Starting at

RRP

€589.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)Included in this price is a contribution to recycling costs of €5
453

4.5 based on 453 customer reviews

292
122
26
6
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent Smart TV

102 cm (40") 23/02/2018 by Nickbp

This is the 1st Sony Smart TV I have purchased and so far delivers what I expected

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good as a TV but Smart functions suspect.

102 cm (40") 16/09/2017 by whyusenickname

Picture and sound are good, especially the HD channels and it looks good in situ. It lacks a couple of useful functions that we previously had on our old 10 year old Sony. The instruction manual is woefully inadequate and of poor quality. Only had the TV for 2 weeks but have experienced several annoying issues when exiting Smart functions and returning to TV channels. On a couple of occasions lost all sound and vision on all channels and have to totally power device off/on, this is very worrying when it happens. This looks like a firmware problem but it is at the latest release.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

454 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Super telly

102 cm (40") 18/10/2018

Bought this last month really pleased with it only one problem it has only 2 hdmi sockets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very Good Picture

102 cm (40") 17/10/2018 by jencat

Very pleased with the television, lovely clear picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great

102 cm (40") 14/10/2018 by geemac

good tv but could do with bluetooth then it would be great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very highly specified

102 cm (40") 09/10/2018 by None known

After a months use I am delighted with one exception. Twice now I have had to do a complete reset as "start programme feature" has stopped working and from help given by your support group corrected the problem. The smart features and options are excellent and the freeview play picture is way ahead of sky which I had previously.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good picture

102 cm (40") 06/10/2018 by alan78

required larger tv for our living room, this one admirable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice looking set

102 cm (40") 04/10/2018 by barker

This is a nice looking set. Easy to set up, up and running in no time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mediocre

102 cm (40") 03/10/2018 by Papillioman

Sony could do a lot better by including the higher spec components in the smaller screen sizes

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lots of features

102 cm (40") 03/10/2018 by Bobbysue

Bought a few weeks ago happy with the tv easy to operate

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

OK...

102 cm (40") 02/10/2018 by MrSwitzerland

I bought a Sony because I have red in review that the picture quality of Sony-TV's was good. But to my surprise the TV shows heavy banding when it has to show colors near black. It was in a static picture in a Youtube music clip. The banding and artefacts were horrendous. And no it was not in de video it self, because on my phone and on my tablet the picture was just fine. The only cause other than the TV is the Youtube-app on the tv. Another thing is the sound quality. I know that it is hard te make a flat TV sound good. Especially when there are no front facing speakers. Nevertheless the sound is terrible (but again, TV-producers can not do much about that). The reception of the remote control is okay but not overwhelming. I thought that issue was solved in the 1980's...

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Brilliant picture

102 cm (40") 29/09/2018 by Peter222

I bought this TV six weeks ago and I am very pleased with all aspects of it. It was straightforward to setup, the autotune was quick and efficient and the picture is fantastic, good colour and solid black. It also looks great and doesn't dominate the room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GOOD PICTURE

102 cm (40") 28/09/2018 by DOGG

PLEASED WITH TV VERY GOOD PICTURE AND GOOD FOR CATCHUP TV.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture quality

102 cm (40") 28/09/2018 by Ms Mo

I am very pleased with my sony TV. It does what it says on the tin.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent

123 cm (49'') 26/09/2018 by 15arlo

Glad I bought another Sony tv - nothing wrong with last one just wanted bigger screen. Excellent picture and sound. Would go for another one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV, great price!

102 cm (40") 24/09/2018 by JB395

Brilliant TV, great price. Colours are vivid and the image is sharp. Sound good enough to use without a sound bar. Really happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and looks good

102 cm (40") 24/09/2018 by Happy tv

Researched and viewed many products. This one met all of my criteria plus good value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

102 cm (40") 23/09/2018 by SCC435

Very pleased with the appearance and ease of use. Colour is very clear and accurate. Good sound quality, though occasional crackling on some channels (which seems to go if you go to next channel and then back !!).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant picture, good sound

102 cm (40") 21/09/2018 by boro_120

I purchased this TV a month ago. Setup of all features was smooth and intuitive, although I even did not look into the user's manual. Connection to my iPhone as well as a wireless keyboard were easy. The remote controller with nice firm buttons is easy to operate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good overall

123 cm (49'') 21/09/2018 by Akiboy

Excellent HD picture details,rich sound,remote controller as from Sony expected. Downside is of course,the poor connection options(only 2xHDMI,2xUSB input+1xScart&LAN)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound and features

102 cm (40") 21/09/2018 by frank flower

very happy with this product.but i do not use it for photos,videos, only use it for television.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good TV

102 cm (40") 21/09/2018 by Gordie1960

Good product with excellent picture and good sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good features very satisfied

102 cm (40") 20/09/2018 by Loobyloo

Was bought as a present. And extremely happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good product

102 cm (40") 17/09/2018 by Jonski

Purchased about a month ago and so far it is excellent. Stunningly clear picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent TV

102 cm (40") 16/09/2018 by The happening

What an excellent all round tv. I am delighted with the picture and sound. The only slight criticism is separate mains transformer! When wall mounting makes it more difficult to site. I had to Velcro to rear of tv. And the wall bracket fits at the bottom of the tv not in the centre as most others

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound and picture quality

102 cm (40") 16/09/2018 by Jelly belly

Bought for my Mum who is quite deaf but can put it loud without it distorting!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0