Starting at

RRP

€272.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
123

4.1 based on 123 customer reviews

61
34
14
7
7
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great budget soundbar

HT-CT290 20/07/2017 by ipharris

Great price. Easy to set up, interacts with my Sony TV & blu-ray flawlessly. Also easy connection with my Sony z & other non Sony products I own. Fantastic budget soundbar, go buy one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Some issues with syncing.

HT-CT290 16/01/2018 by NRGray

Am very happy with the sound, and love the fact the Sub is wireless that requires no set up. However, I do have two problem with the sound bar. 1. I have a syncing issues with the sound from the Sky box. I can not find anyway on the sound bar to adjust this, no problem with the other sources, and no problem when using the TV speakers. It only occurs when using the HDMI cable rather than the optical. I prefer to use optical however the I loose the auto power / arc feature, bit of a design floor. 2. Then arc auto power on / off feature seems to loose it's memory evrytime I turn the system off by the mains. I have everything on and if I turn the TV to standby the sound bars goes off as one would hope. When I turn the TV on again the sound bar follows, great. However then at night when I turn everything off by the mains, the following morning I turn the power on and the TV on and no sound bar! It would now need to be manual powered.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

123 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Simply sounds better

HT-CT290 12/12/2018 by Musi

Sound bar improves the experience of virtually every programme, films are so much better and musi is enhanced greatly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A must for any current TV

HT-CT290 12/12/2018 by Fazerroy

With out this sound bar, voices, music and background noises are really poor on most of the current crop of TV’s. Using the sound bar gives you vocal clarity, sonic highs plus great bass response.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very welcome freebie

HT-CT290 01/12/2018 by MP23

Came free with my Sony Bravia purchased through John Lewis. We’ve not used a sound bar before so noticed a massive difference with and without the device. Has different modes for when you’re watching a film or tv and again there’s a noticeable difference that adds positively to the viewing experience. Reason I’m not giving 5 stars is because sometimes it doesn’t immediately connect with tv or it switches off if tv is paused or doesn’t sync perfectly with picture & I have to switch both devices off & on again

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing sound quality and accessability

HT-CT290 09/11/2018 by LurzLionheart

This product gives out a solid sound quality that has enhanced my experience of watching movies at home and listening to my music, whilst around the house. The fact that it has minimal wires makes it REALLY simple to set up and have around the room (my sub woofer is hidden behind the door but it still gives a great bassy sound that fills the room). Linking this device to smart phones and tablets is easy, either with the WiFi or Bluetooth connection. I was sceptical about getting a new soundbar system but glad I have as it is a lot smaller and better than my previous Pioneer home theatre system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice smart system

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 07/11/2018 by Pitseaboris

Lovely sound bar, nice and easy setup. Looks wicked and sounds wicked

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great value for money

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 07/11/2018 by rachel

Fantastic value for money great sound quilaty

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Disappointed

HT-CT290 06/11/2018 by Gilly1

Bought this believing it would improve the sound of voices (news etc.)but hardly noticed the difference. More annoyingly is that over a period of time a 'tinnyness' has developed as if the speakers are vibrating and distorting the sound on relatively low setting. An engineer will now be attending my home to examine, arranged by John Lewis who are brilliant and get my 5 stars for customer service.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

2

0

The subwoofer just works for one year...

HT-CT290 03/11/2018 by Renxiang

I bought this product one year ago. But now the subwoofer is not working. I haven't got time to go the fix. It was disappointing. Because it last just for one year. The speak is still ok. Hope you see my review and can arrange for fix!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Fits in with tv stand and does not stand out.

HT-CT290 02/11/2018 by Teflon

I have had it for three weeks and it is performing very well with good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Soundbar that fully compliments my Sony TV

HT-CT290 01/11/2018 by bulko

I have had this unit for over 2 weeks & it is extremely versatile with great sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Out of sync

HT-CT290 30/10/2018 by Soaringman

I bought this a month ago, together with a new Sony 65” TV. Both give a lovely picture and sound, however I am very frustrated, because even though I have connected the products as shown in the instructions, after a while the sound goes out of sync with the picture, and can only be rectified by switching the tv and soundbar one-off and on again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Rubbish!

HT-CT290 29/10/2018 by Geoffds

I bought this recently along with a new 55" Sony TV and the two things just do not sync, Sony don't give a toss and neither to CurrysPC World

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great soundbar.

