Starting at

RRP

€1,449.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
486

4.5 based on 486 customer reviews

309
126
30
10
11
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Truly Excellent Product

139 cm (55") 16/02/2018 by KDSH

Having now owned this TV for over 1 month I can honestly highly recommend it. The back lit display is nothing short of outstanding deep deep blacks and incredible detail accross Standard,HD,and of course 4K, HDR content hits what I would call middle ground, Sony deciding not to over saturate colours and brightness indeed all HDR content is reproduced with incredible realism. Turning to sound and for a modern LCD display this TV has very good sound it's not incredible by any means but more than adequate for day to day use. All in all considering it's price point if you purchase this TV you won't be disappointed. On a totally different note can I just say the way this TV is boxed is really brilliant you release the top portion of the box by unclipping four plastic clips lifting off the box to reveal the TV no more reaching inside the box fumbling to remove it (take note other manufacturers) all in all something so small but a little bit of genius that's for that Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Major fault on 50Hz content

123 cm (49'') 07/11/2017 by noggin72

Bought this a month ago. HDR content looks great from UHD Blu-ray and external streaming sources (but the internal Android TV Netflix and Amazon Smart TV apps appear fixed at 60Hz so 24p content is shown with 3:2 pull-down and looks quite nasty) However watching any 50Hz native content (720p50, 1080i25, 1080p50) from Sky, Blu-ray, external Media Player etc. exposes a major motion processing issue (even with Motion Flow and all other processing disabled) On 50Hz content - there are regular and repeatable frames displayed out of order after a shot change, which causes a very noticeable judder. I had 3 within 10" on Strictly on Saturday. This is NOT related to viewing source (it's not just Freeview HD or Sky HD). If you watch BBC News channel you can clearly see the ticker judder after shot changes. This is not related to de-interlacing (as you also see it on 1080p50 and 720p50 progressive sources. Until this has been resolved I cannot recommend anyone to buy this TV.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

490 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Good picture, but a couple of disappointments

123 cm (49'') 24/04/2018 by OllyS

Happy with the quality of picture, but difficult to find and access 4k programs. Sky control sound doesn't work either with volume or mute since set up. Disappointed that having been told that I would not have flying golf balls with little wings as on previous lower hertz TV, there is still some problem with fast movement against a background. Also viewing angle from side is not as wide as I was lead to believe.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great picture quality let down by Android TV

123 cm (49'') 24/04/2018 by rgledhill

I've had this a couple of weeks now, purchased as an end-of-line offer to replace a failed Panasonic TV which was only 18 months old (panel problem). This Sony has far superior picture processing and great HDR. I think the blacks aren't quite as deep as on my previous TV but they're still very good. The only downside is that Android TV is (as reported elsewhere) really unresponsive, meaning sometimes you press a button and have to wait literally 4-5 seconds before it responds, during which time you've probably pressed it again in frustration - so it does it twice. Also, in order to get some catch-up services such as ITV on demand, you have to enable YouView. This is ridiculous as all the apps for the on demand services are available on Google Play, but you can't install them without enabling YouView, which is frustrating as the standard TV planner is better but then you can't run some on demand services. Crazy and inexcusable, Sony - think of your customers first, not your partners. The remote is non-intuitive (e.g. there's no Settings button) and made of the soft-touch rubber which will turn manky and tacky after 5-6 years, but otherwise has a good tactile feel. Picture guality is superb in one area in particular - cleaning up substandard signals such as Freeview and low bit-rate channels/streaming. It manages to almost completely eradicate those irritating blocky edges you get on gradations (e.g. around the sun, skies, etc) and cleans up digital noise incredibly well - I've never seen such a good picture from all the various sources. If I could put the old Firefox OS from my previous TV onto this TV, I'd have the perfect match! Are you listening Sony...?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Superb Visuals

139 cm (55") 22/04/2018 by Mrfish

Stepped up to 4k and did my research as to which set to get within my budget, this ticked every box and the most important was the visual quality and this set has a superb picture with a few tweaks, very pleased with my purchase..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best "cheap" TV

139 cm (55") 22/04/2018 by SillycowCZE

Everybody knows that there is only one TV for a grand which is better then any competition. SONY Xe9005

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Lots of features

139 cm (55") 18/04/2018 by Ginge58

My previous TV was a Sony, so when I replaced it there was no other TV I wanted other than a Bravia, as my previous one worked and still does work perfectly for the last ten years

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Brilliant display quality

123 cm (49'') 18/04/2018 by Brains99

The brightness and depth of colour is very good, even in bright daylight. Simple to setup and provides a wide range of Android applications. Works well with online catch up services. 4K is amazing and display is fast, ideal for watching sport.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Beautiful picture

123 cm (49'') 18/04/2018 by Bud1

This replaced a Sony 42” tv and is a big improvement. Easy set up great picture and good sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great alernative to OLED if can't accomadate a 55"

123 cm (49'') 17/04/2018 by TranKmasT

This is a great 49" TV. The best alternative as I couldn't accommodate their own OLED which start at 55". Very satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Quality

123 cm (49'') 17/04/2018 by Heathys

Finally took the plunge and replaced my old 37” Sony LCD which is still going strong and still has a superb picture quality. This new TV is as good as the reviews say it is !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good picture quality

139 cm (55") 17/04/2018 by Dimas78

I use it less then 1 month and have only good experience. Mostly I like picture and product design. The sound may more quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great natural looking detailed picture

123 cm (49'') 15/04/2018 by Shaunus

Had it for about a month. Easy to use and set up. Have to fiddle a bit to get best picture if you're worried about that kind of thing but if you bought this TV, you probably are.. Could have done with some kind of illumination on control though.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture

