86

4.3 based on 86 customer reviews

53
19
8
1
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

87 Customer Reviews

0

hand set only works with in a meter of box

HT-X8500 28/02/2021 by tommyyy

Hand set only works with in a meter of the box is this normal

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Expensive for what you get

HT-X8500 27/02/2021 by cool1000

Im not sure if it's the sony TV 55in or the sonud bar but when i turn the tv on the sound bar comes on but does not activate on with the tv it uses the tv speakers till i manual turn speakers on with tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Nice soundbar but lacks simple features

HT-X8500 19/02/2021 by Cdot

The sound is alright once you've pressed about a million buttons but the bar is really let down by some minor things. Also some sound setting seem to be useless, maybe its what we're listening to so that is open to investigation. 1. Remote layout - are all the sound mode or special affect buttons placed together.. No they're not 2. On screen display - managed to have this when you change the volume but for anything else you either use which LEDs have lit up (the ones on the left or right) or just a guess because the same LEDs indicate when turning on and off. Its like a game bit a really awful one 3. Connection - want to add to your sound bar no can do. I mean the thing is huge, surely there was room for some extra ports, or just use the existing wireless connections. This was a fair bit of money for us and the little thing really do take away from the excitement of finally getting a sound bar.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Great sound quality with good base

HT-X8500 09/02/2021 by Chrisi123

I bought this soundbar for a double sized bedroom 40" TV, and wall hung it accordingly. I always struggled to hear voice through the TV speakers and wanted something that would give clarity, a bit of base and any effects would be a bonus. This soundbar ticked these requirements with abundance. And I don't need to have it up loud either....which I am sure will be of some relief to the neighbour. In a room this size the Atmos effect works remarkably well too. Whilst I paid more than I might have meant for a bedroom amplifier, I am glad that I did and well pleased with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

HT-X8500 31/01/2021 by Amackem

I purchased this for my conservatory as as was sick of not being able to hear the tele when it rained. I needed a boost and this fits the bill I placed it onto of my TV and it works perfect Looks good and blends in

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really good, nearly as good as my previous one

HT-X8500 23/01/2021 by Jimbo47

I used to have a wired surround sound with a sub woofer, but my wife didn't like the wires so we went for the all in one. The surround sound is really deceptive, sometimes I hear sounds and wonder where they come from. It sounds like the other room, but its coming from the soundbar straight in front of you.The only problem is the led display on the top, you can't see it, it should be on the front.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb sound

HT-X8500 22/01/2021 by Jimbo 99

Two weeks into use very happy with product sound great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

looks good under my Sony tv

HT-X8500 18/01/2021 by Vulcanb

Great sound coming from box in my apartment ,sport sounds good because I have dolby plus UHD

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent cinema sound

HT-X8500 18/01/2021 by stevdo56

Bought to replace old sounder with separate subwoofer. This sound bar is very neat and looks great under the tv. The sound is very good especially on cinema mode

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 17/01/2021 by Lisak46

Just bought this today and I'm so happy with it ,, the sounds are fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Soundbar HT-X8500.

HT-X8500 17/01/2021 by Chris P Dy

Bought it last week and works very well. Was very easy to set up and connect to TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound bar.

HT-X8500 16/01/2021 by 7007

I bought this just before Christmas along with a Sony Bravia android smart TV. Has great sound and features and goes very well with the TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awful connectivity

HT-X8500 08/01/2021 by Exasperated99

Will not connect to a Sony Bravia with ARC HDMI, only the optical cable, been through all soundbar and TV instructions and Sony on line help and still no joy. If I am doing something wrong then why do all the instructions and help line not put me right? I would have expected Sony to be a click and play when talking to other Sony products

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Sony HT-x8500

HT-X8500 08/01/2021 by martin1010

I bought this 2 months ago and the atmos function works very intermittently , contacted sony support pretty unhelpful , just send out pages of user manual which don't resolve issue, they then ask you to contact one their support agents , nearest one to me is 60 miles away and also expect you to pay postage costs in my case £30.00 , will never buy sony again , very poor value for the money paid

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

0

0

0

Sound bar

HT-X8500 06/01/2021 by Raph009

Very good sound bar, but I’ve had issues with the sound disconnecting.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Simple and mighty

HT-X8500 04/01/2021 by Kolli44444

Excellent product from Sony if you don't actually want to setup 6-8 speakers in your room. It does a great job with 1 soundbar!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Amazing

HT-X8500 02/01/2021 by Station

Purchased this sound bar for Christmas what a great move. Films, sport, documentaties etc. Makes watching tv a totally different experince would not be with it now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fantastic sound

HT-X8500 01/01/2021 by Wozz

I've had my soundbar a few weeks now and I'm still finding things out about it. Great sound and goes great with my sony bravia TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product!

