Starting at

RRP

€3,287.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)Included in this price is a contribution to recycling costs of €5
507

4.7 based on 507 customer reviews

386
85
23
10
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

A real step up from an LGE6

139 cm (55") 03/07/2017 by INJA

Bought this to replace an LGE6 that was defective through its screen having been damaged. But it has proved to be more than a replacement, due to much better colour handling, better sound, and a more robust construction. Only downside is a slightly more awkward operating system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Poor value for money

139 cm (55") 15/11/2017 by Mr Radio

When going into menus one doesn't expect them to be cluttered up with advertising features, and having to trawl through these before getting to the menus. The menus are poorly set out and difficult to manoeuvre. Sony seems to have become obsessed with putting timers on all the menus, taking them off the screen prematurely. The recording feature is very poor, the recording marker is very vague, just a single red line which could apply to any programme, a red dot in the programme rectangle would be much better,you also have to go into another menu to confirm the recording, and yet another menu to delete the programme. Don't like the programme guide either. We do like the picture quality, and the sound is great, but having spent this amount of money, we find all the above ruins the television for us, and we expected something special. A very disappointing purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

507 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

excellent

139 cm (55") 23/09/2018 by wilson82

amazing clear picture and great sound. no need for a sound bar with this retreat tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Oled tv

139 cm (55") 22/09/2018 by Jeeppounder

Purchased tv a week ago this is my second Oled tv first from Sony I am experienced with av products as product is fantastically built with a fantastic picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding picture

139 cm (55") 22/09/2018 by Tony789

The picture, motion & sound are truly excellent. Andoid itself is ok but whatever soc it's running on is definitely a weak link - I feel that Sony could improve here, especially at this end of the market where people rightly have high expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Looks good - works well

139 cm (55") 20/09/2018 by privatefly

I bought the TV three weeks ago and am really pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great picture

139 cm (55") 19/09/2018 by Mr MM

Perfect quality and sound. Looks good as always with Sony Bravia

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful television, but poor instructions!

139 cm (55") 17/09/2018 by Pete053

I bought this KD55A1 television a month ago and I am delighted with its capabilities and picture quality. It arrived packed expensively and very efficiently, and was a pleasure to unpack. The set is mounted on the wall, and apart from some difficulty adding the inputs, it updated the software quickly and soon had glorious pictures for me to watch. However, the lack of written instructions meant that trial and error was necessary in order to make meaningful progress in discovering what the machine was capable of. I am still not certain about voice control, or whether I can programme both 'digital' and satellite tuners to my satisfaction. There is much to learn, and my knowledge of the set, despite my internet 'savvy', is still limited. It will be a pleasant, if unnecessary, journey!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Excellent decision

139 cm (55") 17/09/2018 by wieza60

There was no better tv set at my home. Fits in wonderful to my Home.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very good allround tv

139 cm (55") 15/09/2018 by johnwreid1960

bought this tv six weeks ago we have watched more movies in that time than we have in the past few years it makes watching tv even more enjoyable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Best picture ever

139 cm (55") 14/09/2018 by Ranger Roy

Bought this to replace and earlier HD Bravia LCD. This is in a different league. Not to great on SD, but upscaled HD is superb and 4K via Netflix looks wonderful. Sound is pretty good too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 10/09/2018 by Clewless

Easy to set up. Added a sound bar to give better sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Every penny worth it

139 cm (55") 09/09/2018 by saurabhks

We watch tv a lot more than many of our friends. The picture quality with OLED is above and beyond regular 4K tvs. We spent a lot of time evaluating the picture qualities against Panasonic and LG. Sony has got much better picture depth and it doesn’t color too much like Panasonic and doesn’t add too much shine like LG. It’s a perfect fine balance of picture quality. We love it and appreciate it every day. Been almost an year but the love is as fresh as yestrtdays :). It’s expensive and it took us a week to settle ourselves about this decision but we made a good choice! To add additional sound woofer is a great idea as we didn’t had to buy a sound bar spending another £300 and wasting more space. The sound quality is clear and solid comparable to Bose speakers. One negative thing is android based OS which doesn’t naturally work well with our iPhones. And the TV remote’s experience isn’t as great as one would expect for that price. But who cares about these when the picture and sound quality is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

139 cm (55") 08/09/2018 by Carlah

I found it easy to set up and easy to use. The screen size is excellent for the size of my room

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A1 OLOED TV

139 cm (55") 04/09/2018 by Sony 0

Older couple,[60s] but even sons have difficulty following the set up instructions,especially the remote functions ? perhaps a idiots guide is required to do justice to this excellent T V.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great when it works

139 cm (55") 03/09/2018 by Lawrance

The picture quality is excellent as is the sound. However it is very temperamental and often needs to be switched off at the mains and back on again in order to wake it from standby. Any advice would be welcomed. Thanks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Lovely picture quality

139 cm (55") 03/09/2018 by Streaky007

Overall very happy Bit awkward to use apps and like sound a lot especially when dialogue between two characters comes from where they are on screen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very pleased with the quality and ease of use.

139 cm (55") 31/08/2018 by Sanzy

A good buy, picture quality and sound are excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unique design

139 cm (55") 30/08/2018 by Bcwalter3

Bought my Sony home theatre system 3 months ago and regret I didn't buy earlier the design is fantastic not to mention the sound quality awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great

139 cm (55") 27/08/2018 by erlekmkci

i am lucky for use this tv and this tv so great ....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What a wonderful business!

139 cm (55") 25/08/2018 by Lucianodifirenze

It's a wonderful led tv! Colors are esceptional - never seen before- and sound is not comparable. I'm very, very happy having got it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Terrific picture

139 cm (55") 21/08/2018 by Zac91981

now one month old and still find picture quality amazing. Upscaling remarkable. Sound quality great. Waiting on Dolby Vision to see if it can improve already fantastic TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 21/08/2018 by Lynda58

Packaged well, easy to assemble stand, Great picture and lots of features, very happy with this tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Epic

139 cm (55") 16/08/2018 by Eubuleus

I wanted to buy a premium TV and this KD-55A1 is superb. Simply

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

LG seem to have better product support.

164 cm (65") 13/08/2018 by 99 turbo

I brought the A1 as I thought it was suppose to be the Sony's flag ship model TV. But I could not even watch the world cup in 4k but models lower down in the range could receive the BBC 4k coverage. All LG 4k TV's could receive the coverage. Not only that the ARC port has stopped working to the receiver, one day it was working the next day it has stopped, been back to John Lewis and spoken to the staff and the Sony rep and all they say is unplug HDMI cable from both components and plug it back in, I have tried it many times still does not work, can not get any of the TV sound in surround sound, BT vision, free sat & dvd's all ok via the receive to TV link on the HDMI cable.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Best picture and good sound, but !!!

164 cm (65") 12/08/2018 by Clivee

Had the Sony A1 for a month. Think it’s the best picture I have experienced, the sound is so good that I’ve not found it necessarily to use my sound bar. But and it’s a big but, the TV control in my opinion is awful. Having come from a Samsung SUHD this Sony TV operating system is hopeless, can’t even set a program reminder. It’s unbelievable slow. It even pushes adds at you. Overall very disappointed with the Sony A1 and would not recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0