HT-CT290 26/10/2018 by JCC_Somerset

Great integration with TV. Does too big or brash so it does not become the focus of the room.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lip synch

HT-CT290 25/10/2018 by Lisa90

Lip synch is a massive issue. After numerous phone calls I was told" you will just have to get used to it" team know how at Currys where really unhelpful. The sound bar was a complete waste of money

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Good quality sound and very easy set up

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 23/10/2018 by Bennyboy1974

I purchased this with a Sony TV and found that the sound was OK, not amazing home theatre sound but good for what i wanted it for. I purchased an expensive 4K 16Gbs HDMI cable and the sound seemed to come to life, the Bass was much better and the sound now fills the room. Like the wireless sub too and have found that the sound is better if the sub is behind me, gives a better feeling of depth in the sound. Would recommend this product

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good but not great sound

HT-CT290 22/10/2018 by Bennyboy1974

Got this to go with my Sony 4K TV and PS4 Pro and the set up was nice and easy, however, first imprressions of the sound, whilst good was not great with not much in the way of bass through whilst watching the TV. I upgraded my HDMI cable to a more expensive 18Gps 4k cable and the results were much better. The bass came alive much more and the sound whilst playing the PS4 Pro and watching Blu Ray movies was really good. Never going to be as good as a full home theatre system but perfect for a gaming-set up. The wireless sub woofer is a great addition and have found that I get the best bass from it when it is away from the TV and behind where I am sitting, also gives the sound more depth.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sony 55in 4k

HT-CT290 20/10/2018 by tommy 57

Very happy with tv lots of features that i have not explored yet picture quality is excellent setting up tv for first time was easy highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 09/10/2018 by Imanoodle2

Nice sounding speakers nice design. Wall mountable I've hung it on the wall above my tv.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Goes out of sync with TV

HT-CT291 01/10/2018 by Notnat

Bought this and a sony bravia TV and can not, despite searching internet and sony site, get them to stay in sync. Sound lags the picture. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good Value, Poor Bass Quality

HT-CT290 21/09/2018 by pcjoe

I purchased this unit to compliment a Bravia TV and in that case it works well however the bass sound quality is only ok.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic audio, not so fantastic features

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 12/09/2018 by MedievalTurkey

For just pure audio reproduction this sound bar is brilliant - the bass in particular is perfect and super detailed. Being able to change the volume of the bar and subwoofer independently is a great bonus. However, the little extra modes it has (Voice, Night etc) are all garbage. They do terrible and inexplicable things to the audio balance. Even Music mode just crushes the entire output into the mid range. Leave it default and don't touch it.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony Sound bar

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 12/09/2018 by Aleaa

Great sound and design, in 100% with the price

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

I expected better

HT-CT290 12/09/2018 by Lasher

I brought this to go with my Sony Bravia 49” ultra HD TV as it is a slimline soundbar and fits in front of the TV without obstructing the TV’s remote control point. It was easy to install and it does provide great sound, complimenting the TV very well. I connect the units via an HDMI ARC connection HOWEVER, I have 2 issues with the soundbar, Firstly, I tend to watch most of my digital TV through a SKy Q satellite receiver and the sound often drops out of sync. The Sky box does have a facility to correct sound/vision sync issues when connecting via HDMI ARC but, even when I have corrected the error, it will often appear again a few minutes later. For instance, when watching BBC news, we found that the newsreader was out of sync whilst the field reports were in sync. We switch channels and it sometimes is in sync and sometimes out. We use digital services such as Prime and Netflix and sometimes they are in sync and other times not. Similarly, sometimes even watching a Movie on my Sony Blu-Ray player will have some scenes in and out of sync. IT REALLY SHOULD NOT BE THIS DIFFICULT!! My other issue is that, when watching an action movie (Avengers) the other night, I found myself having to keep changing the volume as the dialogue was too quiet and then the action scenes were too loud. This may be a settings issue which I will peresevere with. Overall, I would give this 3 out of 5. It does produce good sound but I would not expect to have these issues when pairing it with other Sony devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Simple to use but broken within 14 months

HT-CT290 04/09/2018 by Glynn

I we have enjoyed using the sound bar but the main unit refuses to switch on after only 14 months of hardly any use. Guarantee is only for 12 months so not really worth the money

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0