Starting at

RRP

€1,449.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)Included in this price is a contribution to recycling costs of €5
540

4.4 based on 540 customer reviews

338
142
33
13
14
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Truly Excellent Product

139 cm (55") 16/02/2018 by KDSH

Having now owned this TV for over 1 month I can honestly highly recommend it. The back lit display is nothing short of outstanding deep deep blacks and incredible detail accross Standard,HD,and of course 4K, HDR content hits what I would call middle ground, Sony deciding not to over saturate colours and brightness indeed all HDR content is reproduced with incredible realism. Turning to sound and for a modern LCD display this TV has very good sound it's not incredible by any means but more than adequate for day to day use. All in all considering it's price point if you purchase this TV you won't be disappointed. On a totally different note can I just say the way this TV is boxed is really brilliant you release the top portion of the box by unclipping four plastic clips lifting off the box to reveal the TV no more reaching inside the box fumbling to remove it (take note other manufacturers) all in all something so small but a little bit of genius that's for that Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed

123 cm (49'') 09/05/2018 by Zuzana

I am disappointed with the TV. I bought it in Dec 2017 and it was fine until about March/April. At the moment it is extremely slow, it takes ages to flick through the channels. I will need to talk to the seller in terms of replacing/returning the product.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

540 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Awesome product at a great price

139 cm (55") 16/07/2018 by Sheepchaser

Evening mark. Maria was saying you too are sorting out a new tv. I got a little obsessional over picking the right one this is what I found. I'll try to keep it brief as I can - entry level tv in the OLED range is LG C7. It's around £1600.00. Once you are in this price range it's all about how the tv looks rather than screen quality. LG tv screen quality does not get better from here even if you are spending more, the screens are are all made to the same spec. Now this is where it's get a little more complicated. I believe LG makes the pixel membrane for Sony TVs in the Sony OLED RANGE. Sony OLED is simply the best in my opinion - picture quality is simply outstanding it's unbelievably sharp. These start at around £2500. The reason the screen cost more than LG is the computer aided picture quality that Sony add to the screen to make it better. It has clever AI to sharpen the image in just the right place. So faces / focus point look totally sharp, and the contrast levels are from total whites to total blacks. The tv literally know what's on the screen. It's also supercool it has no speakers, the screen is the speaker. Panasonic are trying to mimic this and their tv are great but Sony just nailed for me. Samsung are trying to push QLED instead of OLED. QLED STANDS quantum light emitting Diode. They start at £1000. Slightly below the 1600 quid entry OLED . QLED - This is just branding by Samsung. All TVs at this price range and technology are all QLED tech. These are beautiful screens but were over bright ( a sales trick that Samsung use to make you pick the tv as it's run in store at 100% brightness - note almost unwatchable after 2 hours of viewing due to the brightness level. Because I didn't have 2500 pounds for a Sony OLED I looked at the alternatives. The only tv in my price range was the Sony XE range this had all the technology the OLED boasted but with a led screen. There are 4 TVs in this range. XE 80, 85, 90, 93/4. They all come in three sizes. 49 inch, 55inch and 65inch. I discounted the 80 and 85 as they did not have the x-tended dynamic colour range. I chose the XE90 as it's the only one that had the pixel for pixel backlight - a backlight that covers the whole screen. which made the picture look sharper Than the rest. They have tried to make this better in the 93/4 but it's a tiny difference it's hard to see the small improvement. The 93/4 is around £ 1450 it does have the next gen. second Sony chip which improves picture quality by a tiny amount and will get the software patch for Dolby vision later this year it's also however side back light instead of the full backlight The XE90 has. The XE90 was around 1100 pounds at 55 inch and I think it's an awesome tv. It's not the thinnest due to the backlight but by far for the price the best one I've seen. It's comes fully loaded with android tv and all other services like Netflix. You can also download app directly to the os.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worse TV I have ever had

123 cm (49'') 13/07/2018 by bml1966

Had this TV for a few months now, hate the menu and remote with a passion, never have I ever had a more non responsive TV in my life, thought paying over £1000 for a TV from Sony I would get a half decent bit of kit, but very disappointed I bought this, then gave away my curved Samsung TV to a friend, really wish I hadn't. I'm waiting patiently for the firmware update to eventually show up, if that doesn't fix it, it's going on ebay and I will go back to Samsung When you finally get to where you want to be the picture quality it great, very good on PS4 Pro and Sony 4k bluray player, but very annoying getting to where you want.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Features

164 cm (65") 13/07/2018 by akuqali98

I bought two months ago and I am very satisfied. ---

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing picture let down by slow o/s

164 cm (65") 10/07/2018 by Bornhappy

The picture is fab, PS4 in 4k makes such a difference, connections ease of setup is all very good but the Android operating system is very slow. It's mostly when starting up, you seem to have to wait a good 30 secs before you can do anything as it syncs up and retrieves data. Having said that when it's running it has loads of apps and not too glitchy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slow!

