Skip to Content

RRP

€250.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
22

3.5 based on 22 customer reviews

4
10
2
5
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good but!

WF-1000X 03/12/2017 by Pabeer

Had these for about a month, all good except the right bud cuts out occasionally.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good sound, usability problems

WF-1000X 22/10/2017 by DomainR

Worked fine for a week, then the right earpiece started dropping out frequently but irregularly, making them unlistenable. I'll have to send them back. The noise cancellation was fairly effective, and the ambient sound pass-through was useful. Both could have been better. Requiring the Music Center to ensure full volume on Android and having a separate heaphone app working with it is a very clumsy and annoying way to control the earphones. Overall - happy and satisfied for a week, then very disappointed and annoyed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

10

0

23 Customer Reviews

0

Mobile Sound

WF-1000X 17/01/2018 by Ernest1

Good quality and sound, and handy in the house for being able to move about without being attached to my tablet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Disappointing product, may well return it!

WF-1000X 10/01/2018 by DLJA

Bought this product twelve days ago and so far I’m not impressed. Despite upgrading the earphones to the latest version the right earphone drops the sign quite often, despite the proximity of the source. The upgrade process was a nightmare. Ten times I tried and ten times it failed. Finally after turning off every other Bluetooth device in the house the upgrade worked. Was this process ever tested in a real world environment? I seriously doubt it!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great Sound & Comfort Still a Slight Glitch

WF-1000X 10/01/2018 by Jon the Jag

I have had these about two weeks, they sound great and are really comfortable and stay in ears even when doing heavy exercise. the only slight issue is the occasional drop out from the right ear piece. I did update the firmware and this improved matters a lot but did not totally Cure the issue. it does not not happen that often and it only means you get a slight gap in the music, you do not have to reconnect. Overall really good aparty from that.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

1000x wireless noise cancelling headphones

WF-1000X 09/01/2018 by Babsraytaylor

Had a few weeks now. Really great sound and worth every penny

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

So far, so good...

WF-1000X 08/01/2018 by sarpal

The quality and finish is well up to Sony standard and the instructions are thorough and easy to follow. The most important feature - sound quality, is surprisingly good and I am pleasantly surprised each time I put them on/in. Only two slight issues noted so far; wearing a beanie hat affects the comfort and sound quality as it presses on the earbud. Also, I'm still learning how to sequence bluetooth on and earbuds in - sometimes I have problems with right bud (no sound). When it works, it's simple and intuitive. Noise cancelling appears to work but does require a good bud fit - this is my first experience of noise cancelling so I can't compare. The simple button controls work well, once you get the muscle memory working! Overall, I'm glad I purchased them and expect to get plenty of use from them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 07/01/2018 by ruscle85

Been using for a couple of weeks. Before purchasing I thought they woukd stick quite far out of my ears but are pretty discrete. The sound is very good quality. The app is a bit basic but does its job. Now and again the connection drops off between the earbuds but nothing major at all, reconnecting itself after a second or less. Overall a great set of headphones and worth paying the little bit extra over airpods.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

WF-1000X 07/01/2018 by Del246

I didn’t want to believe all the reviews I had read so decided to purchase a pair as they had everything I wanted in a new set of earphones. Firstly, the audio impresssed me but when I watched a video the delay was so bad, video was unwatchable. I then noticed there was a firmware update so tried this. I tried for 2 days but couldn’t get the update to complete via my iPhone 8. I had to borrow an android phone and the update installed first time. The update corrected the video lag. I have now been using the earphones for a week and the main issue is the right earpiece. No matter what I’m doing, sitting in the house, going for a walk, sitting in a car the right earpiece drops connectivity. It happens in every situation no matter what settings I have on the app. Sometimes it happens 3 or 4 times in one song, sometimes I get 20 minutes without any loss. When they work properly, they are great but that isn’t very often. So disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Mrs J Miller.

