Starting at

RRP

€272.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
86

4.2 based on 86 customer reviews

47
20
9
6
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great budget soundbar

HT-CT290 20/07/2017 by ipharris

Great price. Easy to set up, interacts with my Sony TV & blu-ray flawlessly. Also easy connection with my Sony z & other non Sony products I own. Fantastic budget soundbar, go buy one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Some issues with syncing.

HT-CT290 16/01/2018 by NRGray

Am very happy with the sound, and love the fact the Sub is wireless that requires no set up. However, I do have two problem with the sound bar. 1. I have a syncing issues with the sound from the Sky box. I can not find anyway on the sound bar to adjust this, no problem with the other sources, and no problem when using the TV speakers. It only occurs when using the HDMI cable rather than the optical. I prefer to use optical however the I loose the auto power / arc feature, bit of a design floor. 2. Then arc auto power on / off feature seems to loose it's memory evrytime I turn the system off by the mains. I have everything on and if I turn the TV to standby the sound bars goes off as one would hope. When I turn the TV on again the sound bar follows, great. However then at night when I turn everything off by the mains, the following morning I turn the power on and the TV on and no sound bar! It would now need to be manual powered.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

87 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Is brill.

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 15/06/2018 by Dot

I love it. Sound rights is very good product

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Very good, and very easy setup

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 06/06/2018 by Georgio

I bought with my TV, and the setup is very easy. Sound quality is good.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Not bad but poor bass

HT-CT290 01/06/2018 by bigboatman

Got this to go with my 32" Sony bravia tv in the bedroom. The bad points: The sound bar sounds a bit tinny, (high treble) and believe it or not the speakers in the TV actually sound warmer than the sound bar so I was initially disappointed (its a shame that the Sony set up turns the TV speakers off when it detects the sound bar). The bass from the sub only really comes into play when watching a movie (eg from Netflix) and does add a bit of depth if turned up full, certainly better than the TV speakers alone but you can't really hear much from it when watching "normal" TV (but you can if watching something on HD on Freeview). Also when the sub does work its not very controlled, a bit loose and wooly but then I'm comparing it to some pretty high end kit in my lounge so maybe I'm being a bit harsh (at this price point). I cant really tell much difference between the different sound fields (Movie, Music, Voice), Clear Audio + is ok for watching the news I guess (but I usually just use the TV speakers). Have had some lip sync issues, sometimes turning it off and back on sorts it, sometimes not (I'm using HDMI connected to the ARC HDMI on the TV. The good points: Its easy to connect to by Bluetooth with my (and other peoples phones) to play music and sounds ok. Portability, ok its a fair size but easily unplugged from the tv and moved up to the wheelhouse on my boat to bang some tunes out while cruising down the canal, it goes plenty loud enough! Also good to use at bbq's. The sound bar audio is very clear (but as I said at the detriment of sounding a little tinny). Bluetooth connection of the sub is a doddle (I have it under my bed) For a bedroom it does add a bit of depth when watching movies and is just about adequate but if I had bought this for my lounge I would have returned it. It looks good (I suppose).

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Rubbish

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 31/05/2018 by Mo

Not very good quality. Returned the item and purchased the LG cheaper and better quality.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Ease of use, seamlessly integrates

HT-CT290 30/05/2018 by RufusAyeni

Bundled with my new Sony Bravia TV. Good buy, A+++

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

It’s was good

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 30/05/2018 by Es

It’s sound nice very good

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good Sound for the price

HT-CT290 25/05/2018 by Decibel

I purchased this with a new Sony TV and am very pleased with the sound quality for the price. The bass woofer makes a big difference with this sound bar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Looks and sounds great

HT-CT290 22/05/2018 by KARLNILIESTHE1ST

I bought this a few weeks ago I'm absolutely happy overall with this product very very good sound quality would recommend to anyone well done sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not as yet impressed

HT-CT290 21/05/2018 by Ray117

Bought this along with a Sony TV, as yet not over impressed with the audio performance,maybe need to spend a bit more time tweaking the settings

