Skip to Content

Starting at

RRP

€207.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
42

4.4 based on 42 customer reviews

25
11
4
1
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

looks and feels good

16GB 26/03/2017 by olynut

I left Sony walkmans for an ipod a few years ago as at the time Sony did not compete with the number of songs the classic could hold. Following the demise of this machine I looked again at Sony and was happy to find that I could now upgrade the memory and that drag and drop was still an option. I now wonder why I ever left as this walkman does exactly as it should. It plays music and does nothing else!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing Bluetooth

16GB 15/11/2017 by Uncle Phil

I am already a Sony Walkman fan and already have the NWZ-X1060 which is superb. However it does not have Bluetooth and using a Bluetooth dongle is not always ideal. So I bought the NW-A35 specifically for its Bluetooth capabilities. However I discovered that when using Bluetooth "all the sound quality settings are invalid" and the sound quality through my Sony SRS-XB2 speaker is very dull and lacking in top end clarity. I am SO disappointed and have considered returning it but have left it a bit late to do so. I urge Sony to update the software URGENTLY to allow sound quality settings to be effective even when using Bluetooth. (I understand this was possible with an earlier model the NWZA -15 A). Apart from the Bluetooth problem the quality of sound using my noise cancelling headphones (that came with my NWZ-X1060) is very good and also with ordinary headphones such as Soundmagic E10S. However the headphone socket is a bit fussy about connectivity by wire - it works with some connectors and not others and does not connect with an old pair of Sennheisser phones. The touch screen is also very basic compared to the NWZ-X1060 in that you have to push a button to see it unlike the NWZ-X1060 is touch sensitive. I can live with these minor shortcomings but the Bluetooth sound setting problem is a deal breaker. Sony please fix it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

42 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Solidly built, neatly designed, easy to use

16GB 13/12/2017 by PipWhit

The title of the review says it all. Astonishing memory capacity (with micro SD card), good sound quality, battery lasts an age.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hate it

16GB 11/12/2017 by DisappointedUK

Bought it just over a month ago. Hate it. Not intuitive to use. Wish I had stuck to Apple. Plus the battery drains. Hard to contact customer service.

0

1

0

No App music player

16GB 10/12/2017 by sigoode

Great to have a device that only plays music and not apps to open a tin of beans for you , the sound quality is brilliant with a good battery life. Yes the icons are a bit small but that’s my only niggle

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I am not a great sound technician

16GB 10/12/2017 by Caienna72

But earing the vocal cord and the breath of the singer vibrate trough my earphones I think make a big difference for us common "mortals"

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very useful

16GB 08/12/2017 by Myers

Bought it to use in the car via Bluetooth so we can listen to music

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality and portability

16GB 06/12/2017 by BassHorizon

Bought this as a second unit as I've filled my original that I've had around 1 year (incl 128GB SD card). easy to transfer files to and the Hi Res sound is excellent. Quick and easy to set up and easy to connect to Bluetooth devices for playback. Battery life very good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Wonderful sound

16GB 03/12/2017 by Acker

I bought my Sony Walkman audio device for taking Spinning sessions and for relaxation. It is superior to my iPhone for quality audio output. The Walkman also has the facility of using manual controls to adjust the music. This is particularly useful during spinning classes when there is so much perspiration being produced. A touch screen isn't practical under these conditions. I am so pleased with this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Replacement for iPod Classic.

16GB 30/11/2017 by Nothankyou

As I couldn't get a new replacement for my 12 year old iPod Classic I shopped around and bought this Walkman. Its small, light, easy to use and sounds similar to my iPod. The only trouble I've had (it's probably my fault) is using the software to load my music. There seems to be a problem with albums of the same title but different artists, they all get lumped together as one album.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A good mp3 player

16GB 28/11/2017

This is a good mp3 player with some useful features particularly it's ability to display the album cover from which a track comes from. It seems to take a while to get going after switching on and I find it doesn't always react first time when I use the touchscreen which can be annoying. Overall I am satisfied with this Walkman.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Love it!

16GB 27/11/2017 by Ginas Grandad

I got fed up of my Smartphone so I got a Doro Clamshell Mobile and kept my Smartphone as an MP3 Player. However, I knew that I would not return to a Smartphone and found the Sony NW-A35 and sold my Smartphone to help pay for it. FLAC files and superb sound, I am a happy Bunney.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

16GB 22/11/2017 by Terry11

I bought this since Apple stopping selling iPods. This is better than an iPod

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound quality is fantastic

16GB 17/11/2017 by Neil the drum

Good battery,excellent Bluetooth,responsive screen flexible storage and easy to use interface

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Looks great

16GB 16/11/2017 by Lou51

Not a lot I can say about this item yet ,only looked at it as it's a christmas gift.

