Article ID : 00261417 / Last Modified : 19/04/2021

How do I perform a software update for my TV?

    IMPORTANT: This article applies only to specific products and/or operating systems. Check Applicable Products and Categories for details.

    Automatic software updates

    Automatic TV updates ensure that your TV is kept up to date and running the latest features and software fixes. We recommend enabling automatic software updates to ensure that your TV runs optimally. Updating the TV to the latest software allows you access to the newest features and fixes specific problems.

    Note! When a software update is available, a notification message will appear when you turn your TV on. When the TV is connected to the Internet, you can check the contents of an update on the TV screen. 
    You can also watch TV while downloading the software as there is no downtime during the installation process.

    To enable automatic software updates 

    Note! You must agree to the Sony Privacy Policy in order to commence the software update process.
    Please be advised that installing an update can take up to 15 minutes. During the update process, you will not be able to use your television, and a screen with an update icon will be displayed. Please do not power off or unplug your TV during the update process.
     


    Manual software updates

    Updating the TV to the latest software allows you access to the newest features and fixes specific problems.

    Important!

    • Read the instructions carefully or you could end up causing the TV to become unresponsive or require a repair.
    • Don't turn the TV off or disconnect it from the power while it's updating.
    • Don't press any buttons, except the ones mentioned in the instructions.
    • Stop any recording before you start with the firmware update.

    To perform a software update 

    Note! You must agree to the Sony Privacy Policy in order to commence the software update process.
    Please be advised that installing an update can take up to 15 minutes. During the update process, you will not be able to use your television, and a screen with an update icon will be displayed. Please do not power off or unplug your TV during the update process.