WF-1000X 06/01/2018 by joycee

Got these as a gift, so easy to use but not keen on how to charge up.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing technology, so-so noise cancelling

WF-1000X 04/01/2018 by sigpgud

Remarkable technology in a tiny package. However, it is not perfect. The bluetooth reception isn't great and the noise cancelling could be better. If you buy these thinking that you're getting noise cancelling on par with the Bose QuietComfort 35, you might be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty sweet

WF-1000X 29/12/2017 by KingsOfLiam

Having already owned the WH-1000x I wasn't expecting amazing noise cancelling from these however I was pleasantly surprised with how they performed. They have a clear sound, nothing amazing but really they're Sonny's first attempt at truly wireless and I have tried the competition and personally I preferred Sony's attempt a lot more than Samsung/apple/jaybird. Overall, very good audio, noise cancelling is solid, the connection issues are sometimes a problem as there is a lot of Bluetooth interference in my home however that's not very common after the last update!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect pairing

WF-1000X 26/12/2017

Sounds great an fits my ears very good. Only Noise cancelling on My Bose works better. Travel Box is nice and compact and easy TO use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Simply awesome

WF-1000X 16/12/2017 by CRobinT

I purchased these earphones at Heathrow airport thinking they where convenient but nothing special. To my surprise I found then quite literally awesome. Excellent sound quality combined with first class noise cancelling abilities make them as amazing and totally rewarding buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

7

0

Great audio but disappointing for voice calls

WF-1000X 08/12/2017 by GSBUK

I'm amazed at the sound of these headphones for music playback. They're almost as good as my old set of Shure 525's for playback of the the ACC files you get with Apple Music and much more convenient. Using them to take voice calls however was and continues to be a disappointment. When the phone rings the right unit stops sounding and you hear the call in mono only from the left unit at a much lower apparent volume (probably because it sounds exactly the same as it would if you tried to listen with only one unit in). Also my voice (apparently) sounds weak and muffled to the other participants in the call (which doesn't surprise me bearing in mind the poor quality of my user experience using them to listen to the call). For professional calls this makes them unusable and I find myself having to whip them out my ears and use my phone or quickly plug a wired headset in which defeats the object completely. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that this will be fixed with a software / firmware update as you wouldn't expect this from such a premium product. The only other problem is that they can work loose in the ear and fall out - this has happened to me a couple of times whilst walking. An easy fix for this would be to include compression foam inserts that can mould to the contours of the inner ear and hold them in more than the ones that currently one with the product. I use these on my Shure for the same reason and I'm currently scouting around to see if I can get some for the Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

2

0

Good but!

WF-1000X 03/12/2017 by Pabeer

Had these for about a month, all good except the right bud cuts out occasionally.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Returned—Dropped connections

WF-1000X 10/11/2017 by ZBG_

I was excited to pick up these earbuds for daily commuting after reading a glowing review in WhatHiFi, but they ultimately disappointed me more than I could tolerate. To be sure, there are positive features of these headphones which readers can find in sales brochures and other online reviews. Those positive features were utterly outweighed by the failures of this product. These are primarily to do with a) the right earbud and b) Sony's companion Headphones app. These headphones are the first piece of high-end technology I have ever come to hate to use and the first I've ever returned. 1) It's just too weird to use for phone calls and have incoming audio on the left side only. I know that this is by design, and not a fault, but it was off-putting and unacceptable for a product in light of the recommended retail price. 2) Even following the directions, it was difficult when removing the earbuds from the charging case to make sure the right bud turned on and connected immediately. I often had to hold the button on the right bud to connect it after only hearing things out of the left. 3) Once both buds are paired and running, the right earbud's connectivity is so poor as to make this product unfit for purpose. I sat in a library with my phone on a desk 18" away from my left side and couldn't rest my chin on my left hand without losing connection to the right earbud. I have seen Sony's responses to other similar complaints, generally suggesting that congested wireless environments may be a problem (and no doubt my body was disrupting some of the signal in my library example above), but that is entirely inadequate. A top-of-the-line product commanding a price such as this set is simply not ready for market if one half of the system cuts out and fails routinely. 4) The companion software on iPhone allowed me to prioritise stable connections over sound quality, but this preference was reset every time I turned off the earbuds. It was highly aggravating to have to open the app every time I used the earbuds—even then, listening in stable connection mode would sometimes cut out altogether and reset to sound quality mode.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

19

3

0

It works very well for me!

