Starting at

RRP

€599.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
638

4.3 based on 638 customer reviews

371
168
58
20
21
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Nice tv

KDL-40WD653 08/01/2017 by DoctorVock

I bought this to for my 93 year old mother. All good except that she has to reselect the the subtitles every time she changes channel or switches the tv on. Her previous tv held the subtitles until you removed them. So this has been a big disappointment and annoyance to her.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Bad for non HD

KDL-40WD655 14/01/2017 by Expert123

Not handle properly non HD sourses 576i etc. from tv tuner. Hardware blur on the chip which cannot be turned off , wrong color reproduction especially human skin which are green and yellow tone and once again blurry I do not see faces clearly .Overall image is like low bitrate coding unstable when many fast detail present. Speakers in this TV is like on my mobile phone. Do not have composite input , only useless euro SCART which is never used of quality and two HDMI's. Sound is slightly faster i.e. out of sync. On optical out sound level is quiet and plastic. Some dirt behind the screen which is annoying when watching scenes with bright background like hokey, corners of screen are dark. And so on everything in this tv is below average.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

10

0

401 Customer Reviews

0

Great picture, sound issues.

KDL-48WD653 19/02/2018 by Anneieliz

Bought this to replace our previous Sony flatscreen which had given great service over many years. Picture quality is an improvement but sound quality is very poor and much reduced from our previous set. Now need to purchase a soundbar, hopefully without the lip sync issues issues that are reported with this tv.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Many programmes using freeview

KDL-40WD653 20/01/2018

I decided to buy a smart TV as my previous set was a bit on the small side also.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Totally worth it

KDL-48WD650 27/12/2017 by Chiefrocka90

I've used this brand for many years and I wouldn't change it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good value tv

KDL-40WD653 13/12/2017 by Matjay964

Bought to replace my old set. Cheap buy. Picture not as good as Panasonic viera, and sound is really tinny. Lack of usable apps on app store.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Regret ever buying it!

KDL-48WD653 09/12/2017

I have had nothing but trouble with it since i bought it. Its a smart tv, when it chooses to be! I have had a technician out to fix it, been onto the sony helpline etc. Still without internet on it. Every time i get it fixed a few weeks later it goes again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great looking TV and brilliant picture quality

KDL-40WD653 28/10/2017 by Pammian

Waited for a new TV and so glad i got SONY. Suits the style of my lounge

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony is always my choice

KDL-48WD653 24/09/2017

Love the Tv for that price. Positive notes: 1. Picture is perfect 2. Many ports, USB, HDMI and external speakers 3.Built-in Netflix button, very appreciated 4. Easy to configure and understand features Improvement needed: 1. NIC is only 2,4Ghz, at least 5Ghz support would be wanted at this point in time 2. More usable apps or at least option to install from google Play Thanks for a great product for the segment of pricing, it works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Best tv ever

KDL-48WD653 17/07/2017 by Ricey18

My new Sony flat screen is the new love of my life. The picture is unreal !!!! Feel like I'm in the movie rarther than watching it. My best mate recommended a Sony tv to me. Best advice he's ever given me lol. As you can see from the photo it fits in perfect above my fireplace held up with a Sony wall bracket.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

tv

KDL-48WD650 04/07/2017 by grindlerod

very good tv.except one big problem an unable to connect to the internet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Super picture

KDL-40WD653 02/07/2017 by Lionheart 1952

Not only a superb picture but better sound than i expected without a sound bar.Its also very easy to set up I'm very happy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wi-fi connection not automatic every time.

KDL-40WD653 29/06/2017 by Leighscout

One of the factors in buying this TV was the Wi-fi and Netflix connection. Every time I want to watch Netflix I have to reconnect my TV to my router, I thought this wold be automatic once I had connected for the first time, it is not. There is a lack of instructions also with this set.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

tv review

KDL-40WD653 26/06/2017 by scott989

great tv easy to set up done within 20 mins would recomend to anyone fantastic buy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

KDL-48WD653 25/06/2017 by Perter

Excellent TV . Easy set up and connections. Great sound and Wi Fi .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good semi smart TV at a great price

KDL-40WD653 22/06/2017 by Mr Sheldon

Excellent picture and very passable sound. Easy to set up and controls intuitive. However I think it is only semi smart as I cannot access any commercial streaming channels. Having investigated I find a lot of adverse comment about Sony no supporting streaming for any length of time. This is a budget 40inch tv so not too worried about the streaming issue. Just buy a Roku or similar. Very happy with what I purchased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not the premium product we expected

KDL-40WD653 22/06/2017 by Kari870

We were recommended the Sony Bravia and took it on faith that the brand stood for something over a market full of generic products. We were replacing a Panasonic. The main surprise was that for no perceivable benefit it is a big hit on the broadband. We live in a village where the service is patchy and relatively slow so not only have we regressed to the TV buffering on iplayer and Netflix, our phones suffer too. For all of that Sony have limited the access to Aps - We don't want many, most likely less than most tech savvy people however the fact catch up on main channels isn't available - the fact All4 isn't available seems ridiculous. Had we known this before purchase we would have bought a different brand.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Tv

KDL-48WD653 21/06/2017

I bought this TV last week and have to say it's a great buy, but only issue is there is no Google play store on the TV. But everything else is perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

POOR.

KDL-48WD653 18/06/2017

poor workmanship in affraid, screen discoulering in the corners, thinking im going to return this one as well.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic TV

KDL-40WD653 17/06/2017 by Laffey

So easy to set up, good clear picture. Good value for money.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just ok!

KDL-48WD653 17/06/2017 by Debs66

Bought this a couple of weeks ago, picture is fab, recording facility only available on freeview channel. Sound quality is terrible, had to buy a sound bar. Easy enough to use, menus are good enough. A stand was provided but I wish a wall mount would've been provided, had to yet again go out and buy something else for it. Cheap enough tv, but when you add up all the other things I had to purchase, it now doesn't seem to be the bargain I'd hoped for!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality

KDL-48WD653 16/06/2017 by None really

Already have a Sony Bravia in my lounge pleased with it so i bought one for our bedroom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good TV but lacks options and app

KDL-48WD653 16/06/2017 by harry047

I bought this TV for home and am pleased with the built and quality. only negative part is that there are limited apps and don't seems to be a way to download more. you can download inside the opera browser proved by Sony but not to the main app screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Picture

KDL-48WD653 13/06/2017 by Guesty68

Great pic but needs sound bar as built in sound is very tinny. Shame that there is no web browser built into the SMART area and disappointing you can't connect to Play Store.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great tv

KDL-40WD653 13/06/2017 by salford lad

Had this 40inch tv about 6 weeks, It was simple to set up the picture is great. A good tv all round. Had the same sony bravia for 9 years with no problems.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fine TV

KDL-40WD653 10/06/2017 by Drebin

Very good display and power consumption can be tweeked down to only 28W still with nice and bright colors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0