Starting at

RRP

€3,287.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)Included in this price is a contribution to recycling costs of €5
457

4.7 based on 457 customer reviews

353
74
20
7
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

A real step up from an LGE6

139 cm (55") 03/07/2017 by INJA

Bought this to replace an LGE6 that was defective through its screen having been damaged. But it has proved to be more than a replacement, due to much better colour handling, better sound, and a more robust construction. Only downside is a slightly more awkward operating system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Poor value for money

139 cm (55") 15/11/2017 by Mr Radio

When going into menus one doesn't expect them to be cluttered up with advertising features, and having to trawl through these before getting to the menus. The menus are poorly set out and difficult to manoeuvre. Sony seems to have become obsessed with putting timers on all the menus, taking them off the screen prematurely. The recording feature is very poor, the recording marker is very vague, just a single red line which could apply to any programme, a red dot in the programme rectangle would be much better,you also have to go into another menu to confirm the recording, and yet another menu to delete the programme. Don't like the programme guide either. We do like the picture quality, and the sound is great, but having spent this amount of money, we find all the above ruins the television for us, and we expected something special. A very disappointing purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

460 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Great OLED viewing TV, few negatives though!

164 cm (65") 23/06/2018 by Rajinho

I got this as a replacement TV, when my LG G6 had problems, the picture on the A1 is great, concentrates on screen & picture quality, design is nice & sleek, and the acoustic surface sound is great! Only 3 problems i have with the TV. First, the TV brightness isn’t that great, at 700nits max. This probably saves it from screen burning quick, but 1000nits would of been nice. Second, Android TV is terrible, very unresponsive & clunky, with the remote also being very outdated, as you’d expect with Sony, being the expensive TV that it is, it should come with a slicker remote & a better operating system, WebOs on LG is miles ahead! Thirdly, out of the 4 HDMI ports at the back, only 2 have support for 4K up to 60fps (2 & 3), whilst the others only have 4K up to 30fps. I expect them all to be supported at 60fps for such a high end TV, something Sony should look at for future TV’s as I have to use my PS4 for one & Sky Box for the other, so not having that freedom is quite annoying. Other than that, the TV is great, as I wanted a TV to enhance my PS4 playing experience, whilst also having a great picture for watching football. The X1 processesor that runs the TV makes the picture seamless & motion is great, so I throughly recommend this product if you’re looking to upgrade

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Style and Quality in one elegant package

139 cm (55") 23/06/2018 by Bob902

I wanted the best 55 inch oled tv and I believe I have bought it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Room for improvement

139 cm (55") 22/06/2018 by Sinzd

Bought the A1 55 inch after seeing the looks and design of the TV as well as picture quality. I still love the unique design and sound implementation and its reasonably loud. Picture quality requires quite a bit of experimenting and I guess is down to personal taste. The biggest gripe I have had after just a couple of weeks of ownership is that the menu and setting systems are painfully slow and clearly need a software update to fix. The remote control is nowhere near acceptable for a high-end TV and other efforts from competitors puts the Sony remote to shame. Image retention and screen burn issues are a concern but time will tell if these become a problem. Overall, I am happy with the TV so far after a short experience,however, I feel that it could have been improved with a more modern and slicker menu system with a much more upmarket remote control. This may not bother everyone but i think Sony should have put the same effort into these areas that they clearly have in other aspects of the TV.j

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Lovely clear Pictures

139 cm (55") 20/06/2018

I bought this for the World cup games and the resolution is spectacular, the Formula 1 racing blows me away with the sharpness and clarity of the picture. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great hardware shame about the software

139 cm (55") 18/06/2018 by VerySadSonyOwner

God forbid you happen to turn off the mains to any off the Bravia range as it takes a good minute before it can reconfigure what its is on start up from mains off! (kettle no, toaster no, CD player no oh wait a minute (that is the minute) I'm a second rate Android device. It only features very poor apps for operating ones own media with very little control or browsing ability so selection of ones media can be a nightmare to view really so bad. Apps crash so you have to start again. I've not the room to tell you. SO in short it's an amazing screen with an image second to none. (oh LG is the same screen but different driver im tolled so may be better value) But you will spend so much time waiting for this machine to think about what it is it might drive you mad!!!! PS i have 2 Bravia's a 45" and a 55" OLED and they both suffer from the same. I also have the fastest fibre connectivity so again it's not my doing. Thanks for reading this far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Having problems setting up Voice activation

164 cm (65") 18/06/2018 by bracken

Very good product this the second Bravia I have purchased

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Worth the investment

139 cm (55") 17/06/2018 by MrMNC

Had this TV for 3 weeks now. After taking the time to optimise the picture settings the picture quality is unrivalled. It's expensive but worth it. Wasn't sure how the sound would be given the new acoustic surface technology but can't believe how well it works. Clean crisp sound with real depth and surprising amount of bass. Depending on your priorities you don't need to add a soundbar, it works that well. Google operating system is frustratingly slow at times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant picture

