Skip to Content
68

4.6 based on 68 customer reviews

52
11
2
3
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

69 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Incredible TV for the money, 4k HDR is excellent.

164 cm (65") 18/01/2018 by steveg42

Got the TV just before Christmas and have played with it for a few weeks now and am very impressed with it. The TV handles standard definition sources very well, normal HD is very good but this TV excels at 4K, good HDR sources are just stunning to watch. There are a large number of picture presets which give a pretty decent picture straight out of the box and there are enough settings in the picture controls to tweak the picture to your own tastes. I'm using this TV with an Xbox One X, a Panasonic 4K Blu Ray player, a Toshiba HD-DVD player & a Sky HD box and the TV handles them all superbly. The speakers in the TV are fine for normal use but I've added a Yamaha soundbar which is handled excellently through the HDMI ARC port on the TV. Setting this TV up is definitely a two man job as it is a very heavy item, but attaching the stand and getting it setup wasn't a long job. The TV screen is glossy, I find it noticeable when the TV is off which isn't an issue but there is no problem once the TV is on, I haven't found any problems with reflections. Android TV is pretty usable on this set to find your way around, I've used the Netflix and Amazon Video apps and have had no issues with either. Spent quite a bit of time searching around for a new TV and definitely got the right model, would definitely recommend this TV to anyone who wants top notch 4K performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 17/01/2018 by AKH1

Purchased a few weeks ago, very pleased with picture and sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Astounding PQ, defective hardware

164 cm (65") 13/01/2018 by fableman

Purchased it on December of 2017. Was amazed by the picture quality, FALD does its job. Uniformity is good as well. No noticeable clouding whatsoever. On the other hand, the TV has a dark spot (dim pixels close to the center of the screen). Tried resolving it via Sony customer support and all I got is: "the issue is minor and is well within the specifications", which is highly disappointing considering the price I paid for the TV. Also, it has only 2 ports capable running at HDMI2.0b spec (4k@60+HDR+10bit), which means I will either have to resort to buying a HDMI switch or swap cables manually to be able to run all of my 4k@60 capable devices (PS4Pro/XOneX/Shield) at the same time (it's just more of inconvenience, but can be circumvented by buying a proper AVR or a HDMI switch as I mentioned before).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic tv

139 cm (55") 10/01/2018 by Geordie962

Best purchase I’ve made lately, very happy with my choice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Looks good

139 cm (55") 09/01/2018

I bought this television for our conservatory, a room my wife and I use a lot. Our evening lounge has a Sony 75" ZD9 installed and is a fantastic viewing experience there are some technical differences with our new tv but, it is very similar in many ways. Out of the box its performance is very good, after using a set up and test disc the picture is terrific! In a well lit conservatory a bright but balanced picture is a must have and this Sony is that. Sony's smart platform (android based) works well enough for me, most of our viewing is done from a skyQ mini box and is not directly connected to an external aerial. I did consider Samsung, Lg etc before buying this Sony and we are delighted with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very impressive HDR performance

139 cm (55") 08/01/2018 by Nick Nack

I bought this TV about 2 months ago, and overall I'm pretty happy with this model. The HDR performance is excellent, and it's a great TV for 4K gaming. The areas that do disappoint a little is that only 2 of the HDMI ports are for HDR, and the dimming could be a little better like the ZD9, as there is occasional blooming. Overall though it's a good TV, the picture quality is excellent, and I find the Android operating system very easy to use. I highly recommend this TV to anybody who's after a great 4K TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Looks amazing but very slow

189 cm (75”) 07/01/2018 by Muxie

Got this Tv just before Christmas and looks amazing, the microphone feature is very impressive and works great too. Only drawback very slow switching inputs or navigating menus and updates take a while but thats most likely my internet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not Sony's top model, but still a fantastic TV