HT-X8500 26/12/2020 by MN07

Had the product three weeks now. Brilliant product as you would expect from Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to Use

HT-X8500 26/12/2020 by Grandad2

I bought this product three weeks ago as a replacement for my Sony Home Cinema system to be honest this does not give the same sound quality but I got fed up listening to the sound produced by the TV and I linked it to a new 4k DVD player the ease of set up was good and not having speakers all over the living room certainly pleased my wife. For the size of the product the sound quality is good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb sound, and loud. Fantastic piece of kit.

HT-X8500 23/12/2020 by Robby35

Sony is top of the tree as far as I'm concerned. Never had poor equipment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

HT-X8500 18/12/2020 by RickyR

For me I found setting up sound bar was easy following instructions along with fast delivery. The sound ranges are amazing using all its capabilities. For anyone thinking of buying a sound bar at a very reasonable price which delivers a quality sound then I would suggest you will not be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great piece of kit.....

HT-X8500 12/12/2020 by Kirkster18

Bought the X8500 to replace older wired system and haven’t been disappointed. The set up to our Sony TV was plug and play out of the box and easy to synch with SkyQ. Sound is good in an average size living room and Bluetooth connection for music good too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value, fantastic sound

HT-X8500 10/12/2020 by DrMac

Lovely deep rich sound fills the room beautifully. Neat and easy to control

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A great soundbar, but not for everyone

HT-X8500 28/11/2020 by Wightknight

This is a very capable soundbar with a good, balanced sound presentation. The bass is good but not overwhelming. It has puzzled me why the reviews have been so polarised, either five stars or one. I think I understand why. To get the best from this soundbar, you need to connect it via HDMI to a TV that supports ARC/eARC. Remember that Atmos is only supported over eARC or where a component such as a Blu-ray player is connected directly. If you want bass that will shake the furniture, you need a soundbar with a subwoofer; a soundbar on its own will still produce plenty of bass, but with limits. Please don’t expect this soundbar to produce the same surround effects as a system with several speakers. Having said that, this soundbar produces a decent soundstage with some vertical effects. This soundbar is ideal for those who live in a flat or don’t want rumbling bass to disturb others in the house. It will provide scale and weight to improve your enjoyment of movies, sports events and music. It is a good soundbar, but it won’t be right for everyone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

15

0

0

X8500 Soundbar

HT-X8500 19/11/2020 by Phil C 88

We are very pleased with our purchase overall. However, there were conflicting connection instructions which was frustrating to say the least The printed leaflet supplied in the box said to connect my existing Sony DVD Player X500 to the Soundbar HDMI slot which caused the speaker to crackle. However,Sony Support on 020 7365 2810 advised me to connect it directly to my AG8 OLED TV and it now works fine. I wish the colour of the Sounbar was Black rather than Grey so that it matches my AG8 TV I have it connected to. The lights on top are difficult to understand and remember, it would be so much better to have a small digital display on the front.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Excellent Soundbar - Great Value for Money

HT-X8500 16/11/2020 by Swervynmervyn

I bought this to go with my Sony KD55XG8505 TV. It fits perfectly between the TV stand legs. The sound from the TV was very good for a flat screen TV, but I decided I would like a little more depth of sound. The soundbar linked very easily with the TV, although an on screen display would have helped as I experimented with the various sound options. The soundbar feels very well made and gives an excellent depth and field of sound. It provides a real cinematic experience when playing a Blu-ray DVD. If you do not want a number of speakers dotted around the room to give surround sound then this provides almost as good an experience in a soundbar that will sit neatly under your TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

GREAT SOUNDBAR WITH GREAT FEATURES.

HT-X8500 28/10/2020 by Goldwater

THIS IS AN EXCELLENT DOLBY ATMOS SOUNDBAR FROM SONY. MOVIE WATCHING HAS BECOME FUN AGAIN WITH CINEMA SOUND. IT PAIRS EASILY WITH A SONY TELEVISION SO YOU DON'T NEED THE SOUNDBAR REMOTE UNLESS YOU WANT TO PLAY MUSIC OR CHANGE SETTINGS.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very disappointed!