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

simple to set up, good sound quality for the money

HT-CT290 20/05/2018 by ross37

This was free with a new TV, so wasn't expecting much. Have been very pleasantly surprised by the quality of sound. Very easy to install too!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very dissapointed

HT-CT290 19/05/2018 by Goldfish2

I bought the soundbar with a new Sony 4K television thinking I would have no problems. However the soundbar is out of lip synch with all sources and it could not be fixed. I had to return it and swapped for a Yamaha soundbar which is fine.Looking on line I see this is a common problem with Sony soundbars. I did not install it incorrectly. I am a sound engineer.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Nice features, simple to use

HT-CT290 18/05/2018 by Johnl18

I bought this 2 weeks ago. Problem with vice sync which is very frustrating. I believe there is software issues that Sony are trying to fix.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer support
28/05/2018

Hi Johnl18,

Thank you for your feedback
We recommend getting in touch with our customer support to get help with this. You can find the contact details in this link: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Sony support team.

0

Superb sound quality.

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 16/05/2018 by Daniel

For the build quality and the sound I can't complain at all for the price of this product. Rad previous reviews which lead me to chose this one. Very easy to setup and install, plugged in and working within 10 minutes.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sub woofer died after four months

HT-CT290 13/05/2018

After only four months the sub woofer died and would no longer power on. I had to take to a Sony repair centre who have had it for a week so far and I am waiting to hear when it will be repaired It also often fails to turn on when the tv is powered on Sound is ok but not as good as my last surround sound system. Not much bass from the sub woofer

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 11/05/2018 by Shell

Sony HT-CT290 300W 2.1Ch Sound Bar with Wireless Subwoofer Is brilliant everyone needs to get one xxx

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great sound and looks good

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 11/05/2018 by Faroutman

Very easy to set up much better than my denon sound base

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Completely Satisfied

HT-CT290 06/05/2018 by Sam Spade

The set-up was very easy and everything worked straight away with no problems. Sound quality is excellent - very clear. Base is very good provided, of couse, that you are watching something that has a soundtrack that includes a good base.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better than I expected

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 03/04/2018 by Byker

Lovely smooth sound. Easy to set up. We are very pleased with our purchase.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sound output

HT-CT290 29/03/2018 by Finto

Bought this sound bar 3 months ago and am not happy.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Good sound

HT-CT290 19/03/2018 by Ned44

Bought 2 weeks ago much better than tv sound Easily set up

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not great

HT-CT290 / HT-CT291 16/03/2018

Bought this to replace an old Samsung soundbar that the subwoofer had packed in, the Sony soundbar is pretty good as long as you have the volume cranked up to around 50 and upwards, anything below that and it sounds no better than my tvs own speakers (Sony bravia 55")

Taken from tesco.com

0

0

0

Fantastic Product - Buy It

HT-CT290 15/03/2018 by BillAtTheSeaside

The sound quality, dynamic range and volume of this Sound Bar is unbelievable! It made me get rid of my beloved Hi-Fi System because the Sound Bar sounds better. I bought it with a Sony Bravia 4K HDR TV. Downloading Spotify was simple and the sound makes the hairs on my neck stand up! I can easily Bluetooth into it from my phone and the sound is still incredible. It's the best rendition of MP3 files I have ever heard. Buy it and you won't be disappointed. FANTASTIC!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Glad I spent the extra 20 quid for the model

HT-CT290 15/03/2018 by SM1234

Great sound, only niggle is sound delay vs picture on some programmes

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It’s okay

HT-CT290 15/03/2018 by Kyoti

A basic sound and for the price good sounds and base. Yes it is better than the TV speakers. Limited functions both on the sound bar and the remote. Unable to correct lip sink issues due to no A/V functions, one of the fixes Sony suggests. Only used with a second TV in the kitchen so I’ll live with for a while. Would definitely go for a better sound bar for the main TV.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0