139 cm (55") 10/07/2018 by Tom Thumb

Picture is good but no better than my existing Panasonic plasma TV, however as many people have stated the Android OS is too slow.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Quality Sony Product

123 cm (49'') 09/07/2018 by TheRealSeal

Having happily owned Bravia TVs before, i decided to spend a bit more this time and move into the XE9 series. So glad I did, the picture and sound quality is fantastic. Easy to use and heaps of features, would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture, woeful lipsync from external source

139 cm (55") 09/07/2018 by KJ60

Bought back in February and immediately noticed amazing picture quality however also major lip sync issues from Sky box. After a number of visits to the retailer and tried everything they suggested the only thing they could offer me was to test it in store, not very practical with a 55 inch TV. I am now reliant on a 3rd party product to sort out my lip sync issues. Expected more from a reputable company who have been in the TV market for many years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ease of use remote easy to understand.

123 cm (49'') 07/07/2018 by Fish53

I am very happy with tv but surprised it is not included in the BBC WORLD CUP list for 4K given the cost for this model In fact very surprised as it one of the top of the range sets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A lot to learn

139 cm (55") 04/07/2018 by Jamesrex

I always seem to buy Sony as I have never had any problems with the TVs or other electrical products I have purchased. I'm in my late 60s, but try to keep up with all this technology I can afford. The Picture on the TV is fantastic, and I am very pleased with the straight forward connecting to my Blu-Ray surround sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony what a return to form great tv

123 cm (49'') 03/07/2018 by Marti 282

Bought it in Oct over the moon keeps getting better use x box one s with Sony amp a pleasure to watch and listen Dolby atmos amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent!

139 cm (55") 28/06/2018 by Water dragon

Our Sony flatscreen tv arrived 16th June, efficient delivery & setting up for us:). The Sony didn’t disappoint, fantastic picture & sleek look! Partner hugely happy watching the World Cup matches during his holiday leave:). Clarity of screen amazing, can see great detail on dark scenes in serials and films. A huge upgrade from old tv on overall quality of this Sony tv. A worthy purchase!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice & easy to use

139 cm (55") 26/06/2018

The first one was faulty so had to go back and be replaced the second one was spot on

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It was a great TV

139 cm (55") 25/06/2018 by Baldry

It was great for months then starting watching sports and quickly started to notice frame drops and repeats and only fix is game mode. Waiting for a fix for 50hz content asap

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good picture

139 cm (55") 17/06/2018 by Talbo

Can be hard to work out some features but good tv picture

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

no bbc uhd for world cup

139 cm (55") 17/06/2018 by Jonah 100

i bought this tv for world cup only to find it does not support BBC uhd. I was sold it on the understanding that it did, this is great shame as the tv in most other aspects is very good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Norton

139 cm (55") 13/06/2018 by Yippy

I bought this 2 months ago. The product is good design, well built and I loved it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent tv

139 cm (55") 13/06/2018 by Soxlamp

Bought a 49 inch version in February, this is no longer available but managed to get this 55 inch to replace another set, did try a different brand ,however nothing touches this set for the price, stunning picture and sound is ok

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to navigate

139 cm (55") 12/06/2018 by GavJenko

Very happy with this purchase. Much better than LG. Never let me down. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not all that it's cracked up to be!

139 cm (55") 12/06/2018 by PTUK

Whilst the picture is astonishingly clear and the blacks are mostly black, the user interface, Android, is diabolical. It's slow to the point of distraction and clunky. Simple tasks such as changing channels has a lag between pressing the desired channel and the TV actually switching over. Add to this the fact that applications are constantly running in the back ground and need to be turned off in developer mode, it just makes Android on the TV pointless. And the very first thing we did when we realised some of the other problems was to turn OFF "youview". A hideous piece of bloatware that slowed the TV down to glacial pace! It also prevents you from recording anything. All in all we are very disappointed with everything on the TV except the picture quality. And this is all down to the Android in it which could easily have been avoided. The 10 year old TV we replaced was much faster at doing most things than this up-to-date specimen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

excellent picture

139 cm (55") 09/06/2018 by roobear

I bought this tv about 3 weeks ago after a lot of research and I'm glad I did. The full array backlighting makes for a brilliant picture. The first tv I've found that has a better picture than my old Pioneer Plasma.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony 9

139 cm (55") 07/06/2018 by Jonah7312

Give me Android on a cracking Sony all day every day xxx

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing picture and features

139 cm (55") 06/06/2018 by Zepp moore

I’ve Always had Sony TVs 5 in total. The one I’ve just replaced is 10yrs plus and I still can’t get rid off it because there’s nothing wrong with it. To me Sony products just seem to be far superior than others Thanks Sony G Moore

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 06/06/2018 by Xinwarrior

I wouldn't change this TV for anything. Incredible image, excellent flow. My biggest concern was if I would be able to play on my ps4 pro and it delivered perfectly. Excelent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The picture is fantastic! I am a BIG Somy fan

189 cm (75”) 05/06/2018 by PD1937

I did a considerable amount of research & for the best product for the quality & money I chose the 900E & happy I did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0