HT-X8500 20/10/2020 by NeilS9

So, so disappointed with the HT-X8500 – I expected so much better from a Sony product. I’ve never bought a sound bar before so I was swayed by reading some excellent reviews about this one …but after buying it I found it hard to believe the reviews were about the same thing I’d bought. Physically the HT-X8500 looks and feels good, but the overall sound quality is really poor – there is little clarity and no dynamic range to speak of …my Samsung TV speakers sound better, so for me this was a complete waste of money.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Good listening

HT-X8500 06/10/2020 by Tallone16

Excellent from switching it on. The sound is amazing

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

WOW

HT-X8500 06/10/2020 by Stan_of_Saxons

What a unit... 1st class. It's better than the Sky Sound box I have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best Atmos per pound

HT-X8500 25/09/2020 by Sean_W

Having finally bought a new TV after 12 years, I was looking to get an eARC HDMI compatible soundbar with Dolby Atmos for virtual surround sound straight through the TV from the upcoming PS5 / XBox Series X releases. Getting a suitable TV was expensive, so I was relatively low on budget and ended up finding this. For the price you wont find another futureproofed soundbar with more features. The only drawback is that eARC overrides the passthrough of sound from an external device to the soundbar, so one device I had using digital optical output to completely bypass the TV (and potentially any lag) just always automatically goes back through the eARC HDMI instead

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Love the sound, love the bass undertones.

HT-X8500 13/09/2020 by Ste701

I wanted a high quality soundbar and this is just the ticket. Lovely bass sound, different sound features depending on what you are viewing or listening to

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Difficult to setup

HT-X8500 10/09/2020 by Mal0122

Difficult to setup but once it was working with my 3 year old 4K UHD curved Samsung TV, after buying a high speed hdmi lead and starting the setup from scratch, it works fine. The sound quality is adequate but disappointed with Dolby Atmos as it is not as I thought it would be. I nearly returned the soundbar but decided to see how it goes.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

So far - very happy

HT-X8500 10/09/2020 by Bravie

We bought this as a partner to our Sony Bravia KD43XH8196 which we bought two weeks ago and so far we are very pleased with it, although I'm still learning how to use it properly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good Product.

HT-X8500 31/08/2020 by Cuke

Purchased this product to use with my smart TV and I and I am quite impressed with the sound and features. No issues with lip sync at all and the soundbar works well with the tv's builtin apps. I would be happier if there was a little more bass and if I could add a separate bass speaker I would but unfortunately I cannot do this. Over-all though the soundbar is good value for money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great quality

HT-X8500 27/08/2020 by andy d to bad

i am happy i bought this item and iam very happy with quality of the item

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Soundbar but

HT-X8500 05/08/2020

the main reason to buy this was to compliment my new tv and upgrade from an old sound system. The sound is great and makes tv programmes better, so i would recommend it for that. The down side is that it doesn't come with an onscreen display. this means that you never really know what setting you are on or what the setting was the last time it was used. This leaves to a lot of guess work and pushing of buttons. I probably would have bought something else had i know this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Great Sounds

HT-X8500 04/08/2020 by Yorkiecherry

Sounds are brilliant but disappointed with lack of onscreen display.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Not impressed.

HT-X8500 28/07/2020 by Swstn

I bought this with high expectations. I found the background sounds completely over powered the voices making it virtually impossible to follow storylines.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 27/06/2020 by Fabby 48

I bought this soundbar a few weeks ago, the sound is very good, loud and crisp especially connected with a 4k blu ray player. But the functionality is not impressive with no display on tv, the flashing lights on the top of the bar are confusing at best and they should have been on the front to be easily seen while seating down. So to summarise, this bar produces great sound, and I'm happy with it, but the lack of tv display is a real let down

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Beyond expectations

HT-X8500 22/06/2020 by Babs16

Sound when playing films is out of this world. Could be sitting in cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Compliments the TV

HT-X8500 10/06/2020 by Del5

This soundbar in a word is ”Billiant” and ands to the experience when watching various types of programmes from movies to sport.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent sound but lack of inputs.

HT-X8500 05/06/2020

So what can I say about the htx-8500. Well it's a lovely looking bar, nice rounded edges and a very simple but sleek design. One earc/arc output and one hdmi 2.0 input to connect a single device to. I would have liked one or two more inputs but I can live with only one. The input is 4K and hdr pass through, I have gotten hdr and hdr 10+ but it will not pass through dolby vision. The output handles all of the major codecs including dolby atmos. Now to the sound, I'm a little of a Sony fan boy so perhaps a little bias, but the sound quality on this is really breathtaking. You can get a good sense of height for atmos and it really shines through. I have no hesitation in reccomending this at all. Oh and if Sony wanna send me anything to review please feel free lol.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Great quality sound

HT-X8500 30/05/2020 by saintybalboa

This adds to the atmosphere when watching sporting events. Not just because of the extra volume, but the quality of sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2