as you can't use it without one. For best results use with a tripod.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Recording choirs and seminars

HDR-MV1 12/11/2016 by GrahamDZ

I bought it to record our Male Voice Choir and to record a 3 day industry seminar. It worked well for both but the battery life seems short when using phone to start and stop it. It cannot be run off the mains even with a Sony USB power supply which means having two batteries and charging them every 2 hours on a separate charger. A zoom would help for recording the choir when the camera cannot be used up close but the microphones are great, picking up questions from the back of an auditorium and giving great sound quality for the choir. I would recommend it for the sound quality and remote operation but recognise that the picture is limited by the wide angle.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Very god simple to use product

HDR-MV1 09/10/2016 by Python1

Very pleased with thes ease of use and is a very small and compact unit

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera for drummers

HDR-MV1 27/09/2016 by MortonTrider

I bought this camera about a month ago and I couldn't be happier with it. It reacts well to drums and voice, and the video quality is great under low light!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great touring musician's Camera

HDR-MV1 28/05/2016 by Ed The Piper

As an Irish Uilleann (illan) Piper, My job involves teaching, recording for bands or artists, session work and marketing for my website. I used to rely on a zoom H5 audio recorder but found that with some requests from potential clients, video would be a huge help. So, I did some serious research and finally went for the Sony HDR-MV1 above zoom's Q8 system. What made me purchase the HDR-MV1? well there's a number of factors that matter to me as a piper. Sound quality is critical to my work, so the built in mics HAVE to work the way I need them to and this certainly does it in spades. 1080P resolution with PCM audio means I can edit without any hassle on my workstation. A major feature for me is wifi based connection between camera and iphone. this means whilst sat on a stool with my pipes in my arms, all I do is tap a button on the application recommended by Sony which is free, you know when you're recording and not as there's audio alerts so that does help a lot. USB charging is a great feature though to charge a battery up does take a good few hours but it's worth it. There are a few small issues though that I wish sony had considered when developing this camera. ZOOM for a start sadly doesn't exist. If sony were to release another camera for musicians there's something rather important that needs to be included here. XLR balanced connections for microphones. 2 are enough or combination TRS/XLR balanced terminals. This would give musicians and professionals alike better support for using shotgun or condensor microphones used in studios and live venues, especially if micing up an instrument directly for better support. The app does need a tweak or two in terms of better controls and also a VU for stereo audio channels to check for best recording quality and adjustment of the volume of the internal mics, other than that, this is a decent camera and does what I need it to, though missing certain features which would make my touring life easier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Fit for purpose.

HDR-MV1 29/04/2016 by Nohead

Easy to use great audio ideal for intimate recordings ie Jazz Trio Solo videos, best used close range given wide angle lens, wifi nice control feature, edit in vegas can produce stills ect. Best of the bunch.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Music video

HDR-MV1 12/09/2015 by Bored

I have yet to use product fully yet. Not quite as simple to use as I had hoped but will persevere with it, once I can plan a recording session with my band.

1

0

0

Great features

HDR-MV1 02/07/2015 by Birty04

Bought this camera a few weeks ago to record the band that my son plays in! Had a go whilst they practised and it is so easy to use! so simple to put on computer and memory stick! Going to film them doing a live gig tomorrow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

easy to use

HDR-MV1 05/05/2015 by kegsy0

I've used this to record my band's gigs. Great quality sound especially.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Brilliant little camera

HDR-MV1 11/04/2015 by Suki

This is a clever little camera, it is so easy to use, once you know how. The viewing screen goes off when in the record mode but this in a way is an advantage so you know it's recording. Also the fact that it is not a touch screen means that you can't make an era and delete footage by mistake. The only problem I have found is that the instruction manual is not detailed enough and I have had to ring Sony on a couple of occasions in order to interpret some of the settings. However, generally it is easy to find your way around the menu using the mini joystick. I am using the camera to record live music the picture quality is good, the sound quality is excellent. The wide angle lens is great and although it doesn't have a zoom facility this is not a problem for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good Value

HDR-MV1 06/04/2015 by pbmick

Great little video recorder for recording music live, does what it says on the tin. Good quality results.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Super product

HDR-MV1 07/03/2015 by george1111

I've bought this video camera about 3 weeks ago. I've very much enjoyed the design. I wasn't able to take any shootings, until I've purchased a micro memory card. It is very basic, but a very useful camera, especially for musicians who would like to post their music. It suits best as a selfie camera, therefore no zoom or movable display required (presumably you won't play and adjust your camera on the same time..). If you want a video-clip or an artistic video with yourself, it might not be the best option, but if you want to apply for a job and need to have a video, that's the best option. Make sure you're doing your best (this camera captures the wrong notes very clearly), and you'll amaze everyone with your skills.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Could've been so much more awesome!

HDR-MV1 24/01/2015

The MV1 Music recorder has so many great features: shame it's let down so badly by its unbelievably poor and impractical design. How can Sony market this camera as a music video tool when it has no zoom function, a viewer on the SIDE of the camera and badly (as in virtually NOT) implemented software/phone apps and no bluetooth? The only reason I havent returned it is because of its HD video, live sound with its dual mics and the ability to record music via a line in, its greatest strengths. With a lot of planning and craftiness plus a lotta editing, something decent can be made with this device, but its shortcomings are an unnecessary added burden based on all the fanfare!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Great ease of use - missing some useful features

HDR-MV1 17/10/2014 by CathyB

I bought this a few weeks ago. I teach singing and want to give pupils a copy of their lessons to review. What is good automatic: sound levelling so no need to worry about clipping, great quality sound, wide angle captures room well, good quality video even in normal artificial lighting. What could be better: the wide angle is very wide so in larger venues you need to put the camera close to the action which is not always possible. For me the addition of an optical zoom would be ideal even if it made the product more expensive. I would like to see a higher bit rate option(s) recording AAC sound. An option of SD video recording would make file sizes more manageable. Using a phone as a monitor is great however playback to phone / tablet would be a very useful addition as transferring the file then playing it is much too slow (even if you have room to store the file on the phone). The documentation could be better: for example how to set the ideal sound level, how to merge the 4GB files it creates etc. Finally the MVR studio software is OK but very limited and I found I mainly use Playmemories Home

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

HUMMMMM

HDR-MV1 29/09/2014 by USA hater

okay but why not a flip open screen to see what your filming. Would it of cost so much more?????????????

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

a must for youtuber musicians

HDR-MV1 05/06/2014 by peteg

Bought this so i could record my musician kids to post on you tube. The main attraction to me buying this product was the sound quality. I was more than happy with the sound quality this little beauty produces, sounds fantastic. If i lost my Sony hdr mv1 i would buy another the next day, i love it. The picture quality is excellent, love the wide angled lens, great for capturing a whole band. Well done to sony for this great little camera, i ordered mine before it was selling in the UK. Was calling up the shop every day asking is it in yet, so glad i choose this product the videos i posted on YouTube have gone down a storm.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1