123 cm (49'') 15/04/2018 by PeterC4

I like all the features of this tv but am disappointed in the amount of effort it takes to instal apps not already available in the appps . Struggling to download UKTV which although in the programme guide catch up is not possible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony XE90

139 cm (55") 13/04/2018 by Joe Cole

I bought this 2 weeks ago based on picture quality. Love the TV but Android OS needs updating as slow to respond.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Awesome tv

164 cm (65") 13/04/2018 by Ady55

Purchased this tv 2 weeks ago and all I can say is AWESOME!! fantastic picture and great looking , good competition for the oled tvs out there .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good, but stops short of being great

139 cm (55") 12/04/2018 by Rob 64

I bought this TV a fortnight ago to replace my Philips 47" TV which developed a fault. Here's my non-technical review... It's taken me until now to really get a picture I'm happy with, based on expert guidance found online. The Rtings X900E video on Youtube was best for my viewing tastes but I lightened the brightness a tad... I do think you need to watch a diverse range of broadcasts before settling on a happy medium and it looks pretty good now - dependent of course on the quality of broadcast. Virgin HD and Freeview HD look good and some of the 4K videos on Youtube show the TV's potential. What I couldn't understand at the start was why I was happy with the picture whilst my daughter sitting in the corner of the room felt it looked a bit washed out. It wasn't until she sat in front and saw how good the picture looked that we realised the viewing angle is incredibly small. Move to either side a few degrees and the picture lightens and loses contrast considerably - this wasn't the case with the three Philips TVs I've previously owned. Bear this in mind if you plan to buy this TV for family viewing - it's the main reason why I've only given it 4 stars. The smart functions are really good - a huge improvement on my previous TV - I particularly like the Android features. Switching between inputs can be a bit laggy, not helped by the remote control - I would prefer separate directional buttons. I also miss the wireless functionalty of the Philips remote - you have to point the Sony remote directly at the TV, and it's a bit cheap in look and feel. Sound is average, to be expected with a flat TV of this type I guess, although my Philips TV had richer tones. A sound bar or external speakers would probably help. Casting my tablet to the TV appears to work well - not always the case with my Philips TV - and I quite like the voice operation feature although, for the most part, it only seems to bring up Youtube content. On the whole a very good TV but maybe , in hindsight, a little too large for my room. Sitting further away would perhaps cure some of the viewing angle issues. If you're sitting pretty much in front of the TV I think you'll be happy with the picture quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 10/04/2018 by Ollie9999

very good picture quality and embedded features, internet enabled

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Picture, shame about the YouView.

123 cm (49'') 09/04/2018 by Underwhelmed again

I bought this TV a couple of weeks ago. After set-up I was instantly impressed by the picture - very good from all sources. But, i'm disappointed that the only way to get Channel 4 and ITV catchup services is through YouView. Choosing YouView mode at setup removes all satellite tuning and replaces the normal channel guide with the very sluggish YouView version. Had I known this to be the case i would not have bought this TV. Maybe it would be possible for Sony to improve this with a software update.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Beautiful Picture

139 cm (55") 09/04/2018 by Mg20i

Great choice super picture lots of features YouView and 2 satellite tuners 4 hdmi ports and usb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture

139 cm (55") 09/04/2018 by ThommoHcap4

Excellent tv would highly recommend this product good sound too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Picture, Excellent Sound

123 cm (49'') 08/04/2018 by Dr Amir

Excellent Picture, Excellent Sound. The colours are vivid and natural. The 4K quality is awesome. Very good WiFi/Bluetooth conectivity. Very good design. Everything excellent aboutvthis piece of art. I’m Lovin’ it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality

139 cm (55") 06/04/2018 by Chris G Coventry

Had this now for a month.. the picture quality is amazing after replacing an old plasma.. sound quality ok , good enough, but I have a surround hifi system connected to it via TV optical audio output also, for watching movies.. Only issue with this product is the startup time, it sometimes takes up to 20 seconds to become fully functional, like waiting for a laptop to boot up. I got used to switching on a minute or so before watching. Internet connectivity is wonderful, I have 73 meg fibre broadband and can stream 4k HD with no buffering. TV connects directly to router via wifi. Voice search of internet browser using the remote is brilliant. I have bought a spare remote because the TV would be useless if the remote gets broken. Overall I'm delighted with this product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

139 cm (55") 06/04/2018 by Dangerousbrian

Great features the only thing is missing is a sd card reader

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent TV for gaming

123 cm (49'') 05/04/2018 by FastAndBulbous

This is a great tv for gaming. I purchased for use with my PS Pro. The results are great, it looks fantastic in 4K, particularly when HDR effects are used. Finding the settings on the TV to enable 4K compatibility with the PS Pro is fairly difficult to find within the menus. I had to google it in the end. It would perhaps be useful to include something about the process on a quick start guide with the television. I don’t have satellite or cable TV, only freeview via a terrestrial Ariel. The you view TV guide, for this is terrible. It’s actually worse than my previous, less expensive television. It lacks the ability to bookmark programme reminders for later viewing. It does not give a synopsis of the programmes within the guide, unless you press an info button. It also feels laggy, moving through the guide. This lag is evident when using the android interface in general. Not a massive deal breaker, but very irritating for a TV set at this price range and considering my much older less expensive set managed to do all the above exceptionaly well. The plus side is that the physical look of the TV is fantastic, it looks classy. The integrated speaker has great sound. The picture quality is really awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Really Pleased with Sony

164 cm (65") 05/04/2018 by B3BP

I bought this to replace a faulty LG TV only bought November 2017 and IV had nothing but issues. So in the end after 3 repairs from LG the decided to refund me in Full and so I went and purchased a Sony. I have a 6 year old Sont in my bedroom and it has never given me any issue whatsoever. Don't know what I was thinking going for LG. But really glad I purchased this. Great picture quality and HDR works really well. Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0