RRP

€239.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
50

4.6 based on 50 customer reviews

36
12
1
0
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great speaker - but you will need to tweak...

SRS-XB40 29/09/2017 by SteveLBMK

A quick scan of online videos will confirm what you need to know about this speaker - it is brilliant, when you have adjusted the grpahic equalizer settings (you can do this using Sony's "Music Center" which aslo allows you to change the light settings, or with a media player like VLC. When bass boost is on, both the mids and trebles need to be increased, otherwise it sounds to "muddy". Once tweaked, sounds brilliant and the lights are great fun!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed in speaker

SRS-XB40 15/03/2018 by Ryanc1273

I bought this hoping that I’d be able to blast music non stop for hours, but the speaker doesn’t let you have the speaker at full volume for a good time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

50 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound

SRS-XB40 08/07/2018 by Palyniam

Wow. This is as good as it sounded in the shop where I bought it. The bass is great and can even be better with a button push. Gimmicky lights for disco effect but a nice touch. Really easy to pair up. Downside for me is I would have like a usb port so I could put music on it and play rather than stream.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound app needs improvement

SRS-XB40 05/07/2018 by Top_Bloke

I bought this for holidays and using in the garden. The sound quality is very good with a deep bass and clear upper tones. The lights and strob are a nice touch but unnecessary. My biggest grip is the app you can use to control the speaker and lights. It's basic and is very clunky to use. If this was made slicker then this speaker would be the ultimate speaker although a little on the heavy side.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Brilliant speaker with a couple of small negatives

SRS-XB40 28/06/2018 by al4188

Great sound indoors and outdoors. No usb charging and battery life is just ok.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound.

SRS-XB40 20/06/2018 by No1Tourist

I bought this item mainly to take on our holidays as we love our music and with all music you gotta have bass and it has that by the bucket load..The battery life is brilliant so far, bearing in mind it is still new, we've used it approx 5 times & around 12hrs and it still has 50% battery left to use..Overall so far this is a brilliant product and we'll worth the money..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great volume

SRS-XB40 06/06/2018 by Tanguero

Having used this for about a month I am pleased to note that in spite of the size of rooms I use it in I have not had to use full volume yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Speaker!

SRS-XB40 03/06/2018 by bb49

I bought the Sony SRS-XB40 Bluetooth Speaker to replace a cheaper speaker that had poor sound quality and I'm so glad I did. It has superb sound, rich deep base without loss of treble and the lighting effects are fantastic Great performance and battery life. Works with all my devices and remembers pairings on each one without hassle of having to repair when switching from one to another. I highly recommend this item.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just over all a fantastic piece of kit

SRS-XB40 08/05/2018 by Blocko

Absolutely fantastic sound...easy worked good sturdy speaker..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WOW! - Excellent value speaker with amazing sound

SRS-XB40 30/04/2018 by iain2018

Positives: 1. Fabulous deep bass sound Small speaker with MASSIVE good quality sound 2. Easy to control from phone or speaker 3. Excellent battery life and quick charging too 4. Solid construction, good & heavy, shouldn't vibrate off window ledge even at high volumes Negatives: 1. Sadly, seemingly will only bond with other Sony speakers, making my other (non Sony) speakers unusable at same time 2. Flashing childlike lighting 3. Poor phone connectivity for calls, intermittent very low call volume thru speaker & grabs phone calls, unable to override with phone itself (Moto G5+) or speaker without switching off Bluetooth

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great size and sound.

SRS-XB40 29/04/2018 by Drealnice

I bought this two weeks ago, and it’s perfect for using it with my computer. I can charge it then don’t have to charge for a few days after. I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive for the money!

SRS-XB40 25/04/2018 by Bion

I bought this as a work speaker, it has been on a building site for the last month - it has been knocked around, bullied, dropped and covered in concrete but it was still works like a charm!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good sound

SRS-XB40 21/04/2018 by Rogls

Had this a week works fine would be nice if the battery % part of the app worked.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It works and works well

SRS-XB40 20/04/2018 by A nickname why

I wanted two bluetooth speakers that could work as a pair, to give a wider sound source. In particular as a stereo pair. Nothing I tried before could achieve this reliably if at all. On unpacking the SRS-XB40 speakers, they went into exactly the mode I wanted with just a couple of button presses. What is more they remembered these settings and when used several days later and came on exactly as set up. The sound is good with extra bass if needed and an optional light show. I am very pleased with them

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blue tooth Speaker

SRS-XB40 15/04/2018 by Bonzo Dod

I brought this speaker so basicly i can take my music any where i go connection is a sinch I can now listen to all my music any where.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good for its size

SRS-XB40 06/04/2018 by Lee21

Love it just one downside about the volume dropping at about 40%

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

BEST THING I BOUGHT

SRS-XB40 30/03/2018 by Maciej 0192837465

This speaker just beats every other it’s amazing even tho it’s not big I am really happy with it and would not change it at all the number one right now

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Absolutely lovely speaker

SRS-XB40 22/03/2018 by Cilo02

Bought the speaker a month ago and I have fell in love with it absolutely love the lights volume and the best part the bass option from normal to extra really handy when in the house and wat to watch a movie with out bass going through the house when having this the lights put me in the mood to rave and I love the battery life but don't like when it goes quiet around 20 I wish there was a option to change that to 10% but I am hoping soon to get the bigger model for in the house keep up the work Sony love Ur products

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good sound

SRS-XB40 20/03/2018 by Kaczor

Very good speaker good bass very loud super lights

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed in speaker

SRS-XB40 15/03/2018 by Ryanc1273

I bought this hoping that I’d be able to blast music non stop for hours, but the speaker doesn’t let you have the speaker at full volume for a good time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Best speaker I've bought

SRS-XB40 21/02/2018 by WelshQuoFan

Bought this speaker on the hop! Wanted a Bluetooth speaker for playing music off my phone!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

SRS-XB40 03/02/2018 by Millie_White

I love it the sound quality is amazing its got amazing bass its basically all you need

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Amazingly

SRS-XB40 01/02/2018

Best speaker I have ever used. Great clear sound and love the lights

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent

SRS-XB40 01/02/2018 by Buddy61

Excellent in every way. First sound box I have owned.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound

SRS-XB40 26/01/2018 by Hitchy

I bought this XB40 speaker thinking it would party chain with my XB 3 so I was very disappointed when I found that this was not the case as they are nearly identical products apart from size. I would have given XB40 full marks on every category had this been the case. Maybe Sony after reading this review as a good will gesture could send me a XB 30 which I have found out does party chain with the XB40 THEN I will change my review to excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Love the funky lights

SRS-XB40 25/01/2018 by Alli92

A great speaker with good sound and fun display lights

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1