139 cm (55") 16/06/2018 by Scamp

Treated myself to this tv ( a lot of money ) but I'm worth it. The picture is outstanding and the sound is the best I've heard from a tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Top picture but terrible remote and menu

164 cm (65") 14/06/2018 by Peckrye

I have had the A1 for a month wall mounted and it is stunning and we really love it. The true black from the OLED panel is truely amazing and the colours vivid with such crisp detailing both with normal TV as well as 4K HDR content. Most functions react super quick and it’s a major trade up from our Samsung HD smart TV. I will concentrate on the bad points but please note that I still recommend the TV above all others based on its picture quality and features - the 5 year old Samsung had a better remote and easier to use menu system although slower response times. @Sony you really need to up your game, your remote is clunky huge and ugly and does not always respond. Sometimes the TV is reacting slower than normal and you are not sure if the remote didn’t work or it’s doing something (our Samsung was slow but always popped a loading symbol as soon as you commanded a change - the A1 will often react instantly but when it doesn’t it does not give you any indication that it received your command and is working. If you like Netflix it is amazing on the A1 as are other catchup services the Youview Aerial guide service is fantastic but if you try satellite (freesat services it’s hard to set up and the program guide menu is not great). An unexpected surprise was that our Sonos sound bar has stepped up a level and sounds so much better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great TV

139 cm (55") 07/06/2018 by agentsmith

Decided to finally upgrade the plasma to Sony's OLED A1 after grabbing a deal at Richer Sounds. Have to say i'm not disappointed. The 4k images in HDR look stunning. Hardly any bezel to it so its practically all screen. The speaker system is fantastic and is leagues ahead of any of the competition i was blown away. I have wall mounted the TV it does stick out a bit but it looks like its floating on the wall which looks cool. It's a heavy unit so i would recommend using a decent wall bracket. The connections are at the bottom so if you are wall mounting then the connections are quite easy to get to. Not sure about the OS yet as its android and is slightly slow but it gets the job done and is packed with features. Just having trouble updating the remote control for the voice features but that's my only issue. Overall a great TV that gives the 2018 range a good run for its money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Probably the best television we have ever owned!.

139 cm (55") 30/05/2018 by Newbs

Have to say the design is simply awesome, the picture quality amazing and the best sound quality on any TV I have ever come across.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Brilliant picture and sound

139 cm (55") 28/05/2018

So pleased we decided to get a Sony, really enjoying owning one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality build

139 cm (55") 22/05/2018 by Alan1955

Bought this television 2 weeks ago and found the all features so easy to set up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

.

164 cm (65") 21/05/2018 by NJC1

Appearance of TV, picture quality and sound simply outstanding and worth every penny, however some small grips - remote control not DDA compliant - difficult to quickly control. Why produce such an amazing TV and then partner it with such a poor remote control - TV navigation poor - might suite the younger generation - but clumsy and not particular user friendly - some features not available ie viewing blu-ray on one via code

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture and sound

139 cm (55") 21/05/2018 by Happy chappy

Although for me it was very expensive, a month in and it is worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

What a TV!

139 cm (55") 20/05/2018 by James747

Have owned it since early April 18. Excellent picture and sound quality. I am stunned on a daily basis with how clear the picture is. Love it. Only downside is the Apex stand that makes the TV sit at a sloping angle. I boosted it at the back to make it level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Magic

139 cm (55") 20/05/2018 by J KAY

Simply stunning design and simplicity itself to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Muito Bom!

139 cm (55") 20/05/2018 by plmalato

This product is 5 stars. The image has a very good resoltusion and the sound too. Is like your are watching movies at the cinema

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Picture almost perfect

139 cm (55") 20/05/2018 by Nigel Beauty

The picture on the a1 is outstanding but could be slightly brighter to be perfect. The brightness is set to maximum which still isn’t quite enough. The screen has a excellent picture right to the edges and can be viewed from any angle. The sound is very good at normal tv volume and is clear even sitting 4m away, and for someone who’s hearing is not perfect I am very pleased. Don’t expect to compare the sound to that of a surround sound system. The overal design and quality of build is outstanding as viewed from front and back.The ease of use of the android operating system is also very good. Setting up was very easy. The tv is connected to a Virgin Media box which enables the a1 to show off its capabilities better. Overall I am very glad I bought this beautiful television.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great picture and sound

139 cm (55") 15/05/2018 by rayvon

first time i bought a sony tv top picture .have it connected to my surround sound.happy i bought it ,only down is should have a smart remote for online

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing picture

164 cm (65") 15/05/2018 by Alan_london

Amazing quality picture. The operating system is often very slow and laggy. Even changing channels and volume are not simple procedures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Brilliant Television.

139 cm (55") 14/05/2018 by auldgit

Ticks all the boxes and more, amazing quality picture and features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture & Sound & ease of operation.

195 cm (77") 08/05/2018 by Kayak

Always happy over many years with any Sony products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent TV

139 cm (55") 08/05/2018 by 9Dave9

When thinking about buying this TV I couldn’t understand if the price difference to the lower priceTV’s was worth paying; I can now see the benefit. Picture and sound outstanding

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0