Skip to Content
50

4.5 based on 50 customer reviews

33
11
4
1
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great budget soundbar

HT-CT290 20/07/2017 by ipharris

Great price. Easy to set up, interacts with my Sony TV & blu-ray flawlessly. Also easy connection with my Sony z & other non Sony products I own. Fantastic budget soundbar, go buy one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

So frustrating!

HT-CT290 23/11/2017 by PL2212

Although the sound is fairly good, this sound bar’s height is a good half inch above the bottom of the new Sony tv it came with. This means that when it is in front of the TV on a table top set up, it prevents the TV remote connecting with the TV - an amateur design fault in my opinion. We’ve had to raise the TV so unless you are in the minority and are wall mounting this set up, expect much frustration and fiddling!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

50 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Some issues with syncing.

HT-CT290 16/01/2018 by NRGray

Am very happy with the sound, and love the fact the Sub is wireless that requires no set up. However, I do have two problem with the sound bar. 1. I have a syncing issues with the sound from the Sky box. I can not find anyway on the sound bar to adjust this, no problem with the other sources, and no problem when using the TV speakers. It only occurs when using the HDMI cable rather than the optical. I prefer to use optical however the I loose the auto power / arc feature, bit of a design floor. 2. Then arc auto power on / off feature seems to loose it's memory evrytime I turn the system off by the mains. I have everything on and if I turn the TV to standby the sound bars goes off as one would hope. When I turn the TV on again the sound bar follows, great. However then at night when I turn everything off by the mains, the following morning I turn the power on and the TV on and no sound bar! It would now need to be manual powered.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great value

HT-CT290 16/01/2018 by Marvell

I bought this to team with my new 55inch Sony 4K TV. I already have experience of how good Sony soundbars are, as I have had them for previous Sony TVs. This new one has an amazing sound range. The cinematic sound encompasses dimension and proximity such that one has the effect of being with the situation playing in the video screen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT290 15/01/2018 by Papa2

Bought 6 weeks ago, very pleased with the sound quality and connectivity. Sound goes out of sinc with tv picture after a time and turning off/on resets it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony sound bar,

HT-CT290 09/01/2018 by Nikon810

I bought the sound bar to go with a new tv I bought just after Christmas, overall the sound is great and it does exactly as it should. However the sound keeps on going out of sync and is very frustrating trying to watch the tv with mouths opening and sound coming slightly after. I bought the unit to replace an old surround sound system that had given years of great sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sony HT-CT290 300W 2.1Ch Sound Bar with Wireless S

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 03/01/2018 by Matteus

Nice sound but does have a tendancy for some latency / echo / bad sound picture synching. I found this is improved by ensuring the TV is unsynched and TV volume right down before activating the device. It is a nice feature that it double's up as a Bluetooth speaker. All in all good value for money

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good sound when in sync

HT-CT290 02/01/2018 by Maxwellplum

Keeps losing sync with dialogue in programmes, so have to keep turning off and back on. Very frustrating and if continues will return it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Looks good

HT-CT290 31/12/2017 by cobbie

not had it long not really tried all the features, but will be shortly

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

brilliant sound

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 30/12/2017 by mojo

m.ore than pleased with this soundbar. & the wireless subwoofer is really good, put it anywhere you want.set up is very straight forward.i was going to buy another one, but noticed the price had gone up. but all in all well satisfied.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great soundbar

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 30/12/2017 by Chrissyb

Excellent soundbar a real rich deep sound and the bass from the sub woofer makes your insides shake fantastic buy

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Impressive looks, disappointing bass output.

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 29/12/2017 by Adam

The sound bar is slick and looks great under a tv, the same goes for the subwoofer, easy to set up and very slick looking. However, the bass was not powerful enough and even on full volume, the subwoofer failed to provide the rich bass that I was looking for, would recommend to anyone looking for a minor upgrade to tv sound as sound bar treble was crisp and clear. Would not recommend to any music lovers looking for a well-rounded cinema sound.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony Sound Bar -

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 29/12/2017 by Abz

Really love this- syncs with my Samsung LED Tv sound is fabulous- Sub woofer could do with being louder but nonetheless worth the purchase.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sound bar

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 28/12/2017 by ross

I can now hear what they are saying on the TV also great sound listening to CDs.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

love the additional sound depth and looks great!

HT-CT290 20/12/2017 by T1m_2k2

i bought this as part of a deal with my new Sony television, i'm extremely happy with the product. It adds great depth of sound and bass to the television, looks great with my media unit. Very happy, no issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony sound bar attached to son6 tv

HT-CT290 15/12/2017 by Poor man

Bought this with a Sony tv. It took a while to set up! It may be me but only managed to get it working well after I bought a HDMI Cable. It can not be beyond the manufacturers to include a HMDI cable with it. The remote did not work which was part of the difficulty in setting it up. The sony rep in the shop where it was bought was of little help apart from saying contact Sony. At the suggestion of a younger person in the household, replaced the supplied Sony batteries with new ones and the remote came to life! A working remote made setting up a lot easier. Now that it is working we are enjoying the sound quality which is very superior to that of the tv speakers. Would recommend it but buy a hdmi cable at the same time and perhaps have alternative batteries at hand!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Smart

HT-CT290 13/12/2017 by Poorross

I can now hear what they are saying on the TV also great sound listening to music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony soundbar

HT-CT290 10/12/2017 by Wend

bought the sound bar two weeks ago and we are very happy with the sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent product

HT-CT290 04/12/2017 by Klippies

It looks to be a great product and came free with our TV purchase. I have plugged it in and set it up, but frnkly the sound on the Sony Bravia we purchased is soo good that we seldom use this item.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

first sound bar

HT-CT291 03/12/2017 by Yondan

Really easy to install and what a difference to just using the TV's sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice and neat

HT-CT290 02/12/2017 by DyhK

Soundbar to replace a wired 2.1 system makes it so much tidier in terms of cables and speakers. The Bluetooth subwoofer works very well and out of the way. My wife finds it so easy to use as not having to remember to switch to the correct audio inputs from various devices.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 30/11/2017 by James

Love this product the catalog of movies channels ect are endless. And with the added bonus of Alex press the button ask for a film or song and it will find it. 100% would recommend this.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great sound & no wires !

HT-CT290 29/11/2017 by Cookie57

This product came as a package when i purchased the Sony t.v. I’ve had a Panasonic surround sound before I got this , & it was hard to hear the voices when watching a movie with action or music as it was very boomy I tried all settings but still was not very enjoyable to the point I wouldn’t turn it on .This Sony sound bar with Bluetooth is very pleasing to listen to use it every time with tv highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super Sound Bar

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 29/11/2017 by TheOldCoote

A great improvement to the usual TV sound. Not too bulky or garish. I love it!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

My first soundbar

HT-CT290 29/11/2017 by Anglngbob

This product came as a deal with the Sony Bravia TV we bought and we are happy with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

More power

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 28/11/2017 by Richard312

Had this for a month or so connected to Sony Bravia tv. Wanted it to turn on and off with tv remote and it does using ARC even though the tv doesn’t list this model as compatible. More powerful than the Sony sound bar it replaces and although I don’t care for excessive volumes it does help with the clarity I feel. Regarding the colour, it is not white. I thought it might be comparable with my “white” ps4 but no; this system is definitely a grey.

Taken from tesco.com

0

0