164 cm (65") 05/01/2018 by Oakleyspatz

I have been contemplating buying a large screen 4K TV for quite sometime but my previous set, a 60" Pioneer PDP-LX6090 Kuro was so good, it seemed nothing within my price range could better it. I had narrowed my search down to a Samsung QLED and a Sony 65 XE93 TV, but even these models were still outside my budget. After months of searching I finally found an ex-display Sony right in my price range so I snapped it up without hesitation. Once delivered, myself and a friend proceeded to mount it to my wall and we were immediately struck by the weight of the set. Considering its svelte stature, the thing weighs a ton! I put this down to the quality of the components used and if you follow the rule that weight equals quality then this television is indeed a premium product. Once mounted and connected I eagerly proceeded to watch a 4K HDR Blu Ray disc through my Xbox One S of the Fast and the Furious 8 movie. If I had to sum up in one word my initial thought upon viewing this it would be... UNBELIEAVABLE! The contrast was just amazing with whites so bright they dazzled and sunlight so piercing you almost had to shield your eyes. Yet these bright elements where accompanied by jet blacks and every shade inbetween. Honestly, I'd never seen an image quite so stunning in my life, the Pioneer may have produced deeper blacks but it's whites were pale and dull in comparison. The Sony's colours were also a revelation. So deep and vivid yet always natural looking, unlike so many lesser LED TV's I've seen before which produce garish, almost fluorescent colours, the Sony's left your jaw firmly on the floor yet never doubting that if you were actually there, the colours would look exactly the same. You would expect that given the set's 4K resolution that increased detail would be a given but I've seen many 4K televisions where I've struggled to notice much improvement over a good 1080p image. Not so with the Sony- even an upscaled Sky HD image looks far more detailed and clean. Never in a forced 'digitised' way, but it just looks more real. Switch to Sky 4K and although lacking the HDR element, the Sony's innate brightness and contrast range still produces a stunning image. Another brilliant aspect of the television is the sound. For such a slender set, you'd be forgiven for expecting a thin sound from it but you'd be mistaken. The audio is deep, powerful and spacious. On several occasions I had to check if the sound I was hearing was coming from my powerful 7.1 surround system or from my Sony TV only to discover it was from the Sony. I was impressed. The XE93 isn't perfect (for that you'd need to step up to their OLED model) but it's not far off and for what you can purchase it for if you shop around, there isn't anything better. It's an edge lit model so in certain dark scenes blacks can vary slightly in their intensity but this is a very rare occurance and even when it happens it's so slight that 99% of viewers won't notice it anyway. Lastly, although the viewing angle is far better than many other sets in its class, you will notice a loss of contrast and black level the further off center you go, but for most situations I don't see this as a problem unless you have seating positions right at the sides of the television. I have been an AV enthusiast for 25 years and I know what makes for a good image on a television. I have come to the Sony from one of the best televisions ever made and the Sony left me gobsmacked with the quality of its image. If you cannot stretch to a Sony OLED model but want the best television you can get on a budget, then I have no hesitation in recommending the Sony XE93 range. Incredible!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning Picture Quality, Excellant TV

164 cm (65") 02/01/2018 by Onesmallstep1966

I’ve now owned this TV for 2 months and I am still very pleased with it. It has outstanding build quality, great connectivity and Sony’s Backlight Drive+ technology has redefined what an edge-lit LED TV is capable of, producing excellent blacks with minimal halo effects and very bright HDR performance. I constantly have to remind myself that this isn’t a FALD LED TV. My only negative comments are reserved for the Android Smart TV platform which is a little slow in operation, particularly if using the YouView EPG, but this won’t be a problem if using an external tuner like Freesat etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

excellent picture quality

164 cm (65") 28/12/2017 by matt951684232

bought this product when comparing to other TVs, found that the picture quality was better than others in the same price bracket. overall good TV, easy to use. only issue have found is sometimes it becomes interface non-responsive for a few seconds. other than that, everything is good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best HDR I have seen

164 cm (65") 27/12/2017 by CamG

Bought it a month ago and I am very happy with my purchase. Had a LG 65" 4K HDR with Dolby Vision which was crashing every few minutes before this and after switching to this Sony I realized how superior the HDR performance is on this TV compared to that LG although Dolby Vision is not even yet supported on this

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing Television

164 cm (65") 25/12/2017 by SleepySid

We originally purchased a 65" XE85 TV but when the picture pannned quickly both me and my wife noticed it seemed unnatural as if the picture wasn't updating quite quick enough. So we decided to upgrade to the 65" XE93 to see if the faster processor (X1 Extreme) would resolve the problem. I'm really glad to report that not only did it solve this particular problem but the upscaling and picture brightness is amazing on this model. I've seen a lot of reviews about LED vs OLED and how the blacks on OLED are the big selling point, however the blacks on this LED TV are great. We're really happy with this TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A fully featured classy looking tv

139 cm (55") 24/12/2017 by Alyoc

A great sony product. Very well built tv, brilliant bright vibrant picture. The built in speakers are very good.Great apps and a direct Netflix button on the easy to use remote.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning 4K picture with HDR.