WF-1000X 10/11/2017 by Oslocommuter

I bought this product 14 days ago. I was actually considering Blue Tooth "on ear" noise cancelling (NC) alternatives, when the sales person told me that there was "in ear" alternatives. I am happy with my AirPods, but my work location is moving and I will start commuting by bus, train, Metro etc and therefore the NC. So, I am very happy with the function (NC and very good sound), except that when receiving phone calls only the left air bud is in "action". This is really disappointing, and it is such a long time since I got used to dual function that it was not in my mind to ask about this before I went out of the shop.... . This is the sole reason for the lack of the 5th star... . I really do hope that an upgrade would change this! I have not had "connectivity" and stability problems as you can read about from some reviews that I read after my purchase... . Being used to AirPods the design of the charge box is a little "old" - but it works - and that is the main point.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Sony 1000x wireless headphones

WF-1000X 07/11/2017 by Jimf58

I got these headphones just two weeks ago and I can honestly say the best sound and the noise reduction really works I have used them on a train plus to and from town walking and they drown all the sounds around you. I like a lot of bass again came up trumps, works on all my Bluetooth items so I an walk around the house freely without wires. My laptop is in the living room and I have gone to ever corner of my home with no interference. So yes I like them a lot.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Great sound, but connectivity issues spoil it

WF-1000X 05/11/2017 by Ojisama

I bought these after reading the WhatHiiFi review. The sound is great for in ears, it’s just all the other issues ruin them. They would be great for home use only, as noise cancelling is useless. I travel every week using planes, trains an metro, I ear everything. I was told by Sony that these would be effective for numbing down these noises, which they don’t. Then there is the constant right earbud losing connectivity while walking in a public space. Again Sony said that this is because 2.4g WiFis frequency of stores WiFi and other people’s phones. Hence my reason they should be for indoor use only, as they don’t function outside in the elements. Then the battery is only 3 hours, which isn’t so bad if you at home and normal commute. But for travel it’s a no go.. It takes 1.5 hour recharge them. FYI Apple EarPods recharge in 15minutes. Sony did come back to me, and told me they will have connectivity 2.4 G Frequencies of other peoples devices in stores Wi-Fi as well will affect the earbuds connectivity. (Apple EarPods don’t do this btw). So they are great sounding earbuds, but poor connectivity in public areas.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

5

3

0

Good sound, usability problems

WF-1000X 22/10/2017 by DomainR

Worked fine for a week, then the right earpiece started dropping out frequently but irregularly, making them unlistenable. I'll have to send them back. The noise cancellation was fairly effective, and the ambient sound pass-through was useful. Both could have been better. Requiring the Music Center to ensure full volume on Android and having a separate heaphone app working with it is a very clumsy and annoying way to control the earphones. Overall - happy and satisfied for a week, then very disappointed and annoyed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

10

0

0

Unusable for videos

WF-1000X 21/10/2017 by Alfio83

Pros Excellent audio Cons Unfortunately it can't be used to watch videos as audio is out of sync by probably 1 second. This is what I can read from your website: "Due to the characteristics of wireless technologies, playback in the headset is slower than the playback of sound and music in the transmission device, so when using it to watch videos or play games, the picture and the audio may be out of sync". I'm sorry, I have seen much cheaper bluetooth headphones that work perfectly I don't like that only the left headphone can be used for phone calls

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

24

4

0

Poor Battery Bass & range

WF-1000X 13/10/2017 by CharlieSS

Quite disappointed, especially as priced as a premium product. They also stick out of ears too much.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

9

0

Excellent fit, connectivity, sound and app

WF-1000X 13/10/2017 by Coyley

I am pleased with these wireless earphones and am now a week into using them while travelling and working in cities. The app is particularly helpful with a setting to prioritise connectivity over sound quality that avoids Bluetooth drop outs and still has ace sound. There are lots of accessories for right ear fit which is helpful. The charging case is welcome and works well, far extending the use of the product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Great product but should have Hi Res compatibility

WF-1000X 11/10/2017 by DrDee

Love the product, design and sound. The sound on standard res is rich and rewarding. The comfort is good and the headphones can be worn for long periods. The battery is reasonable but does fade quickly. The stability of the signal between iOS devices and headphones also good but less so on Android. However given the product has Bluetooth could it not consider other options available for Sony’s wireless headphones to include HI Res capability.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0