RRP

€559.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
82

4.4 based on 82 customer reviews

48
25
3
2
4
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

And then I switched it on.....

HT-XT3 17/04/2016 by LPJP

I purchased the Sony HT-XT3 about 2 weeks ago after owning the HT1 for almost a year now. I knew it was going to sound better but what I wasn't prepared for was just how good it sounded. If, like me the unboxing is all part of the experience then your journey to sonic euphoria has just begun. It's beautifully packaged and just adds to the excitement of switching on. Once it was setup under my TV, connected via ARC with a high speed (yes, it makes a difference) HDMI cable you are taken through the setup process. It updated to the latest firmware then I switched it on. Ohhhhh Myyyyyy! The sound that came from the HT3 was astonishingly good, rivalling my separates system costing 10X more! It's seriously that good! The bass is deep and controlled, the midrange holding everything together beautifully and that treble is just pin sharp. I started going through my movie collection and.....wow! I'm hearing things I didn't even know were there! I then tried the Hi Res Audio side of things and it just got better and better. The music that the HT3 manages to convey is superb. Vocals are crystal clear and the bass has incredible presence without muddling it all up. Would I recommend this product? Erm.....yes, without any doubt. I spoke to my cousin, who owned a HT1 and told him about just how good this soundbase is and he went and got one that afternoon and was not disappointed. Do yourselves a favour and get one of these bad boys and enjoy just how good this soundbase is.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Many problems; Sound Sync, Switching of Source

HT-XT3 13/01/2017 by BentleyBoys

Having been sold on some of the great features of this soundbase I have to say the reality is that it just doesn't work. I like the concept of one single device with built in speakers, multiple connection options and HD sound. In practise it failed to live up to promise. I have it connected to a new Samsung TV, a SKY HD box, Amazon Fire and a Sony Blu-ray player. First problem is when powering on to a HDMI source (e.g. SKY on HDMI) it switches to USB source and the Sony Home page appears on the TV(nothing plugged in) after 30 secs meaning manual changing of the source. Second problem is the appalling sound sync issues. After maybe 30 minutes a lag develops between sound and TV picture this is with all connections going via the HT-XT3 with a single connection to the TV. I thought this might be a HDMI issue so switched everything around and put the HDMI connections direct to the TV and used the digital output TV to HT-XT3. Same problem developed after 30 minutes. I cannot recommend this product and unless Sony reply with a solution it will be going back. Thought it is proving difficult to find a replacement to match the Sony's specification.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

82 Customer Reviews

0

nice to put your tv on if not being put up on wall

HT-XT3 10/09/2018 by Dazzabury

i bought it last year and its been great for me .recomend this pruduct

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

poor firmware/software

HT-XT3 24/07/2018 by john242

I bought this in January 2017,after update later in 2017 it never worked again was stuck on Bluetooth,July 2018 I decided to look at it again to see if it would work,still nothing ,gone for repair.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Brojen

HT-XT3 12/04/2018 by DAC1

I have had this for a while and it was working fine. Did a update and it has it worked since then

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic, if you only live another year

HT-XT3 19/10/2017 by Howdomon

I bought this 14 months ago and now it wont power on anymore , changed the fuse and still not working

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Fantastic

HT-XT3 30/06/2017 by Billy1000

To start with it looks fantastic, it looks great with the tv sitting on-top or on its own. Its very useful that you can place the tv or other items on top of it eg playstation, sky/virgin box, blu ray player. The it has a good variety of connections and the remote is top quality, something that is often overlooked. The set-up and menu is a little clunky but easy enough to navigate. The main thing is ofcourse the sound quality and that is excellent. It has plenty of bass and has a number of excellent options eg night mode which automatically dials down the bass. All in all it is worth the money, even if it does seem quite expensive. Build quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Looks good

HT-XT3 24/06/2017 by Bubbles1

I had a sound bar which was too long for a new media cabinet and came with a large floor speaker. This fits the bill more and sits nicely under the tv and gives me some floor space back.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ideal replacement.....

HT-XT3 22/05/2017 by AdSendell

I wanted a replacement for my amplifier, subwoofer and surround sound speakers that was easy to install without the wires and gave good sound quality. Having researched various soundbars and soundbases i was impressed with the reviews and managed to find one as I was informed they were no longer being produced. Set up was simple with a HDMI cable linking to my tv and the sound quality is exceptional. I am more than happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds good & Integrates with other equipment

HT-XT3 22/04/2017 by Cdhume

Plenty of coverage from treble to bass. Integrates well with Sony TV and Blu Ray. Bluetooth and casting with easily from phone for sound, pictures and video. Sideview works well from my phone for control of this and other gadgets.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bluetooth pairing issues hamper a great product.