139 cm (55") 22/12/2017 by EcoBoris

Bought this to complement my recently purchased Sony 4K Blu Ray player. Stunning picture & great smart tv features.As with all slim TV's you need to connect to a sound system or sound bar for the best sound. I use a surround sound system & never use a TV's built in speakers anyway, but in fairness the built in speakers are pretty good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An impressive television

164 cm (65") 22/12/2017 by Manitoubrian

This year I bit the bullet and bought this tv. I was worried about the cost and other manufacturers were offering similar specs at lower prices. I am very happy that I bought the Sony. Its picture quality is outstanding, it is so easy to now see the difference between standard and high definition from an ordinary aerial. Streaming movies from the internet is even better. I have still to discover all the features available but so far I am really enjoying television again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Picture and build, functionality disappoints

139 cm (55") 19/12/2017 by pmmmm

I was not surprised to find an excellent picture quality and build quality, typical Sony strengths. It looks great even from the back! Sound is quite good for a TV but of course needs a good sound system to do the picture justice. But I am very disappointed with the Android TV operating system. I have the latest update and can only hope it will improve in future. It is obsessed with pushing at me paid- for services I dont want. There is some customization of the home screen but not enough. I want to be able to just see the apps i choose. This set comes with YouView installed. This is very sluggish as a guide. Although the set has dual satellite tuners you cannot use them unless you disable YouView because there is no other guide. Likewise you cannot use the HDD recorder (HDD or memory stick of over 64GB is extra add-on) because there is no guide. With YouView disabled the Sony Guide comes up and is much better anyway but you can then only use the BBC iPlayer and Ch5 catch up apps - ITV and Ch4 player do not work without YouView and cannot be installed. It's a mess! The recorder function then works too but only one program at a time and you cannot use streaming services at the same time as recording. Other annoyances eg there is an IR sender for remote control of other equipment. It will control the volume of an AV amplifier but it doesnt control the power so what use is that. Some praise for the Amazon app - it works in 4K HDR with surround sound though some programs do not show HDR correctly. The Google Movies app will only send surround sound over the ARC and not the Optical digital output. The BBC iPlayer does not give me Blue Planet in UHD as expected. The apps you can add from the Google Play Store is very limited. It can do Kodi though which I use as a music media player. I was hoping to get rid of all the external boxes I had but no - I still need my Humax PVR for recording and Amazon Fire for catch-up services. The built-in Chromecast works well though, so that is one less box. So - some good and some bad, and the bad can be made better if Sony (and Google) have the will to do so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Superb picture

164 cm (65") 18/12/2017 by David DXC

Been on my wish list fro a while, very happy with the product, great picture, easy set up. I have used Sony TVs consostently over the last 15 years and this TV cements my belief in Sony Only minor criticism is the Android platform not being the best around

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4K HDR

139 cm (55") 17/12/2017 by Yeh_Kellbw

Excellent 4K HDR picture quality. I have been blown away by the quality. with the X1 extreme processor the picture quality looks immersive and very life like. I use with the Xbox one X and game is great and HDR video even better. Highly recomend

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent tv

164 cm (65") 16/12/2017 by Skyadav

Robust Fantastic features Tv program and Internet seamlessly integrated.. unlike samsung in which there are 2 modes. Remote works for Skytv box and tv togethere Specially sohnd quality is awasome Very slim

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FALD back light technology is far better than OLED

189 cm (75”) 09/12/2017 by Big Si

I have had this TV for 3 weeks now and watching it gets better every day. I sold my LG 65" E6 OLED to purchase this TV after becoming a fan of FALD TV sets as I also own a fantastic Panasonic DX902. This new 75" Sony XE9405 is simply jaw dropping to watch. Motion is handled superbly and colours ate so rich and punchy. Feed this TV a good 4K HDR signal and it simply blows you away.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pleasantly surprised

164 cm (65") 09/12/2017 by Reckless

Really pleased with the quality of the set. There’s a lot of flexibility in the settings and I love the ease of access to apps such as Netflix and amazon prime. Best of all, my wife and daughter seem to like it as well. Picture quality is superb and the upscaling excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning UHD 4K picture

139 cm (55") 09/12/2017 by pinkcat7

I bought this tv a few weeks ago and liked it for 4K content, however for my Sky TV content, I found the picture grainy compared to my previous TV which was 5 or more years old. I tried to callibrate the settings to overcome this, however I still found Sky TV content wasn’t clear as I’d expected.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

super happy

139 cm (55") 08/12/2017 by alienboy

so happy about my choince the product quality is at my greatest expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Limited Tests

164 cm (65") 07/12/2017 by brenma

The Sony KD-65XE9305 is a very good tv , but to display 4K HDR content you need a tv with high brightness & deep contrast, so the first thing to do is go into picture settings & switch light sensor off & see the brightness increase. This one action takes it from being a good tv, to an excellent tv , SD looks as good as it can with low bit rate channels on a 65`tv, HD is excellent. With the limited tests in 4K HDR are excellent, with one small point, Sony tells us this tv as 3 flavours of HDR. HDR10, Hybrid Log-Gamma & Dolby Vision, but i can`t find Dolby Vision, come on Sony where is it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0