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing Bluetooth

16GB 15/11/2017 by Uncle Phil

I am already a Sony Walkman fan and already have the NWZ-X1060 which is superb. However it does not have Bluetooth and using a Bluetooth dongle is not always ideal. So I bought the NW-A35 specifically for its Bluetooth capabilities. However I discovered that when using Bluetooth "all the sound quality settings are invalid" and the sound quality through my Sony SRS-XB2 speaker is very dull and lacking in top end clarity. I am SO disappointed and have considered returning it but have left it a bit late to do so. I urge Sony to update the software URGENTLY to allow sound quality settings to be effective even when using Bluetooth. (I understand this was possible with an earlier model the NWZA -15 A). Apart from the Bluetooth problem the quality of sound using my noise cancelling headphones (that came with my NWZ-X1060) is very good and also with ordinary headphones such as Soundmagic E10S. However the headphone socket is a bit fussy about connectivity by wire - it works with some connectors and not others and does not connect with an old pair of Sennheisser phones. The touch screen is also very basic compared to the NWZ-X1060 in that you have to push a button to see it unlike the NWZ-X1060 is touch sensitive. I can live with these minor shortcomings but the Bluetooth sound setting problem is a deal breaker. Sony please fix it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent Sound & Features but SD Card Problems

16GB 28/10/2017 by GMFraser

The touchpad is highly intuitive and easy to navigate with sound quality being first rate at this price point. The bluetooth in particular is excellent with quick connectivity and CD quality sound. It is a smart, stylish and unobtrusive little unit which would be perfect if it wasn't for the SD card problems I've encountered. Try as I might and using Sony's own instructions, my device will simply not recognise my class 10 64gb SD card. It works in my laptop, my older DAP and my mobile phone yet the Walkman does not even recognise it so I cannot even mount it never mind format it. I am still trying to resolve this issue with the retailer as perhaps my Walkman's card reader is faulty. As said, if it wasn't for this glaring defect, I'd be over the moon with my purchase however, frustration abounds at present.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought to replace iPod classic

16GB with headphone 20/10/2017 by Steve451

After a few years my old iPod classic was starting to play up ( more than it ever did before ), and not wanting to buy the Touch decided on this Sony as it's happy to work with iTunes via its' own transfer software ( more about that at the end ). I'd had an earlier model a few years ago that I gave away but is still going strong that to my ears sounded a lot better than the iPod. Storage capacity being the main thing, this suited my needs perfectly with the expandable memory. Well, I'm not dissapointed at all. This little unit is superb. I've now re-ripped a lot of my CD's to a higher res format than than usual and the difference is startling. I'm hearing things in the music I've not heard before in CD's that I've played 100's of times. The included noise cancelling ear buds are far better than I expected and work well. I've yet to try them on a plane but I'm expecting good things from them. Plent of settings to mess with sound-wise. VPT surround sound really opens up the sound, and coupled with the equaliser allows you to fine tune the unit to your own preference. The bluetooth is excellent, so much so that I've added a bluetooth receiver to my home stereo. Battery life is very good, even when playing back hi res files via bluetooth. The only reason I've dropped a star is because of the transfer software. It's a bit, well, basic, and sometimes I'm having to separate the albums it decides to join together. E.G. you may find albums that are labelled Greatest Hits all end up lumped together regardless of the artist. You can search via artist on the unit itself so it's not a real biggie, but I just like my albums tidy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Worth it

16GB 14/10/2017 by Anca1986

It's great! Easy to use, crystal clear, warm sound, and the volume is more than enough, I can't turn it all the way up because it's too loud for me. The interface is easy to use. Both touch and buttons are really responsive. It feels sturdy, yet light. And the expandable storage doea it all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

An Inspiring and Very Beautiful Machine

16GB 13/10/2017 by Gyro

In my opinion, the NW-A35 is the best of three variations of Walkman that I've tried. It is an excellent machine which takes a little effort to understand but the instructions included are well presented and help immensely. The actual Walkman is beautifully designed and relatively easy to understand but the quality of sound is amazing and I thoroughly recommend getting one to anyone thinking about it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound

16GB with headphone 01/10/2017

I had to replace my Ipod which had become unusable becouse of the itunes softwere becoming unstable and randomly deleting my music. I needed a standard MP3 player that was easy to use. The Sonly walkman was very simple to use, has easy to understand controlls and sounds ver very good. The sound is so much clearer with rich tones and instruments not previously heard on my old unit coming through. The battery just lasts and lasts and I was very pleased to be able to controll the sound with the graphic equaliser. The headphones were a nice addition and I can tell the difference with the noise canceling option on. Over all Im going to use this for many many years to come.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Super cool porduct!

16GB 15/09/2017 by ASTGHOST

I love Sony porducts for years! And this time, it didn't let me down! The song quality is great! It gave my ears a perfect treatment! Love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it

16GB 14/09/2017 by AJ 57

Use it all the time and find it a better product than a certain well known brand. Easy to use and load up, great sound couldn't ask for more

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony Walkman

16GB 06/09/2017 by Toady1960

Fantastic sound, Brilliant feature's, Once you figger It out, It's easy, All I wanted was a walkman that played music wirelessly, Very happy with It.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great MP3

16GB 28/08/2017 by Sue62

I bought this MP3 to store my CDs to listen in the car. I've owned a couple of cheap MP3s that have broken after minimal use so I decided to invest in a Sony Walkman. This Walkman feels very robust with its metal casing and is small enough to slip into my jeans pocket. I wanted to buy an MP3 that had expandable storage and this one fits the bill perfectly as I can use unlimited micro SD cards to do just that. It's very easy to pair to Bluetooth and the sound quality is excellent. I had no idea how easy it was going to be to upload my CDs and download music bought from the net, I thought I'd have to put each one into its genre, but this little machine sorted it all for me and it's so easy to find whatever I want to play using the touch screen. This MP3 may have been more expensive than others I considered buying but in my view it was worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

great features

16GB 25/08/2017 by tangler29

Not enough storage ok with sd card be better with more storage

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2