HT-XT3 04/04/2017 by Wayfinder

The Sony HT -XT3 looks and sounds great. Definitely improves the sound when watching movies or sports events.No problems at all with lip syncing. Would be 5 stars but for a problem using the Bluetooth to connect with my iPhone 5s. Initially fine, they do not now pair which is proving to be a real annoyance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sound quality great but menu options are not easy

HT-XT3 02/04/2017 by Djdunc

Goes very well with sony 4k tv and the callibration between the two is excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound in a relatively small package

HT-XT3 23/03/2017 by MacN

very good soundbase, multiple connections available not just optical.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Improves sound experience

HT-XT3 18/03/2017 by Ally9

Bought this sound base a few weeks ago. It is easy to set up and use. The sound experience is greatly improved over the tv's own speakers. Would strongly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent Sound Base

HT-XT3 16/03/2017 by Bob92

I bought this sound base to compliment the Sony TV that I bought at the same time. The product has transformed the way sound is produced from a TV with rich bass tones but also enables speech to be clearly heard.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony Sound Base

HT-XT3 16/03/2017 by Jonny Boy

A sturdy well built unit. Decent weighty sound but the staging is not quite on it. Connection through the unit can sometimes generate lag which is easily corrected but irritating. Is it perfect? No it isn't but I wouldn't take it back either.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Average sound

HT-XT3 21/02/2017 by ted8

Dialogue is not particularly clear and makes listening to films somewhat difficult

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Ht-xt3

HT-XT3 15/02/2017 by Marcussuperbus

Overall it's a very good product however on low volume I have buzzing ,static sound which I can't seem to solve

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent sound

HT-XT3 08/02/2017 by Auld Pete 56

Purchased around four weeks ago after online and in store research. I had almost decided on a Bose unit until I received a demo from a Sony rep. As soon as I heard the sound quality I was hooked.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very Happy

HT-XT3 07/02/2017 by Falcobuto

Very easy to set up. Sound nice and clear without turning up the volume, speech mode clear, movie mode thrilling. Simple remote no fuss easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceptional sound experience

HT-XT3 01/02/2017 by Lizzie c

Original purchase did no work correctly, Sony technical help were brilliant and confirmed the item was faulty. I now have the replacement and the sound it produces has far exceeded my expectation. All in all a worthwhile purchase and am looking forward to enjoying this new sound experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Looks, size, sounds, price and neatness.

HT-XT3 17/01/2017 by Diddledonald

I was unsure whether to buy a sound bar and sub. I heard about this via online reviews and saw it had received awards. Dubious as ever, I took the plunge, my am I glad I did. It's so functional, looks great and sounds amazing, truly surprising. When needed it belts out the tunes with remarkable clarity, I would recommend this to anyone. It makes soundboard a thing of the past!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Bass

HT-XT3 17/01/2017 by Mark001

First week and loving the sound bass. Crystal clear sound. Makes movies sound great. Also a good sound system to stream spotify via bluetooth or NFC.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb sound from a 2+1 marred by lip sync issues

HT-XT3 15/01/2017 by SMOD

Bought together with a Sony Bravia 55SD8505 on Black Friday. Both are excellent as attested to by all my friends however I have from the outset had an intermittent issue with a lip sync lag which appears to get worse the longer the soundbase is left on. Still trying to get to the bottom of it but appears to affect all sources over hdmi/arc.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Many problems; Sound Sync, Switching of Source

HT-XT3 13/01/2017 by BentleyBoys

Having been sold on some of the great features of this soundbase I have to say the reality is that it just doesn't work. I like the concept of one single device with built in speakers, multiple connection options and HD sound. In practise it failed to live up to promise. I have it connected to a new Samsung TV, a SKY HD box, Amazon Fire and a Sony Blu-ray player. First problem is when powering on to a HDMI source (e.g. SKY on HDMI) it switches to USB source and the Sony Home page appears on the TV(nothing plugged in) after 30 secs meaning manual changing of the source. Second problem is the appalling sound sync issues. After maybe 30 minutes a lag develops between sound and TV picture this is with all connections going via the HT-XT3 with a single connection to the TV. I thought this might be a HDMI issue so switched everything around and put the HDMI connections direct to the TV and used the digital output TV to HT-XT3. Same problem developed after 30 minutes. I cannot recommend this product and unless Sony reply with a solution it will be going back. Thought it is proving difficult to find a replacement to match the Sony's specification.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

great sound

HT-XT3 12/01/2017 by floridite

bought a month ago to complement my new 4k tv, when you switch between tv speakers and sound base the difference is amazing, the base which alters easily is deep and controllable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0