Starting at

RRP

€272.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
104

4.2 based on 104 customer reviews

55
27
12
6
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great budget soundbar

HT-CT290 20/07/2017 by ipharris

Great price. Easy to set up, interacts with my Sony TV & blu-ray flawlessly. Also easy connection with my Sony z & other non Sony products I own. Fantastic budget soundbar, go buy one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Some issues with syncing.

HT-CT290 16/01/2018 by NRGray

Am very happy with the sound, and love the fact the Sub is wireless that requires no set up. However, I do have two problem with the sound bar. 1. I have a syncing issues with the sound from the Sky box. I can not find anyway on the sound bar to adjust this, no problem with the other sources, and no problem when using the TV speakers. It only occurs when using the HDMI cable rather than the optical. I prefer to use optical however the I loose the auto power / arc feature, bit of a design floor. 2. Then arc auto power on / off feature seems to loose it's memory evrytime I turn the system off by the mains. I have everything on and if I turn the TV to standby the sound bars goes off as one would hope. When I turn the TV on again the sound bar follows, great. However then at night when I turn everything off by the mains, the following morning I turn the power on and the TV on and no sound bar! It would now need to be manual powered.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

104 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Good Value, Poor Bass Quality

HT-CT290 21/09/2018 by pcjoe

I purchased this unit to compliment a Bravia TV and in that case it works well however the bass sound quality is only ok.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic audio, not so fantastic features

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 12/09/2018 by MedievalTurkey

For just pure audio reproduction this sound bar is brilliant - the bass in particular is perfect and super detailed. Being able to change the volume of the bar and subwoofer independently is a great bonus. However, the little extra modes it has (Voice, Night etc) are all garbage. They do terrible and inexplicable things to the audio balance. Even Music mode just crushes the entire output into the mid range. Leave it default and don't touch it.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony Sound bar

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 12/09/2018 by Aleaa

Great sound and design, in 100% with the price

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

I expected better

HT-CT290 12/09/2018 by Lasher

I brought this to go with my Sony Bravia 49” ultra HD TV as it is a slimline soundbar and fits in front of the TV without obstructing the TV’s remote control point. It was easy to install and it does provide great sound, complimenting the TV very well. I connect the units via an HDMI ARC connection HOWEVER, I have 2 issues with the soundbar, Firstly, I tend to watch most of my digital TV through a SKy Q satellite receiver and the sound often drops out of sync. The Sky box does have a facility to correct sound/vision sync issues when connecting via HDMI ARC but, even when I have corrected the error, it will often appear again a few minutes later. For instance, when watching BBC news, we found that the newsreader was out of sync whilst the field reports were in sync. We switch channels and it sometimes is in sync and sometimes out. We use digital services such as Prime and Netflix and sometimes they are in sync and other times not. Similarly, sometimes even watching a Movie on my Sony Blu-Ray player will have some scenes in and out of sync. IT REALLY SHOULD NOT BE THIS DIFFICULT!! My other issue is that, when watching an action movie (Avengers) the other night, I found myself having to keep changing the volume as the dialogue was too quiet and then the action scenes were too loud. This may be a settings issue which I will peresevere with. Overall, I would give this 3 out of 5. It does produce good sound but I would not expect to have these issues when pairing it with other Sony devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Simple to use but broken within 14 months

HT-CT290 04/09/2018 by Glynn

I we have enjoyed using the sound bar but the main unit refuses to switch on after only 14 months of hardly any use. Guarantee is only for 12 months so not really worth the money

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

the sound bar is very good

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 04/09/2018 by Derrick

The sound bar is very good but I am a little disapointed with the sub woofer as not much sound comes out of it but it might make a difference once I view a film

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Amazing

HT-CT290 03/09/2018 by Brucelee32

Best in its class and price range , i will be buying more Sony products as time goes by.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This sound bar is excellent

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 21/08/2018 by Fabian

Very good spin for movies and sport

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great TV Soundbar

HT-CT290 10/08/2018 by Bronnti

Very happy with sound and is very stylish, easy to fit up

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product and sound, apart from the cable gap!

