Starting at

RRP

€599.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)Included in this price is a contribution to recycling costs of €5
639

4.3 based on 639 customer reviews

371
168
58
21
21
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Nice tv

KDL-40WD653 08/01/2017 by DoctorVock

I bought this to for my 93 year old mother. All good except that she has to reselect the the subtitles every time she changes channel or switches the tv on. Her previous tv held the subtitles until you removed them. So this has been a big disappointment and annoyance to her.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Bad for non HD

KDL-40WD655 14/01/2017 by Expert123

Not handle properly non HD sourses 576i etc. from tv tuner. Hardware blur on the chip which cannot be turned off , wrong color reproduction especially human skin which are green and yellow tone and once again blurry I do not see faces clearly .Overall image is like low bitrate coding unstable when many fast detail present. Speakers in this TV is like on my mobile phone. Do not have composite input , only useless euro SCART which is never used of quality and two HDMI's. Sound is slightly faster i.e. out of sync. On optical out sound level is quiet and plastic. Some dirt behind the screen which is annoying when watching scenes with bright background like hokey, corners of screen are dark. And so on everything in this tv is below average.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

10

0

639 Customer Reviews

0

Lacking Apps

KDL-40WD653 04/07/2018 by Fall_out_boy1

I bought this TV a couple of years ago and as I do not use analogue TV/terrestrial TV and only internet, streaming and on demand, I find that this TV has a very poor amount of Apps and furthermore there is no way to add Apps - I mean you can add Apps, just not any decent ones. There is an app store but it has just a bunch of apps that are very specialized and not really well known. Currently I only use Netflix, Amazone Prime and iPlayer on the TV. I had to get a Roku stick and BT TV in order to be able to watch BT Sport and other catch up channels such as ITV etc.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture, sound issues.

KDL-48WD653 19/02/2018 by Anneieliz

Bought this to replace our previous Sony flatscreen which had given great service over many years. Picture quality is an improvement but sound quality is very poor and much reduced from our previous set. Now need to purchase a soundbar, hopefully without the lip sync issues issues that are reported with this tv.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Many programmes using freeview

KDL-40WD653 20/01/2018

I decided to buy a smart TV as my previous set was a bit on the small side also.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Totally worth it

KDL-48WD650 27/12/2017 by Chiefrocka90

I've used this brand for many years and I wouldn't change it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Good value tv

KDL-40WD653 13/12/2017 by Matjay964

Bought to replace my old set. Cheap buy. Picture not as good as Panasonic viera, and sound is really tinny. Lack of usable apps on app store.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Regret ever buying it!

KDL-48WD653 09/12/2017

I have had nothing but trouble with it since i bought it. Its a smart tv, when it chooses to be! I have had a technician out to fix it, been onto the sony helpline etc. Still without internet on it. Every time i get it fixed a few weeks later it goes again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great looking TV and brilliant picture quality

KDL-40WD653 28/10/2017 by Pammian

Waited for a new TV and so glad i got SONY. Suits the style of my lounge

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony is always my choice

KDL-48WD653 24/09/2017

Love the Tv for that price. Positive notes: 1. Picture is perfect 2. Many ports, USB, HDMI and external speakers 3.Built-in Netflix button, very appreciated 4. Easy to configure and understand features Improvement needed: 1. NIC is only 2,4Ghz, at least 5Ghz support would be wanted at this point in time 2. More usable apps or at least option to install from google Play Thanks for a great product for the segment of pricing, it works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great picture

WD653 Series 29/07/2017 by Nengo

Bought this for ghe kitchen. The picture is really good and functions are easy to use eg apps we do have a sound bar which I think is needed.

Taken from tesco.com

0

0

0

Not as smart as you might think

WD653 Series 20/07/2017 by Docgt40

A good television for the price, with a range of inputs including scart and hdmi. The picture quality is excellent and the sound is good. Setup was quick and easy. However, this is a smart tv without the ability to browse the Internet. It comes with two buttons on the remote, one for YouTube and the other for Netflix, but since the privacy policy failed to load neither function works. In short, it is a superceded model at a good price

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Best tv ever

KDL-48WD653 17/07/2017 by Ricey18

My new Sony flat screen is the new love of my life. The picture is unreal !!!! Feel like I'm in the movie rarther than watching it. My best mate recommended a Sony tv to me. Best advice he's ever given me lol. As you can see from the photo it fits in perfect above my fireplace held up with a Sony wall bracket.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good TV at a good price

WD653 Series 07/07/2017 by MarkG

The picture quality and clarity is very good and the sound is good enough, although I've linked mine through an amp via the optical link. Connectivity is fine, with 2 HDMI and USB sockets and a SCART thrown in for good measure. WiFi was quick and easy to set up and the apps, work very well. Set up was easy and the menu/navigation is straight foreword and intuitive. Finally, it's a nice thin and sharp design, which looks good in the room.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great TV. As you would expect from Sony

WD653 Series 05/07/2017 by Emmet

Great TV. As expected from Sony

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

great thank you

WD653 Series 04/07/2017 by joe

all was great for me

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Best telly ever!!!

WD653 Series 04/07/2017 by Dude

Looks amazing and the sound quality is fantastic. Was very easy to set up and the remote control is easy to navigate. This is a brilliant telly, best I've ever purchased.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

tv

KDL-48WD650 04/07/2017 by grindlerod

very good tv.except one big problem an unable to connect to the internet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Super picture

KDL-40WD653 02/07/2017 by Lionheart 1952

Not only a superb picture but better sound than i expected without a sound bar.Its also very easy to set up I'm very happy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wi-fi connection not automatic every time.

KDL-40WD653 29/06/2017 by Leighscout

One of the factors in buying this TV was the Wi-fi and Netflix connection. Every time I want to watch Netflix I have to reconnect my TV to my router, I thought this wold be automatic once I had connected for the first time, it is not. There is a lack of instructions also with this set.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very good tv!

WD653 Series 28/06/2017 by Val

I am very pleased with my Sony TV so far, it looks great and the HD is excellent, much better than my old tv, and noticeably cooler (literally!) I had my former tv for 12 years, so really appreciate the advances in technology. Quality of life is important for everybody.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

excellent product

WD653 Series 27/06/2017 by vicy

Goid value -exxellent tv - great picture-

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

tv review

KDL-40WD653 26/06/2017 by scott989

great tv easy to set up done within 20 mins would recomend to anyone fantastic buy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

KDL-48WD653 25/06/2017 by Perter

Excellent TV . Easy set up and connections. Great sound and Wi Fi .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great tv

WD653 Series 23/06/2017 by Abc1

Really good tv

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Superb HDTV

WD653 Series 23/06/2017 by Earli

Fantastic HD TV with gret picture on both HD channels and SD channels which is the reason I purchased the Sony Bravia over it's compeditors. Been looking for a while thinking of buying a 4K TV read many reviews on these and found that quite a few mentioned a bad picture when veiwing Standard Def broadcasts. Went for the Bravia because of this and have not been disapointed. Partner uses Netflix and is very happy with the ease it is to use on this TV, she happy all happy :)

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0