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 01/08/2018 by mstone28

We ar every pleased with the look and sound of this product. The only issue is that a slot was not left out of the back (as I have seen on other alternative products) to allow cables to pass behind when mounting the sound bar on the wall. This means that, when wall fixing, the sound bar is not flush against the wall which means it doesn't site snuggly on the screws and appears loose.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Nice designe, simple using, great sound!

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 01/08/2018 by Georgee

Sounds like in the cinema! Really!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good sound

HT-CT290 31/07/2018 by D292

Bought this product about 2 weeks again and so far have been pretty happy with it. Took a while to get everything set up properly but now its all done its a great addititon

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good price and good quality.

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 31/07/2018 by Gabriel

Good balance between price and quality. It does offer a clear and loud sound whatever it is for listening to music or watching movies. Very easy to set up . You have a volume for subwoofer too.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Amazing sound quality

HT-CT290 28/07/2018 by Chopkins

We are by no means experts on sound, so this review is purely for the amateur... I wanted a sound bar, my partner said it wont make much difference as TVs have good sound quality these days! Talked him in to it and we are both very impressed, we love the features to be able to go to cinema mode or voice mode depending on what we are watching. The bar automatically links as soon as you switch on the TV - love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good sound.

HT-CT290 26/07/2018 by Tony1300

With my Sony TV, I needed to use both an HDMI cable (not supplied) and the optical cable supplied to get A/V sync. The sound bar turns on and off with the TV remote.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Should be able to increase gain on sub

HT-CT290 08/07/2018 by BigBits

Have to put it on full volume before sounding OK. Should be able to configure gain and crossover for the sub. Also a really noticeable lip sync problem with the sound bar.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really good sound!

HT-CT290 27/06/2018 by Mapesy

Sounds really great and so easy to set up. Just plug in and the Bluetooth automatically connected without me having to do anything. I would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Is brill.

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 15/06/2018 by Dot

I love it. Sound rights is very good product

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Very good, and very easy setup

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 06/06/2018 by Georgio

I bought with my TV, and the setup is very easy. Sound quality is good.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Not bad but poor bass

HT-CT290 01/06/2018 by bigboatman

Got this to go with my 32" Sony bravia tv in the bedroom. The bad points: The sound bar sounds a bit tinny, (high treble) and believe it or not the speakers in the TV actually sound warmer than the sound bar so I was initially disappointed (its a shame that the Sony set up turns the TV speakers off when it detects the sound bar). The bass from the sub only really comes into play when watching a movie (eg from Netflix) and does add a bit of depth if turned up full, certainly better than the TV speakers alone but you can't really hear much from it when watching "normal" TV (but you can if watching something on HD on Freeview). Also when the sub does work its not very controlled, a bit loose and wooly but then I'm comparing it to some pretty high end kit in my lounge so maybe I'm being a bit harsh (at this price point). I cant really tell much difference between the different sound fields (Movie, Music, Voice), Clear Audio + is ok for watching the news I guess (but I usually just use the TV speakers). Have had some lip sync issues, sometimes turning it off and back on sorts it, sometimes not (I'm using HDMI connected to the ARC HDMI on the TV. The good points: Its easy to connect to by Bluetooth with my (and other peoples phones) to play music and sounds ok. Portability, ok its a fair size but easily unplugged from the tv and moved up to the wheelhouse on my boat to bang some tunes out while cruising down the canal, it goes plenty loud enough! Also good to use at bbq's. The sound bar audio is very clear (but as I said at the detriment of sounding a little tinny). Bluetooth connection of the sub is a doddle (I have it under my bed) For a bedroom it does add a bit of depth when watching movies and is just about adequate but if I had bought this for my lounge I would have returned it. It looks good (I suppose).

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Rubbish

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 31/05/2018 by Mo

Not very good quality. Returned the item and purchased the LG cheaper and better quality.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Ease of use, seamlessly integrates

HT-CT290 30/05/2018 by RufusAyeni

Bundled with my new Sony Bravia TV. Good buy, A+++

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

It’s was good

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 30/05/2018 by Es

It’s sound nice very good

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good Sound for the price

HT-CT290 25/05/2018 by Decibel

I purchased this with a new Sony TV and am very pleased with the sound quality for the price. The bass woofer makes a big difference with this sound bar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1